We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Ariyasomvilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ariyasomvilla
Ranked #2 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I stayed here on 3 separate occasions for 12 days over a few weeks. The hotel is beautiful - there are lovely design touches everywhere and the surrounding gardens and pool provide a secluded haven. The manager/owner, David, is delightful and very hands-on. His love of the property shines though. The staff are all excellent and dedicated. The food (vegetarian plus fish) was delicious (breakfasts and dinners). The dining room is gorgeous with amazing ambience. The hotel is situated at the end of Soi 1, backing on to a canal. My comfortable room/s with lovely bathroom/s didn't face on to the canal but I liked the distant sound of the passing boats. Wifi was free and fast, a real plus. The location of Ariyasomvilla, less than a 5 minutes walk down the little Soi to Bumrungrad hospital - and it's peacefulness, beautiful surroundings and caring staff - make it the perfect place to recuperate. I cannot recommend it highly enough. Thank you to everyone at Ariyasomvilla!

Room Tip: I had Room 306 (twice) and Room 410. Both are lovely - Room 410 is larger with a loft bedroom - it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrequentFlyer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

608 - 614 of 1,555 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

A traditional Thai House with the addition of a more modern block with rooms, also decorated in traditional Thai style. Our first visit, but plan to return. Everything about this small hotel was excellent. The room was spacious and well furnished, the food delicious and service exceptional.
Central, but a good 20 min walk to the overhead metro line ( taxis are cheap )

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We have stayed here 4 times. This is a nice small hotel at the end of a long narrow road, right beside the Bumrungrad Hospital (a must for annual health checkups). Rooms are well appointed, wooden floors and furniture, good amenities and very clean. Good AC and room has a fan. Nice glass elevator. Great salt water pool and jacuzzi. Lots of green - trees & plants. First time i stayed I did not realize there was no meat on the menu, David the owner is vegetarian and they have seafood and vegetables on the menu. The food was varied and fresh. Staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Room 210, 310 (and ones beside these) overlook the pool and have a small balcony with table and chai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j-wish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed for 1 night on the ground floor (with a small outside space to sit - no view)and thoroughly enjoyed it. It was a comfortable room with lots of little nice touches David was always around to have a chat and all the staff were very welcoming and efficient. The breakfast and dinner (No meat but the fish was wonderful) were very good. We stayed a 2nd night after doing a 2 night river cruise, and were upgraded to room 400. This was huge with a mezzamine for sleeping in a huge comfortable bed and 2 sitting areas and a beautiful bathroom, and the view of the city lights at night was lovely. We did not use the Spa so cannot comment.Thank you all for a wonderful stay. Barbara & Roy Cheshire

Room Tip: Room 400 is huge - more a suite really, with a great night view, but no outside space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed at Ariyasom Villa for four nights. Although it is a little more expensive than some Bangkok B & Bs, it makes up for the cost in many ways. Our air conditioned garden room was a wonderful haven and a refuge from the heat of the day. The deluxe room was huge, with a spaciousness bathroom containing both a tub and a shower. Flowers and fruit were provided as was cold mineral water. We ate at the restaurant, and the Thai food was excellent. Had the English breakfast (included with the room) and it was good, too. More than enough food for my husband, who likes his breakfasts. There is a nice saltwater pool and a library, too. All in all, a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor with a garden view, next to the library. Very quiet and private. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaestraM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Thank you Trip Adviser ( and the positive reviewers - the negatives must be from a different planet).
This is an amazing tranquil find right in the middle of a large hectic city. We stayed 3 nights in March 2014 and found it so perfect after a hectic day exploring. David the owner is so visible and friendly to everyone and we should also mention head waiter Sak ( excuse spelling) who was brilliant. Yes it's sort of vegetarian (fish on menu) but meals actually excellent. If in Bangkok I can think of no better place to stay. We hope to return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Sorry to review this in a slightly negative way but the Shabby Chic was more shabby than chic.
Broken flooring around the pool just looked as if people couldn't be bothered to fix it and the bed we had in the Suite was possibly the most uncomfortable I have ever tried to sleep in . The sofa in the lounge was much preferred.

The staff are all superb but the extensive menu was just too busy. Vegetarian food is not a problem but why have to introduce vegetarian , chicken, duck etc??

It was a quiet place but really not the oasis people describe .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Soopau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panyasara, Owner at Ariyasomvilla, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear SpaulEast Yorkshire,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I’m sorry you didn’t quite enjoy your stay.

I am very surprised about your comments about the mattress / bed. The mattress is a medium firm pocket spring. In the last 6 years we’ve never had any negative comments about the mattress – in fact the very reverse. I’ve also used these mattresses for years and found them to be extremely comfortable. If you are used to a very soft mattress that might explain it.

I’m not sure what you mean about the menu being too busy? Too many choices? We have a clientele that comes to the restaurant on a regular basis and it seems important to offer a wide variety of foods. Our offer covers both vegetarian food and seafood so perhaps by offering both the menu has to be extensive.

Of course “vegetarian” chicken and duck are varieties of a simple vegetable protein. The original dish being made with chicken or duck. It just indicates what type of dish it is. It comes from the Chinese vegetarian cuisine culture. This form of vegetable protein has been around for a couple of thousand years and is essentially a simple low tech natural product. It is clearly spelt out on the menu that the dish is vegetarian so I’m not really sure what the objection is?

I would also take issue with the comment of “shabby” – the teak flooring around the pool is old and reclaimed from the original house. I feel that it fits in with the feeling of an antique house in a tropical garden. We are avoiding the bright brassy polished look.

Anyway, as always we thank you for coming to stay and for the review - we will seriously review all you’ve said and see if we can improve ourselves and our product.

With best regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 891 in Bangkok
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 891 in Bangkok
696 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariyasomvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariyasomvilla

Address: 65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £126 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariyasomvilla 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel is a very unique property in the centre of Bangkok. The original house was built by the current Owners Grandparents in 1942. Unlike other hotels Ariyasomvilla gives you a real sense of place and time but with all modern facilities you would expect from 5 star hotels. With 24 rooms Ariyasomvilla is very private and feels like a sanctuary. The pool is large enough for lap, while the spa offers excellent massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ariyasomvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariyasomvilla Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing