We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home”
Review of Ariyasomvilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ariyasomvilla
Ranked #3 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We travelled back from our honeymoon via Bangkok and wanted to stay somewhere a little more homely than the big/super hotels we stayed elsewhere in our honeymoon trip round Indonesia and Thailand. We thought Ariyasom would be that. It didn't disappoint. David, the owner, is a fountain of local knowledge and extremely welcoming and hospitable. He is the face of this hotel which really is a home from home, where, amazingly, a stone's throw from Bangkok's centre you are in a perfectly serene and relaxed setting, that really does feel like home. Incidentally, I am a massive carnivore yet Ariyasom's fish and veggie in-house restaurant served some of the best and honest food we had all trip. I have never been bothered to review/rate a hotel or anything before, but this place deserves it. Enjoy....

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10Steve10-----------
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,240
    211
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
240
852
91
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
209 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2010

We booked Ariyasomvilla for 4 nights before going to Cambodia for 4 nights and then booked another hotel for our last 4 nights in Bangkok after returning from Cambodia. After a couple of nights at Ariyasomvilla we cancelled our other hotel and came back here. It felt like an oasis and a home away from home in this fascinating, crowded, intense, hot, humid, and traffic-ridden city. The place is clean, quiet (some sounds of river buses going by in the canel next to our room but after one night wasn't even conscious of them), lovely in a non-sterile modern way, with wonderful internet connection, great staff, and to top it all of, excellent vegetarian and seafood Thai food in its restaurant. It has a swimming pool and outdoor tables where one can eat or drink around the pool, and a spa where very good massage therapists will give you a great Thai massage for about US $26 per hour that will relax you after you've seen the sights and all those temples in the heat.

David Lees, an expat Brit who along with Thai wife who has a Harvard degree in landscape design, own the place and David watches over his excellent Thai staff and guests like a calm father hen--he supervises the kitchen, the food buying and preparation, and looks after his guests needs and wants constantly. He makes ever guest feel special and is a font of knowledge about the city.

The Ariyasomvilla is located down a small but intense small street behind a major hospital and when you first travel it you aren't quite sure whether it is dicey or not but it turns out to be perfectly safe, and from the hotel it will lead you to a busy and traffic-ridden thoroughfare where a BTS "skytrain" is located that will take you to the river to catch a boat to the main temples, or to the major shopping and entertainment areas.

If you like tall, modern, sterile hotels with food like you get at home, this may not be the place for you. But if you want a true oasis with excellent food, comfort, and great service where you can relax after a day of sightseeing or business, this is it in Bangkok. We won't stay anywhere else when we come back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SANTraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2010

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our Thailand winter trip - we chose it as result of Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. Lovely boutique hotel with georgous well-tended gardens in a reasonably good location (10 mins walk from the sky train). Our room (14) was on the ground floor slightly away from the main building and was great - lovely bathroom, great shower etc. Free Wifi, TV, all you would expect.

Nice pool area and decent sized pool, if a bit chilly...

Highlight was probably the restaurant (vedge and seafood - no meat), where, unusually for us, we ate both nights - great food and service. Very useful as no obvious restauant scene close by.

We would come again next time we were in Bangkok.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian_HirstUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2010

A lovely hotel and the staff were very helpful with any questions we had as this was our first trip to Bangkok we needed help with finding places around the city. The staff couldn't have being more helpful from arranging airport taxis to ordering drinks it was a great experience. Breakfast was great and we really enjoyed it. We highly recommend this hotel for its price, location, room and staff.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xolonso1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Well this will be my second review of this hotel. I stayed here last year and I just fell in love with this place. Back then I promised my self, that if I came back to Bangkok I would definately stay here again. I was not disappointed. It is always a little risky to return to a perfect place and experience, in so many ways you set you self up for a disappoinment. This was absolutely not the case. When we arrived, we were warmely greated from the front desk personel, Mr Jadet Thuanthai (the front office manager), and not to forget David (Manager and owner). It was like we never left. Some new faces and some old who remembered and made us feel like home. This hotel has it all, tranquility, beautiful decorated and clean rooms with all amenities, wonderful pool, fantastic vegetarian and seafood restaurant, great location, close to Sukhumvit and BTS, eminent staff ( who according to some reviews speak poor english, well guys, you are in thailand, embrace it and love them for trying and learning). Bottom line, I would never dream of staying any other place in Bangkok. This is home.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaan1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

We spent two nights at Ariyasomvilla, one after arriving on our trans-Pacific flight. We were quite tired, but check in was quick and we were shown to our room, which was nice inside. However, the rooms are not soundproofed very well, so noise from the hallway (the elevator, other guests) and the balcony (ours faced the canal) was very noticeable. The khlong taxis along the canal begin running around 6 a.m. and are quite loud - we heard them go by every 4-5 minutes.

Breakfast by the pool was very nice and the manager made sure to talk with all guests. We mentioned we were going to the old city and he recommended we take the boats - very quick and cheap at only 11B per person.

The location was so-so. We did not explore much on Sukhumvit Road, but it is at the end of a soi and probably would have been a 10 minute walk to get to the main road had we done so.

Overall, not bad - I would recommend the hotel to others, but I'm not sure I would stay there again with so many other options in Bangkok.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellinTw0s0me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islamabad
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

Fantastic place to stay. The rooms are excellent, the garden is serene, the food is fantastic, and the staff/manager are so very nice.

I have stayed in a number of hotels in Bangkok during the past few years, and thuis was one of the nicest surprises in a very long time. Congratualtions!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnIslamabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 858 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 858 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariyasomvilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariyasomvilla

Property: Ariyasomvilla
Address: 65 Sukhumvit Soi 1 | Khlong Toei Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#4 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariyasomvilla 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariyasomvilla Boutique Hotel is a very unique property in the centre of Bangkok. The original house was built by the current Owners Grandparents in 1942. Unlike other hotels Ariyasomvilla gives you a real sense of place and time but with all modern facilities you would expect from 5 star hotels. With 24 rooms Ariyasomvilla is very private and feels like a sanctuary. The pool is large enough for lap, while the spa offers excellent massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ariyasomvilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariyasomvilla Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing