We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful find in the middle of Bangkok”
Review of Ariyasomvilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ariyasomvilla
Ranked #3 of 861 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Beautiful find in the middle of Bangkok”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our month long trip. Prior to arriving we emailed a few times with our concerns about the protests that were going on in the city. We received prompt emails back and they dealt with our concerns so we decided not to cancel. The hotel is so beautiful and so peaceful, with a courtyard for dining and a beautiful lap pool. We had dinner the first night which was excellent. Our breakfasts were included and we loved everything except for the bacon. I can't really explain it, but it didn't look or taste like bacon. Another guest sitting beside us commented on it as well. Aside from that, it was amazing. Our room was a standard room with a balcony, and I thought we had been upgraded. It was so beautiful. I had a wonderful massage on site as well on our last day and would totally recommend it. It was included in our package so I can't comment on the price but the massage woman was excellent. The location of the hotel is fantastic. It's at the end of this little local street but a short walk to the MTR station, and there are great restaurants only a couple of blocks away. In the evening it's an easy walk to go to dinner or just to see the street stalls set up at night. We felt totally safe walking around this area at night. There are even a couple of malls within walking distance. This was my first time to Bangkok but I think the location is ideal for getting around. Aside from the bacon, my only suggestion would be to have the night bellman start a pot of coffee in the morning for guests that have to leave extra early for flights. We left at 6:00 am and there was no coffee available. I would have so appreciated a cup at that time of morning. We were in Paris a few years ago and the night desk fellow made us coffee at 4:00 a.m.! Little things like that are really appreciated and remembered. Aside from that, we were in complete love with this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room away from the pool area and elevators and it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,256
    213
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
244
861
92
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

It was almost by accident that we came across this family owned residence boasting of under 30 rooms with a welcoming pool set amongst towering old trees along the river making it a true oasis for camouflaging the hassle and buzzle of Bangkok! Their Penang sea bass curry is beyond a dream meal and the Pad Thai Tofu is another to savour one's palate. British owner, David, is most charming greeting all guests with his sincere enthusiasm and joie de vivre! This is a friendly hideaway where one can unwind for a couple of days with or without kids.

Room Tip: ask for the room on the 2nd or 3rd floor above the swimming pool....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank views_gal_in_town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Best service of our one months trip around Austrasia. Staff here are incredible - always smiling.

First impressions on arrival were ‘wow’ but as with all things the longer your stay the more we noticed but that is unfair as I would not recommend that anyone stay anywhere else than at this hotel whilst visiting Bangkok. It’s an oasis of green and calm amongst the madness that is Bangkok.
On arrival we were met with a very welcome cool fruit drink and our bags were carried to our room. The room was excellent, ample bathroom, two wash basins, pebbles for drainage outside of the shower (difficult to describe) and a bowl of floating flowers by the loo. Complimentary soft drinks, a bowl of fruits and good sized bed.

Although our room (room 111) was excellent I would judge that it was one of the worst at the hotel as it was rather dark and it’s difficult to imagine wanting to sit on the paved area outside as this also was very shaded with the occasional whiff as it was immediately next to the river. I recommend that you ask for a higher level room – the ones with balconies look rather nice. Also our room would benefit from a few very quick DIY jobs – cracks in the plaster, clearing the sink drain traps and the like - all very minor and would have attended to immediately had we reported at reception – but to be honest we were there to relax not to pick fault with every minor imperfection.

The food is strictly vegetarian, the veggie bacon and sausages were not to my taste but the remainder of food available for breakfast and evening meal was excellent.

The hotel itself and pool area are both beautiful, so much better than the high-rise concrete carbuncles that populate the majority of Bangkok

The owner is very attentive (perhaps a little too much so on occasions) but he clearly wants you to have an excellent experience at his hotel and we certainly did. He is to be commended for his high standards and helpful advice.

One final tip – don’t forget to use the insect repellent provided at night and to switch your aircon on!

Room Tip: Don’t forget to use the insect repellent provided at night and to switch your aircon on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrconcerned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This little Oasis in the middle of the city will surprise you. It is SUPER quiet, incredibly adorable, romantic, lush, beautiful, and the staff spoiled us so much, the standards were hard to beat. Our first room was a like a little bungalow, with a patio, fresh fruit and tea upon our arrival, and a nice shower that looked like it should be in the rainforest. We were later moved to a room in the tower with a balcony, and it was just as nice. Breakfasts were stupendous... in fact, every meal there was incredibly delicious. My friend and I also tried the massages, which were also quite. But I can't say enough about the staff, who bent over backwards to help us with botched travel plans and accommodated us in so many ways, it felt like family...no. BETTER! Our stay was much too short. I would choose this little treasure again, if I ever go back to Bangkok. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: It is a property insulated from street and traffic noise, so I don't think you could go wrong wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This hotel and its staff are top notch! The rooms are spacious, comfortable, and beautiful. The staff is the epitome of graciousness. The manager will go out of his way to make sure you are comfortable and have everything you need. This place is truly a lush oasis in Bangkok. The only bad thing about Ariyasomvilla is that it is hard to leave it to explore the city.

This place has set the bar way too high for any other hotel in Thailand. If you are staying in Bangkok, stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seattle1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I really can't say enough about Ariyasomvilla! What an experience. It had the feel of an old colonial estate with lush grounds, a beautiful pool, stunning dining area. We stayed in adjoining rooms 310 and 311 and despite having stayed at hotels all over the world, this really was one of our absolute favourites of all time. Well, well worth the expense. As with the rest of southeast Asia, the service and staff were over-the-top. You could not do better in Bangkok.

Room Tip: We were a family of 5 and stayed in adjoining 310 & 311. Totally incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waytogo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The perfect place for a perfect stay in Bangkok. Forget the five star hotels. Go for a 6 star stay in one of the best hotel in the world !
And don't forget to visit the restaurant who's amazing.
Very tasty and veg and fish/sea food only.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yassine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 861 in Bangkok
613 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#5 of 861 in Bangkok
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariyasomvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariyasomvilla

Property: Ariyasomvilla
Address: 65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariyasomvilla 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel is a very unique property in the centre of Bangkok. The original house was built by the current Owners Grandparents in 1942. Unlike other hotels Ariyasomvilla gives you a real sense of place and time but with all modern facilities you would expect from 5 star hotels. With 24 rooms Ariyasomvilla is very private and feels like a sanctuary. The pool is large enough for lap, while the spa offers excellent massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ariyasomvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariyasomvilla Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing