We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis”
Review of Ariyasomvilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ariyasomvilla
Ranked #3 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“An oasis”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Characterful, charming and with unbelievably friendly staff. Wonderful restaurant that serves mostly vegetarian Thai dishes and also some fish and seafood. Quite delicious homebaked cakes including rubharb and apple crumble, allowing one to enjoy an afternoon tea experience with a twist. Two of those twists being the sunshine and the pool. I had a massage out in the open on the roof - a traditional Thai massage of excellent quality, conducted as rain cascaded down on the roof above and thunder clapped overhead. Unbelievably dramatic.
Some people have drawn attention to the slight pong from the canal. This is not a nasty niff, more an "organic" odour you will notice at first and then stop noticing - please don't let it put you off staying here. And you can use that canal to zip you across Bangkok in a canal boat, avoiding traffic. Also the faded grandeur of the hotel does not have five star efficiency, but for me this is the charm. It is characterful and has personality. I spent a week here and have been very happy. I have used the nearby Skytrain to get around, the Khlongs (canals) and on foot to nearby Sukhumvit resstaurants.

Room Tip: Try and get a veranda overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichTea547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,252
    212
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
241
860
92
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Satigny, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Amazing food. But i really mean that it is amazing. There wasn't even one thing which was just OK, it was amazing.But!!! The prices are ridiculously high, and for me to go there is more then i can afford, so ill give them 5 stars for the food

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daniel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

we were staying here during our 4days visit to bangkok with our little daughter (1.5years old).

we can confirm all positive opinions written already before, so there is no need to repeat anything.

traveling with our daughter in that hotel makes it easy. the staff cared about us and even gave us a calm and great room. especially with traveling with kids in that busy town, you need a place to come down and relax. this hotel provides that. we would every time book it again and will recommend it to our friends as well.

the only thing, which needs renovation is the pool area. the rest is in 5star level.

Room Tip: calm rooms away from the klong
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPMKMGVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

This is a perfect oasis in the heart of bangkok. Hard to believe this place exists in the city. The room was unbelievable and the pool was superb. The staff were friendly, helpful and very courteous. Spent three nights here and could easily have spent longer. The food was also superb mainly aimed towards vegetarian and thai dishes. Breakfast was excellent, the fruit platter unbelievable. Will definitely stay here again. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank AQuinn81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We had a three night stay here to end our two week trip to Thailand. This is a great hotel, with unbeatable service. The room was absolutely fantastic and one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in. The location isn't great, but isn't so far from a sky train stop. My wife didn't like the smell from the canal around the pool, but I didn't mind it and there's nothing you can do about that. We did not have internet service in our room the first day, but when we brought the issue up it was fixed promptly. We also thought the food was wonderful, but very overpriced (we had a voucher). I thought the value was good, and would likely stay here again if I'm in Bangkok. It was a nice refuge from the city, which is dirty and noisy and everyone outside of the hotel is trying to swindle money from you. We loved Thailand, but not Bangkok...but if we need a night in Bangkok on our next trip we will probably stay here again.

One other note...the bathroom is amazing and it has this beautiful rock feature with large pebbles around the shower and toilet...but the hotel needs to clean down in the rocks as there were lots of long hairs and dirt that were not ours and kind of gross.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panyasara, Owner at Ariyasomvilla, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Joseph,

Thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I’m glad to learn that in general you enjoyed your stay and liked the hotel.

I am very aware of the issue with the pebbles in the bathroom and we attend to this on a very regular basis – clearly something has gone astray in your case and we need to reapply ourselves to this very important issue – apologies.

I would have to disagree with you that our F & B is “very overpriced”. We are, of course, more expensive than street food and small local establishments. We serve our food on good quality ceramics with local designer cutlery and coloured glass. We pay close attention to hygiene and cleanliness in the kitchen. Most of our staff are competent English speakers and have years of hospitality experience. Our premises are based around a genuine old Bangkok Villa and we have a beautiful tropical garden. If you compare our prices to other similar establishments we are more than reasonable. Everything in a capital city is a bit more expensive than up country. In general our overheads are more expensive.

Bangkok is a huge city of around 13.5m people. Unfortunately, there are unsavory elements hanging out around the main tourists sites trying to take advantage of tourists. We warn our guests upon arrival of this and ask them to exercise a modicum of common sense. Most people manage to navigate past these hazards I’m glad to say. Bangkok has it’s warts and it’s underbelly but also has it’s charm and appeal.

I do hope that we get to see you again when you visit again – thanks for your comments which we treat very earnestly.

Best regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

It's hard to describe this green oasis in words. Can only compare it to walking across the Sahara Desert and stumbling upon an lush green oasis. Tranquil, peaceful, old world Thailand, small boutique hotel but with with all the mod cons. Sparkling clean pool, delightful dining inside and out, large spacious room with stunning bathroom. We are meat lovers thru and thru but were totally taken with the amazing vegetarian cuisine for dinner and sensational breakfast. Set three course dinner was a highlight with sea bass in red curry sauce, mixed seafood plate, fresh vegetables, three different colored rice, after entree then followed by home baked apple crumble - to die for! Amazing staff who are so helpful and gracious and totally switched on. David the owner glides around the property with his warm friendly personality like a shepherd looking over his flock. Cannot speak highly enough of this property. We would not stay anywhere else in Bangkok. Can't wait to come back!! Thank You to everyone at Ariyasomvilla for making our 3 night stay so blissful.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KTandTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I cannot speak more highly about this place. On the last night of our honeymoon we had only 1 night in Bangkok with a late departure to the UK the following day. We booked A'villa and were delighted with our room, it had so much charm & character compared to the hotel chains that are synonymous with big cities such as BK. Location was fantastic, breakfast lovely & having a pool in Central BK a treat for topping up the tan before went home.
What really made our stay here was that as our flight was at 1am the following day and when we mentioned it to the staff not only did they suggest that we could use the spa shower facilities but they instead offered us a room for the day. Not many other hotels would do this! It meant that we could have a preflight chill out, shower & had secure storage... What a great way to end our 3week honeymoon!
(Although this offer may not be the norm and should not be expected by other travellers it really showed the hospitality of the staff)

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GrahamHarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 858 in Bangkok
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 858 in Bangkok
557 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariyasomvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariyasomvilla

Property: Ariyasomvilla
Address: 65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariyasomvilla 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel is a very unique property in the centre of Bangkok. The original house was built by the current Owners Grandparents in 1942. Unlike other hotels Ariyasomvilla gives you a real sense of place and time but with all modern facilities you would expect from 5 star hotels. With 24 rooms Ariyasomvilla is very private and feels like a sanctuary. The pool is large enough for lap, while the spa offers excellent massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ariyasomvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariyasomvilla Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing