We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Alay couple from OZ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom
Ranked #76 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed in the junior suit. The hotel and it's service was well above my expectation. Great location and great service. Will definitly stay there again. Executive lounge was also great and handy to get away from the hustle and bustle of a busy day in a busy city. Will recommand it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amir1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,820)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,589 - 1,595 of 2,821 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

We were taken for a ride by the taxi (deliberately or not deliberately), then we stopped in the middle of Silom road.
We asked around and people told us where to go, we walked about 1 km from the place we got off from the taxi.
We came in quite exhausted and obviously not too happy, then the magic begins.

We were greeted with a big smile, and straight away upgraded to Executive room, with access to Executive Lounge and Late check out at 4 PM on the last day (which is really helpful because our flight is at 8 PM).

The room was clean, excellent and we were really happy about it.

The concierge was really helpful with booking a taxi for our trip to the floating market. They also help us with the their free shuttle service to Sala Daeng BTS. We use the BTS to travel around Bangkok easily.

We have no negative thing to say about this hotel.

Thumbs up for all of you, you all made our holiday in Bangkok such a pleasant holiday and we thank you for that.

Oh, we might be upgraded due to the fact that we hold an accor club membership.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yosi1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed at the Novotel Silom for 7 nights when visiting Bangkok and used it as a hub from where to reconnoiter the city. Upon check-in we were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded from the original deluxe room to a junior suite by the very friendly manager. The room was very tastefully decorated with a separate sitting area, bed room and huge bathroom with a separate bath tub and (rain) shower. Everything was spotless. The room came with a music system that allowed you to connect your iPod. Complimentary fruits were on the table and the mini bar was well-stocked. The air conditioning functioned well. The view from the room was towards the river of which you could just catch a glimpse behind the hotel buildings that line the Chao Phraya river banks. The lobby is spatious but gives a somewhat empty uncozy feel. The bar is located in the lobby but due to the lack of a bit of more intimately confined space with dim light for instance, the lobby bar is not particularly appealing. Breakfast was nice and offered a wide range of warm and cold options. Variation was perhaps not at its best especially for long-staying guests but then again how much variation can you really build into a breakfast ? Generally the breakfast was in line with what you would expect from a 4-star hotel. Dinner was perhaps not so ideal. We tried it twice both nights because we were too tired to brave the humidity and heat after a full day of exploring the city. In general the staff have low English skills and this is a true pity because they obviously have the right disposition towards working with guests. Due to the lack of basic English however my beef cam back well-done instead of the rare that I had asked. And the white wine turned out to be red when served... A real pity because with some investment in the training of the staff's basic (English) language skills from the side of the hotel, this could be easily corrected. The restaurant works with a buffet formula but does allow you to supplement the buffet with a (limited) choice of a la carte dishes. The price is reasonable but if you don't mind the heat you can eat better (and in more pleasant settings) for less elsewhere outside the hotel. Dinner is served in the same hall as the breakfast and in the evenings this is an issue. The feel of the breakfast room at night is unpleasant and the lack of other guests eating in the hotel gives it a sad, drab feel. The food however was good. Some small things could be improved. For Europeans it is a bit of a bummer when the staff remove the plate form the person who is finished eating while the other table guest is not yet. Etiquette normally leaves both plates on the table until both guests are finished. It makes the guest who's not yet finished feel less rushed and less conspicuous.

A few times we went out in the rain. Umbrellas are available from the concierge but the second time they had run out. As mentioned the hotel offers a concierge service but we had the impression that the concierge staff didn't fully understand what their tasks are. As a result we found the service level highly variable. One person went out of his way in trying to secure us a taxi. His colleague the next evening when asked to call us a cab limited himself to pointing to the road. Eventually (after insisting) he did go out and negotiated with the guys on the hotel parking lot. He went back inside. After waiting 15 minutes we went back in and he then said that they didn't want to take us. A bit sad that this had to happen. Obviously he could have told us instead of letting us stand there for 15 minutes.

We had access to the business lounge and found that to our liking. it's a bright nice, quiet spot to relax in and the staff here - contrary to the rest of the hotel - are both very very friendly and service oriented and speak excellent English!! At the same floor as the lounge is a (modestly sized) swimming pool and a (modestly sized) gym. We didn't make use of either but both facilities looked clean and nice.

If you book a tour from the tour desk in the hotel then know that they work with a tour agency at Khao San Road. You will be picked up at the hotel and then dropped together with other tourists from hotels from all over Bangkok at Khao San Road in the morning where you will be partitioned into the bus/van corresponding to the tour of your choice. We booked with them but previous to that we had also booked from the travel agency right next to the hotel outside. From them we got a private pick-up, a small group of co-daytrippers and no chaotic drop-offs at a Khao San sidewalk. It's the same price. I would not go for the hotel desk agency anymore.

All in all good quality (clean) hotel facitlities, however with some room for improvement on the services side. Nice stay. Competitive pricing. .

Room Tip: Higher floors offer nice views. Don't worry about river side rooms or not. Even on the side lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom is walkable distance to the BTS station and the pier. The service is good with the friendly concierge always ready to assist you. The room is clean and comfortable. However, the room that i stayed in only has a mirror in the bathroom. It will be good if the hotel can install another mirror outside the bathroom. Just a reminder that the hotel is situated near the crossroad where the State Tower of Bangkok stands. Please do beware of people acting as fake tourist police or other roles to con you. If they promise to get you to a destination at a cheap rate with a tuk tuk, you should know something is wrong.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank japheth85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Freddie A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 September 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Novotel Silom for 3 nights. The hotel is a 10 minutes walk from the BTS station and also 10 minutes walk from the pier. The area is also very nice and quite upmarket. It is quiet, peaceful, not too touristy, clean and modern with some European-style buildings. The hotel lobby always has a weird smell and I think they may have a drainage problem. Service-wise was fantastic. Check-in and check-out was quick and the concierge are always very smiling and happy to help. The room is small and the bathroom indeed has a design flaw that will make water leak everywhere. No free wifi at all too which was quite disappointing. I think this is overall a nice hotel which we got for a very good deal.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor so that you can enjoy the view at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeemandMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We have booked a large room through www.accorhotels.com site at a very competitive rate including breakfast. Both the room and the breakfast were nice, the service is good. Location is OK. Pls note that BTS station Surasak is way closer to the hotel than Sala Daeng, up to which you can take a hotel shuttle bus. You can walk to and from Surasak at about max.10 minutes. Would certainly return if or when I'm back at Bangkok

Room Tip: Take large room if room rate is acceptable for you, it's very nice, standard is smaller, but goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom
Holiday Inn Bangkok Silom
#130 of 885 in Bangkok
2,317 reviews
Silom
Triple Two Silom
Triple Two Silom
#71 of 885 in Bangkok
506 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Hotel Managed by Centre Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Pullman Bangkok Hotel G
Pullman Bangkok Hotel G
#83 of 885 in Bangkok
3,372 reviews
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#64 of 885 in Bangkok
1,077 reviews
Silom
Bandara Suites Silom, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom

Address: 320 Silom Road, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#116 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#148 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £47 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your trip to Bangkok is for business or leisure, Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom puts you right where you want to be. Ideally located in the heart of Bangkok, Silom is the original cosmopolitan district of Bangkok and remains the city's best blend of old and new. From ancient temples, to corporate headquarters, to the hottest clubs - Silom has it all. Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom is between two BTS Sky Train stations, Taksin and Surasak. Likewise nearby the hotel is Sathorn Pier where you can catch a Chao Phraya express boat for exploring historical sites such as Rattanakosin Island and the Old City. Along with 216 guest rooms and suites, Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom offers facilities and amenities including: The SQUARE all-day-dining restaurant, lobby venue STONE Bar, outdoor swimming pool, fitness centre, sauna room, 24-hour room service and free Wi-Fi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing