We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sitting in the outdoor courtyard dining area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ariyasomvilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ariyasomvilla
Ranked #3 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“sitting in the outdoor courtyard dining area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

I am marveled by the charm of this peaceful oasis in Bangkok. I found it by reading the reviews on TA and it is a jewel. Rooms are lovely, clean and done in Thai decor. Beds are so comfortable. I have slept quite well. Bathrooms are so charming I intend to try to redo mine at home like the in my room. Service is exceptional. You will feel well taken care of..... I will write more about my stay in Bangkok at another time. I have to get ready for my first Thai massage....

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HappiHappi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,222
    205
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
237
835
90
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

After a 3 week long holiday traveling throughout Thailand, we booked Ariyasomvilla for a couple of days to decompress before taking a very long flight (~25 hours) back to the Texas. We are thrilled with that decision because Ariyasomvilla is exactly what we needed: peaceful, very accommodating and reasonably priced. The owner/manager was extremely engaged in making sure hotel guests felt welcome (as if you were a close friend staying with him and his family at his home).
The onsite restaurant (breakfast, lunch and dinner) was excellent. Although vegetarian focused, there were many fish and seafood dishes to keep us happy but the veggie dishes truly excellent. As for the rooms, we were fortunate to upgrade to a suite with a loft (and the bathroom was as stunning as the pictures online). But the most memorable and appreciated gesture experienced during our 2 day stay was having a request fulfilled to checkout at 9:00 p.m. versus noon (as our flight wasn't until midnight). While we had to understandably move to a different room (as our suite was booked already), we were able to spend the day by the pool, enjoy the best Thai massage I ever had (I believe her name was Alm) and get ready to leave on our schedule versus having to check bags at noon. This and so many other hotel management/staff gestures would yield a "must-stay" recommendation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCityGirl_hollyberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We were lucky enough to find ourselves in the capable and caring hands of the Ariyasomvilla staff upon landing in Bangkok. The room was stunning, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the the food was heavenly. Having a pool to cool down in after wandering the streets of Bangkok was a bonus and much needed relief. I would go back to Bangkok just to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at Ariyasomvilla in early October during our honeymoon. First, let me start by saying that David and his staff were excellent hosts and made us feel every bit as welcome as we do in our own home. They went out of their way to help us in any way imaginable, and always with a smile. This quaint B&B far exceeded our standards of comfort and luxury. The room was beautiful, spacious and well thought-out (and the restrooms beautifully decorated with live plants and river rocks). Driving up to Ariyasom you'd never know that it is even a hotel; it is hidden amongst lush greenery and orchids galore. The grounds were stunning. The meals were also superb. My husband and I ate one of the Thai breakfast options at Ariyasomvilla nearly every day. Dinner was excellent as well, and we would highly recommend trying the Pummelo Salad, which is one of the best things I have eaten in my life!

We were initially concerned that there would be an issue with catching a cab from the hotel to venture into the city. This was never an issue. With advanced notice, the helpful staff called us cabs, and we also walked down the street (a quick 10 minute walk) to the BTS/Skytrain, which was the easiest and fastest mode of transit in the city.

We would recommend Ariyasomvilla to anyone who would like a luxurious place to stay, with the highest level of service. Thank you to David and everyone at Ariyasomvilla for starting our honeymoon out perfectly!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

My wife and myself had a great time @ this beautiful place last October.
The Team at the hotel is doing a fantastic job and have a geniune way of service.We enjoyed the lovely breakfast and the Thai vegetarian menu.The pool is very relaxing and this is the first time that my wife use the swimming pool of the hotel .The rooms are nice.Special thanks to K Chantalak who help us to extend our stay in heaven.
We initially booked for 3 nights and happen to stay for 10 . Do not miss the chocolate tart made by K David , the owner .We cannot wait to be back home.

Room Tip: try to pick up a room with pool view if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philfrancleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
358 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed here in 2010 after a long European holiday - and enthusiastically repeated the experience this year because we simply couldn't think of a better place to recharge our batteries after a busy ten weeks travelling.

Everything said in our original review holds true today. Ariyasomvilla provides a truly unique experience - gracious living as a guest in a beautiful authentic Thai household. If you want generic 5 star hermetically-sealed hotel living with all staff fluent in English this is probably not for you - because here you will experience the sights, sounds and aromas of Bangkok, combined with warm genuine Thai hospitality. It is located in bustling Sukhumvit, very close to the Skytrain, and we have always found plenty of taxis and tuktuks in Soi 1.

The hotel is built around a beautiful Thai home which houses the reception areas and dining room. The rooms have been designed and furnished to be totally in-keeping with the original ambience of the home - they are large, airy, very comfortable and well-appointed with beautiful bathrooms. We particularly loved the outlook from our balcony overlooking the sparkling clean salt-water pool surrounded by lush tropical vegetation.

The on-site restaurant, Na Aroon, is open all day from early breakfast until quite late - serving everything from a cocktail or coffee by the pool to a delicious Thai dinner (vegetarian and seafood - no meat). The dining room is a beautiful space with large windows opening onto the tranquil tropical garden. Despite some comments from other reviewers we had no problem at all with mossies (and I'm normally a mossie-magnet!!)

We love the presence of and interaction with the owners of the propery - David in particular is always there to help, advise and gently oversee the running of this unique hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden/pool rather than the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyTeviot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

This hotel is an oasis of calm in the heart of frantic Bangkok and thoroughly deserves its high rating on tripadvisor. It's a little tucked away, about a 10 minute stroll from the nearest sky train station. We had a garden view studio which was spacious, tastefully decorated and very quiet. All the staff were attentive and helpful without being intrusive or over the top. The grounds are lovely, green and lush and the swimming pool is a good size. We had breakfast by the pool each morning and there is a plentiful choice. The restaurant serves reasonably- priced Thai fish and vegetarian dishes which were beautifully prepared and presented. The co-owner, David, is a Mancunian who emigrated many years ago and is always on hand to chat and offer advice on what to see and do. We are fussy travellers and couldn't fault anything! We felt we'd found a home from home and were sad to leave.


Sent from my iPad

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing and well laid out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#5 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariyasomvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariyasomvilla

Property: Ariyasomvilla
Address: 65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariyasomvilla 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel is a very unique property in the centre of Bangkok. The original house was built by the current Owners Grandparents in 1942. Unlike other hotels Ariyasomvilla gives you a real sense of place and time but with all modern facilities you would expect from 5 star hotels. With 24 rooms Ariyasomvilla is very private and feels like a sanctuary. The pool is large enough for lap, while the spa offers excellent massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays and Southall Travel so you can book your Ariyasomvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariyasomvilla Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing