We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity in the middle of Bangkok”
Review of Ariyasomvilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ariyasomvilla
Ranked #3 of 883 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This place feels like a sanctuary in the assault on the senses that is Bangkok. The room was beautiful, the staff was friendly, the attached spa gave great massages, and it's walking distance from a skytrain station. I don't have anything negative to say about this place. Even though the food was vegetarian, and I am an avid meat-eater, the food was tasty and they still served seafood and eggs. I would recommend Ariyasomvilla to anybody.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank samvange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

887 - 893 of 1,524 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

Hidden between high hotel blocks, trees and other tropical vegetation. This really is a lovely hotel, with well appointed, clean rooms. Our suite was on the ground floor, we had our own patio with bench and arm chair. Although only several meters away from the reception, plenty of privacy was afforded by the vegetation growing in front and on the sides of the patio doors. The bath room was spacious with a huge bath, seperate shower, wash basin, WC and the usual accessories. Sleeping and living area is traditional Thai, most comfortable...we discovered the benefits of a ceiling fan here...great for chasing away those mosquitos! The restaurant offers traditional food, with emphasis on vegetarian and seafood...Not too keen on fried Tofu strips resembling bacon for breakfast in the morning though...this is my only gripe.. Our stay was otherwise very memorable. If we should ever return to Bangkok again, I would not hesitate to stay here again! Transport from and to the hotel is not a problem. Theres a limousine service from the airport, the sky train is 10 minute walk away or reliable metered taxis are also on standby.

Room Tip: There are only 25 rooms in this hotel. Any of the rooms can be highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globetrotter5981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This is a leafy boutique and traditional hotel in the centre of Bangkok. Great location, rooms, pool, food and service. Pleasant alternative to the ubiquitous 5 star hotels. Only downer is small gym but pool big enough for laps.

Room Tip: Penthouse is huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fitz0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The overall ambiance of the Villa is extraordinary. You're in the heart of Bangkok, but feel as though you've been transported many miles (and years) away. I arrived skeptical that such a small hotel could be ranked higher than the Penninsula or Four Season's in customer satisfaction, but now know that reputation is justified. David is a terrific host. He wants you to love the Villa as much as he does.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Ariyasomvilla is a nice traditional thai boutique hotel, only have 25 rooms, friendly and very elegant decoration. Easy walk to BT station.
We booked a deluxe room, but were upgraded to an executive deluxe. The room (110) was beautifully furnished with high celling, face to swimming pool. The bathroom is huge and beautiful. And very comfortable bed. The breakfast was included, delicious (vegetarian food).
However, I don't understand why Ariyasomvilla's staffs who didn't give us vat massage for 2 hours and special thai dinner for two. As we stayed there 5 nights on Sept. They have special packages for guests, who stay on Jul 24, 2012 to May 31, 2013, will get such special offer.

Room Tip: A Deluxe Room and Executive Deluxe Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Italy1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidlees, Owner at Ariyasomvilla, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Dear Italy 1221, Thanks for the review and glad to know you enjoyed the stay.
I am a little confused about your comments on the package. We offer both 2 day and 3 day packages on our website and we have daily rates for extending the stay. We also offer permutations where there is only one guest or they have children accompanying them.
However, it is necessary to book it as a package. As I am not sure of your booking details I am not sure that you did this. We are very flexible and would in most instances allow guests to book it as a package upon arrival.
The only issue is when guests have booked through a third party ( travel agent, internet site etc) - then it's not possible as the issue of commission / payments arises. The packages are to encourage guests to book with us direct and as a consequence we offer a good price for the room, massage, dinner etc.
I am sorry if this was not made clear to you when you checked in and hope it did not spoil your enjoyment.
With best regards from AriyasomVilla - David Lees

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This hotel really is as wonderful as other reviews would make you think. We arrived after a long flight from NY and were brought to our room within minutes of checking in. Our room was downstairs and close to the restaurant but not noisy at all. The bathroom is stunning and the bed very comfortable. The restaurant is very nice. Breakfast was good but a bit inconsistent at times. The pool is stunning. It was the monsoon during our visit and it was wonderful to cool off after walking around steaming Bangkok all day!
I had a 2 hour thai massage on our first full day and it was incredible. The best massage I had during our two week trip by far. Highly recommend as well as the herbal steam. A great way to keep colds and flu away after being in that dry airplane air!
Ariyasomvilla is a wonderful change if you are used to the larger hotels on Sukhumvit Road.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DianeDowntown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed here in September 2011.
The place is by no means cheap (I believe we paid around 180£ a night) so I booked this a treat for my wife (and myself) to celebrate our last night in Thailand.
It was so good that I didn't really want to get out of the hotel for a day around Bangkok!
I think one of the best things about this place is the breakfast though. Seriously, coming downstairs into a very beautiful old-fashioned teak breakfast room, the smells alone would make you fall in love with the place. The smell of wood, fresh cakes and food being prepared is what gave this place so much charm.

I'll defenitly be back! (when I can afford it :) )

Room Tip: The suite is lovely :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoofzoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 883 in Bangkok
4,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariyasomvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariyasomvilla

Address: 65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £121 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariyasomvilla 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel is a very unique property in the centre of Bangkok. The original house was built by the current Owners Grandparents in 1942. Unlike other hotels Ariyasomvilla gives you a real sense of place and time but with all modern facilities you would expect from 5 star hotels. With 24 rooms Ariyasomvilla is very private and feels like a sanctuary. The pool is large enough for lap, while the spa offers excellent massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Ariyasomvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariyasomvilla Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing