We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel. Beware of scam around it”

New Central Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
New Central Guest House
Ranked #455 of 628 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good hotel. Beware of scam around it”
Reviewed 11 January 2011

The Bangkok center hotel is certainly not a five-star place. But it offers extremely good value for the money. The rooms are spacious and clean. The location is central enough to actually walk to most places. The breakfast buffet is a nice treat. But be aware, that the central location also means that there are touts and scammers everywhere. Leave the place and you get approached, or better besieged. Nevertheless, a great hotel to start a backpack tour.

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Festus31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    6
    3
    6
    3
See reviews for
1
9
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2009

stayed at guest houses run by this family since 1984. they always remember me, even if i've been away for more than a few years. usually give a 'special price' if there's plenty of rooms available in the low season. clean, convenient and cheap for kaosan.
can understand the negative review. did you stay in the low season? might have been a dodgey thai staying there, one who sneaked in, or, a 'visitor' brought back by another patron. always have to be careful in thailand.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magisterosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colombo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2009

Don`t ever take room 4-1 with balcony in the new central guesthouse, it`s a dangerous place to stay there.
When I was staying there someone came by my balcony in my room when I was asleep.
This happend at 4 a.m. A fight was the result.
When I went downstairs to the manager and told him what happend, he didn`t believe me!
After that I went to the police.
The police was so kind enough to call the manager and asked him what has happend.
With no result.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robertColombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2009

I found this place by walking around the Khao San area. The owner is a likable, jovial and helpful man and the staff (family?) are as nice. I paid 300 baht for a double with a fan, a/c and screens on the windows - which is a BIG deal in SE Asia. The room was sparse - no TV or anything like that. Just a bed and a bathroom.

Beer and water are sold in the "lobby". The location is a block a from Khao San Road. Bottomline - I'd definiately stay here again.

  • Liked — the service, location
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackmistressdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2008

New Central is a family run guesthouse with about 30 rooms, some with balconies and windows had flyscreens so you didn't need to use the air con all night. It's very basic, but very cheap. The rooms are small but clean and the bed was OK. Toilet looked like a regular toilet but had a manual flush - i.e. a bucket., but the shower was OK. No facilities except free (and fast) WiFi in the rooms. Doors are locked at night but one member of the family is always sleeping just inside (did feel guilty about waking them).

It's nice and quiet and hard to believe it's only a 90 second walk to the craziness of Khao San Road.

Full review at http://www.littlewhiteswan/Accom/az08/0819.html

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Very small rooms
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Swanygirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
The Celadon bangkok
The Celadon bangkok
#675 of 1,185 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
สะพานสูง
YOO YEN PEN SOOK hostel
YOO YEN PEN SOOK hostel
#209 of 1,185 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Chatuchak
G9 Bangkok Hotel
G9 Bangkok Hotel
#428 of 628 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mansion Sarasinee
#710 of 1,185 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Chatuchak
Baan Mi-Na
Baan Mi-Na
#622 of 1,185 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Chatuchak
C U Inn Bangkok
C U Inn Bangkok
#177 of 1,185 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Central Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Central Guest House

Property: New Central Guest House
Address: 81/1 Tanao Rd., Bangkok, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Chatuchak , Old City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #455 of 628 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
New Central Guest House Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing