We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet place in a noisy city”
Review of Ariyasomvilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ariyasomvilla
Ranked #3 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A quiet place in a noisy city”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We booked into Ariyasomvilla after doing a bid of research. We usually like somewhere that not too large, not too corporate, and has some character. It ticks all the boxes. The staff are super helpful and can't do enough to help (we wee struggling with a travel agent and they even sent someone down to buy train tickets before we arrived). We had dinner in the hotel restaurant on both the nights we were there and the food was excellent served at an outdoor table by the pool; vegetarian but with fish options too - we don't normally bother with hotel restaurants but it was so good and my vegetarian partner was loving it. The location is central so if you want other food options it's very easy to look elsewhere. Likewise the breakfasts are good. There is a relaxing pool area and also a small spa; the Thai massages are excellent and done in an outdoor covered area, very relaxing. This is a good quality place with more character than most, welcoming staff, and just the right size. A great place in Bangkok.

Room Tip: Rooms near the canal may be affected by boat noise if that bothers you (it didn't for us).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonFromUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,253
    213
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
242
861
92
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed two nights at the Ariysomvilla in early November and cannot rate this hotel highly enough. We arrived very early in the morning after an overnight flight from Abu Dhabi, by arranged hotel limousine transport (well worth the extra in our opinion) and because our room was not ready we were given a quiet room to relax (sleep!) and shower in. We were then upgraded to a beautiful suite on the 4th floor complete with two sitting rooms, a mezzanine bedroom, bathroom and an a further toilet. This place is deserving of its oasis in the heart of Bangkok title. The noise from the river taxis was no problem to us (we were out all day), the gardens, swimming pool area and the whole ambience of the hotel was beautiful.

Breakfasts were plentiful with fresh fruits brought to your table and the one evening meal in the restaurant was fantastic (despite the sudden downpour and the Fawlty Towers scenario when all the outside diners had to be quickly accommodated inside) but this was quickly dealt with by the staff. David and his wife were the perfect hosts and you felt like you were staying with friends rather than in a hotel.

The Ariysomvilla is fully deserving of its current position on Trip Advisor and if you are looking to give yourself a real treat and escape the frenetic pace of the city then look no further.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank furryJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Ariyasomvilla is a luxury boutique hotel in the heart of Bangkok, conveniently close to the Phloen Chit BTS station. The hotel features a salt water pool, a spa, and a vegetarian restaurant.

We stayed there for two nights and were lucky to be upgraded. The suite had a lounge, corridor with wardrobe, a bathroom with rain shower and generously sized bathtub, the bedroom itself with a balcony.

The service was perfect, the breakfast delicious and plentiful. A special mention for the vegetarian restaurant.

Our stay was so pleasant we decided to stay in for a whole afternoon after visiting Chatuchak market, just relaxing in the comfort of our room.

Great hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is really the best place to stay in Bangkok . Arrived at 2am and check in was really smooth & fast (which is what you need at that time of night !) . The hotel really is an oasis of calm in hectic Bangkok and there is nothing that I can fault.

About the only down side is you have to leave !

Room Tip: Try and get a room not overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

I am marveled by the charm of this peaceful oasis in Bangkok. I found it by reading the reviews on TA and it is a jewel. Rooms are lovely, clean and done in Thai decor. Beds are so comfortable. I have slept quite well. Bathrooms are so charming I intend to try to redo mine at home like the in my room. Service is exceptional. You will feel well taken care of..... I will write more about my stay in Bangkok at another time. I have to get ready for my first Thai massage....

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HappiHappi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

After a 3 week long holiday traveling throughout Thailand, we booked Ariyasomvilla for a couple of days to decompress before taking a very long flight (~25 hours) back to the Texas. We are thrilled with that decision because Ariyasomvilla is exactly what we needed: peaceful, very accommodating and reasonably priced. The owner/manager was extremely engaged in making sure hotel guests felt welcome (as if you were a close friend staying with him and his family at his home).
The onsite restaurant (breakfast, lunch and dinner) was excellent. Although vegetarian focused, there were many fish and seafood dishes to keep us happy but the veggie dishes truly excellent. As for the rooms, we were fortunate to upgrade to a suite with a loft (and the bathroom was as stunning as the pictures online). But the most memorable and appreciated gesture experienced during our 2 day stay was having a request fulfilled to checkout at 9:00 p.m. versus noon (as our flight wasn't until midnight). While we had to understandably move to a different room (as our suite was booked already), we were able to spend the day by the pool, enjoy the best Thai massage I ever had (I believe her name was Alm) and get ready to leave on our schedule versus having to check bags at noon. This and so many other hotel management/staff gestures would yield a "must-stay" recommendation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCityGirl_hollyberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We were lucky enough to find ourselves in the capable and caring hands of the Ariyasomvilla staff upon landing in Bangkok. The room was stunning, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the the food was heavenly. Having a pool to cool down in after wandering the streets of Bangkok was a bonus and much needed relief. I would go back to Bangkok just to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 858 in Bangkok
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#5 of 858 in Bangkok
559 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariyasomvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariyasomvilla

Property: Ariyasomvilla
Address: 65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariyasomvilla 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel is a very unique property in the centre of Bangkok. The original house was built by the current Owners Grandparents in 1942. Unlike other hotels Ariyasomvilla gives you a real sense of place and time but with all modern facilities you would expect from 5 star hotels. With 24 rooms Ariyasomvilla is very private and feels like a sanctuary. The pool is large enough for lap, while the spa offers excellent massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ariyasomvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariyasomvilla Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing