We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are from "Susssss-ex"!”
Review of Ariyasomvilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ariyasomvilla
Ranked #2 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Beautifully located boutique hotel, located at the end of a busy bustling street, you fall into a wonderful oasis of calm.
Lush gardens hide the busy streets and although a little bit out of town, the sky train is literally a five minute walk. The sky train is so easy to use and navigate and we found our way around incredibly easily.
Our rooms were incredibly clean, beautiful bathrooms, clean towels and sheets on the bed. Air conditioning if you wanted to put it on or a ceiling fan, which we preferred.
From breakfast to supper, the food was deliciously sublime, fantastic choice, beautiful fruit plate, fresh juices, great hot breakfast too. Supper was a wonderful array of typical Thai food, with elegant tones of Thai influence with English deserts to die for. The apple crumble and bread and butter pudding were our favourites.
David our host and owner with his beautiful wife, could not do enough to help us. He gave us two top tips of things that we said we would like to do. Our first was a City bike ride, exhilarating and exciting. A truly fabulous way to see the sights and smell the incredible odours of the city. We loved it.
The second was possibly one of the highlights of our lives: washing, swimming and riding with Elephants (all looked after properly and with care), and then we fed 3 month old tiger cubs and held 3 week old tiger cubs too. There are not sufficient adjectives to describe our emotions...
A magical stay, a wonderful experience and we cannot thank David and his staff for a fabulous start to our stay in the Far East...
(And remember David, we are from Susssss-ex! Little joke we had!)
If you fancy a great fabulous boutique hotel, with all the trappings of a small oasis, friendly staff, fabulous food, you really could not beat this as a start, middle or end of your holiday in Bangkok.
Thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: We had the downstairs rooms, adjoining, and looking over the little garden, nice outlook and no stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trixpixbelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

654 - 660 of 1,555 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

My wife and I just spent 4 nights at Ariysomvilla. It was everything other contributors have said about this place. The staff is very well trained and accommodates every need. The Metro is about a 10 minute walk away. It's clean and very efficient. January of 2014 it costs about 75 cents to ride to the river taxi connection which stops at the Grad Palace, China Town, the Flower Market and Wat Pho. The owner is around everyday at breakfast talking to all the guests. The food here is very good and there is a large selection to choose from. The hotel is down a narrow street that is very busy during the day but we loved that. You can have lunch at any number of street vendors who serve up any number of dishes and is very cheap. There are several banks close by for money exchange or ATM's

Room Tip: The rooms that overlook the pool and dining area can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank codcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

At the risk of parroting the other reviewers, this was a terrific place to stay in Bangkok. You leave the hustle and bustle of the inner city by walking through a gate, and there you are - serene. There's no better gift you can give yourself while experiencing a city with the traffic and action that Bangkok has.

The facility is tasteful, comfortable, and well appointed. It has been assembled and operated with careful attention to detail. The service is excellent, the dining facility first rate, and the amenities top drawer.

Take the time to familiarize yourself with the BTS and canal boat services, which are conveniently accessed from the hotel. Otherwise, Bangkok's traffic can be horrendous at the best of times so be prepared to spend a lot of time in transit if you are taking a taxi.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tomnpatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

What a treasure hidden in the middle of the city! This small, quaint resort sits quietly in the city with easy walking distance to the Sky Train. It was a joy to come back to each day after being in the hot city. The owners are incredible and personally greeted us every night. The staff and their hotel was the best we experienced on our two weeks vacation all over Thailand. The food is excellent. The hotel property is beautiful. We chose to eat there every night for dinner. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable and spa-like. We even had massages at the spa which were wonderful. It also has a wonderful pool although we didn't use it. Definitely consider this hotel when you go to Bangkok. I can guarantee that you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed three nights in December. The hotel is about 7 mins from the sky train and is very nice. We had room 105 which was very quiet and had a large bathroom with window facing into the bedroom, together with large shower, large bed and teak furniture. David, the owner is friendly and knowlegeable about the area and the hotel is certainly well placed to relax after a day of busy sightseeing. The food is very good (supper) but not so good for breakfast, probably more due to the fact we are carnivores than vegetarian! The swimming pool is a good size but note that it doesn't seem to get much sun at any time of the day. The main area for sitting outside is nice with a range of trees/planting all enhancing the notion that you are miles from a city!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsHoneychurchTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

excellent food (organic), excellent service (as it is in all the Southeast Asian hotels we stayed in), just outside the grounds you are thrown right into the streetlife -- street vendors with their foods. just a great place to start or finish a vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank al g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I booked this hotel from the reviews and it exceeded my expectations. It was a true oasis in the midst of chaos. The staff were extremely helpful in arranging cars for day trips and taxis when needed. The breakfast was delicious with fresh fruits, eggs benedict, etc. The room was beautifully done with a balcony and large bathroom. I always love the stones between rocks in a bathroom…! I also became hooked on their jasmine shampoo. The pool was very clean and so was the rest of the hotel. The foliage and grounds were gorgeous. I stayed in a larger hotel on the night we spent going back through Bangkok on the way out. It was very high-end, but I enjoyed the boutique quaintness of Ariyasomvilla much more. The taxis seemed to know it by "Ariyasom". And I would make sure you have the name written in Thai, as well as English. The hotel's front desk would write our destination in Thai and tell the taxi driver whenever we would leave. Extremely helpful! The owner knows how to run an amazing hotel. I don't know what was going on with the 2010 reviews, but I can assure you that if there was anything wrong then, there isn't now. It's also in the best area of Bangkok.

Room Tip: I can't remember the room number, but it had a balcony overlooking the pool and a king bed. It w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Outofdodge_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 891 in Bangkok
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 891 in Bangkok
696 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariyasomvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariyasomvilla

Address: 65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £126 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariyasomvilla 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel is a very unique property in the centre of Bangkok. The original house was built by the current Owners Grandparents in 1942. Unlike other hotels Ariyasomvilla gives you a real sense of place and time but with all modern facilities you would expect from 5 star hotels. With 24 rooms Ariyasomvilla is very private and feels like a sanctuary. The pool is large enough for lap, while the spa offers excellent massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ariyasomvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariyasomvilla Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing