We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ariyasomvilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ariyasomvilla
Ranked #3 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Simply Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at this amazing small hotel for 3 nights. We had booked the package including a deluxe room, transfers to and from airport and 1 meal and a massage each. It was all fantastically organised, and you can not help but feel serene and peaceful from the moment you arrive. Everything is done in the most organic and natural way possible. Whether it is the gentle scent of aromatherapy oils throughout the building (there are oil burners everywhere),or the pool which contains salt water in order to to avoid harsh chemicals. Our deluxe room was unbelievably beautiful, on the 3rd floor, with 2 balconies. One overlooking the pool, and one the canal. It had a huge oriental style bathroom, teak floors, and a huge four poster bed. Even the 'Prann' toiletries are made with natural ingredients and essential oils. There is a fridge in the room, and also a kettle.
There are nice fluffy towels on the thick loungers by the pool, and very soft Thai music plays in the background, which added to the tranquil atmosphere. We each had a massage, which was second to none, in a beautiful little outside pavilion. We ate dinner at the hotel on the first night. It was so tasty and aromatic, that we had a another meal there on our last evening. Do try the (non fried) fresh spring rolls! The owner, David, is a very friendly chap (a British Expat). He bakes a very nice Chocolate tart too, and makes sure the tea is adequate for us British tourists! He also sources the best Orange Marmalade from northern Thailand, and selects his staff very carefully. In particular the very good Chef, and a lovely lady named Boo, who is the restaurant Manager, and does everything to make your meal a memorable one with a genuinely friendly service. The whole setting of the restaurant is beautiful, and the outside dining by the pool very romantic. There is even Citronella Oil on the table outside to keep the mozzies at bay, and a gently fan blowing to cool you down in the hot Bangkok air.
Breakfast was also very good, with a large selection on offer, from Thai soup to yoghurt, or toast with above mentioned marmalade. The whole place was spotlessly clean, calm, with exceptional attention to detail. You have to tear yourself away from this lovely place to do the sightseeing! We made sure to be back early afternoon to enjoy the peace and serenity of it! It may not be the cheapest hotel, but it certainly makes for beautiful memories.
I would travel halfway accross the world to stay here for a few nights! Don't miss it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yolandanica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,221
    205
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
236
834
90
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Ariyasomvilla, but we did have some issues with it.

Positives
+ Lovely authentic thai style, not like a chain, where you could be in any city
+ Really polite, helpful staff
+ Lovely spa (expensive though)
+ Food is fantastic - lots of lovely seafood, must have dinner in the hotel at least once
+ Good location

Negatives
- We didn't like our room. It was not what we booked. I was at the top of the hotel, on 2 levels, which meant if you were in bed, you had to walk down a long stairs in order to get to the bathroom. Also the bedroom was hot and dark, and the air con up there was ineffectual. It was a shame as my husband had called in advance and requested a particular room, which they then didn't give us. It was a large room, so some might like that. But as a couple, we really didn't need 2 sitting rooms!
- The pool area. We went to sit by the pool only once. It smelt very strongly of sewage. This wasn't an issue for us as we were out and about most of the time, but it would have been nice to have the option.

Overall, I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Avoid the room on the top floor - it's split level and the bedroom is warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anon543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidlees, Owner at Ariyasomvilla, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Anon 543,

Thanks for your review. Of course I’m happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us but I wanted the follow up the important points that you made.

Sometimes our front office try a bit too hard and they upgraded you from a Deluxe Room in to a Duplex Suite. We could have reversed this if the stairs were inconvenient. I am concerned about the A/C as it should work well – when we first opened the hotel this was the room that I slept in for several months. Anyway, I’m very sorry if it was rather hot.

May/June are the hottest months and the canal running along the back of the property can be rather “ripe” when the temperature gauge goes up – we’ve also had so little rain at this time of year so there’s not much water to dilute the smell. Klong Sean Sap – the canal was built in 1937 and is still used today as a major transport route – over 60,000 people a day use the canal as their primary route to work. It can be used as a link to the old city and our nearest pier is at Soi 3.

Thanks for the review and thanks for coming to stay.

With very best regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vatican City, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

On my first trip to thailand , I stayed in this hotel. Amazing location, great food, amazing pool and rooms are extremely quiet. The best thing is the hospitality shown by the staffs. I will surely visit again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanderray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

The personal touch of owner David is evident everywhere in the hotel. It feels just as it used to be, like a family home.

The attention to detail without being either overtly opulent or chain sterile.

The staff are all friendly, helpful, and the attached spa treatments worth the extra dollars paid.

The authentic Thai food better than the Western in their vegetarian restaurant, but the classic British desserts allegedly home made by owner David are super delicious. This is coming from a food Nazi like myself.

If you're after cool peace and tranquility whilst being also being able to experience the frenetic heat, sweat and cheap everything in the rest of Bangkok, Ariyasom Villa is the only place to stay. Certainly deserved of its number two ranking on Trip Advisor.

Thank you Ariyasom ♥♥♥♥

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank DaniellaLeona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

On the last night of my second stay with the first having been two and a half years ago. Nothing has changed. The standard of service is excellent. The rooms beautiful. The common areas relaxing and the restaurant simply fantastic. Bangkok has hundreds of hotels and many are international five star chains, the Ariyasomvilla has service that exceeds them and you feel known and at home. After a day wandering this sprawling metropolis nothing beats returning to this hideaway where your room looks out over trees with squirrels running in the branches and the swimming pool beckons below. The problem is pulling yourself away from it to go out for the evening or to even leave at the end of your trip. I know we will be back again, soon.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adepto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This place offers it all. Garden, Pool, Services, Food and quiet sleep while in the center of Bangkok. The only downside you have to walk a bit to the next Metro station. The services is personalized and the staff very attentive to any needs. Great Thanks to all of you

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of a 10 week trip away and we were not disappointed! This hotel is situated close to the main traffic routes but is in a very quiet spot- a oasis in the storm of Bangkok! David the manager is a very present figure and very welcoming. He knows the city well as a resident and national (and a Brit as well). It is an unusual hotel in that it has a vegetarian menu ( which we are not but thoroughly enjoyed it!). We had a fantastic room ( 305) - very large master bedroom and bathroom facing out across the garden to the front. It was very quiet. We eat in for breakfasts and for dinner and thoroughly enjoyed the easy and relaxed environment. We took a couple of City tours whilst there and would have been very happy to have stayed longer at the hotel. We much prefer this boutique hotel to the larger and it is in easy reach of the public transport system. Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our front facing room on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 849 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariyasomvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariyasomvilla

Property: Ariyasomvilla
Address: 65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariyasomvilla 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel is a very unique property in the centre of Bangkok. The original house was built by the current Owners Grandparents in 1942. Unlike other hotels Ariyasomvilla gives you a real sense of place and time but with all modern facilities you would expect from 5 star hotels. With 24 rooms Ariyasomvilla is very private and feels like a sanctuary. The pool is large enough for lap, while the spa offers excellent massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Ariyasomvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariyasomvilla Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing