We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel!”
Review of Ariyasomvilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ariyasomvilla
Ranked #2 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

On my first trip to thailand , I stayed in this hotel. Amazing location, great food, amazing pool and rooms are extremely quiet. The best thing is the hospitality shown by the staffs. I will surely visit again!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vanderray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

585 - 591 of 1,566 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

The personal touch of owner David is evident everywhere in the hotel. It feels just as it used to be, like a family home.

The attention to detail without being either overtly opulent or chain sterile.

The staff are all friendly, helpful, and the attached spa treatments worth the extra dollars paid.

The authentic Thai food better than the Western in their vegetarian restaurant, but the classic British desserts allegedly home made by owner David are super delicious. This is coming from a food Nazi like myself.

If you're after cool peace and tranquility whilst being also being able to experience the frenetic heat, sweat and cheap everything in the rest of Bangkok, Ariyasom Villa is the only place to stay. Certainly deserved of its number two ranking on Trip Advisor.

Thank you Ariyasom ♥♥♥♥

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank DaniellaLeona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

On the last night of my second stay with the first having been two and a half years ago. Nothing has changed. The standard of service is excellent. The rooms beautiful. The common areas relaxing and the restaurant simply fantastic. Bangkok has hundreds of hotels and many are international five star chains, the Ariyasomvilla has service that exceeds them and you feel known and at home. After a day wandering this sprawling metropolis nothing beats returning to this hideaway where your room looks out over trees with squirrels running in the branches and the swimming pool beckons below. The problem is pulling yourself away from it to go out for the evening or to even leave at the end of your trip. I know we will be back again, soon.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Adepto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This place offers it all. Garden, Pool, Services, Food and quiet sleep while in the center of Bangkok. The only downside you have to walk a bit to the next Metro station. The services is personalized and the staff very attentive to any needs. Great Thanks to all of you

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of a 10 week trip away and we were not disappointed! This hotel is situated close to the main traffic routes but is in a very quiet spot- a oasis in the storm of Bangkok! David the manager is a very present figure and very welcoming. He knows the city well as a resident and national (and a Brit as well). It is an unusual hotel in that it has a vegetarian menu ( which we are not but thoroughly enjoyed it!). We had a fantastic room ( 305) - very large master bedroom and bathroom facing out across the garden to the front. It was very quiet. We eat in for breakfasts and for dinner and thoroughly enjoyed the easy and relaxed environment. We took a couple of City tours whilst there and would have been very happy to have stayed longer at the hotel. We much prefer this boutique hotel to the larger and it is in easy reach of the public transport system. Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our front facing room on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel had a driver meet us at the airport. We were greeted by reception. We were informed that we had been upgraded and shown to a suite on the fourth floor. I won't describe the two story suite because you'll be too envious. It was on the canal side but there was no smell in April. Instead, I enjoyed the activities at the Buddhist temple across the water. Next door was a household with a dog that barked at everyone who walked by. At night I could see her puppies on the porch. Of course many water buses went zooming by.

Our other view was over the pool and garden. We used the pool which is ver clean and not small. We ate our breakfasts and a couple of dinners by the pool. The set up fans for breeze and some kind of bug repellant but we never needed it. The best part of eating poolside was meeting and talking with David. He chose all of the furniture and art pieces for his hotel. He helped serve breakfast and seemed interested in our plans for the day. Reception arranged for a taxi when we needed one. Reception has cards at the desk with the hotel address in the Thai language. This is essential if you want to taxi home.

Yes, this hotel felt like home. Bangkok is congested, busy and a bit overwhelming so it was great to come to paradise each night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoseZbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel is the perfect antidote after a day in the heat and madness of Bangkok. Service is perfect, rooms are modern, comfortable, and interesting (in a good way)! We stayed here twice - once in a modern studio room with gorgeous stone bathroom floor, and once in the old house master bedroom. I highly recommend both of them - the older bedroom (room 208) was more interesting, but amenities weren't quite as modern as other rooms. Each experience was unique and impeccable. Perfect balance of Thai experience and first world comfort.

Owner was very helpful in getting us a cab to the airport before curfew in the midst of a military coup (the cab broke down on the way to Suvarnabhumi airport, but we can hardly blame him for that - true story).

Room Tip: Room 208 is the old house master bedroom - very lush and interesting to stay in - more of an experie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dak G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 891 in Bangkok
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 891 in Bangkok
723 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariyasomvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariyasomvilla

Address: 65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £132 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariyasomvilla 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel is a very unique property in the centre of Bangkok. The original house was built by the current Owners Grandparents in 1942. Unlike other hotels Ariyasomvilla gives you a real sense of place and time but with all modern facilities you would expect from 5 star hotels. With 24 rooms Ariyasomvilla is very private and feels like a sanctuary. The pool is large enough for lap, while the spa offers excellent massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ariyasomvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariyasomvilla Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing