We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Space in a crowded city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sathorn Vista, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sathorn Vista, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Ranked #48 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Space in a crowded city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

This was our first visit to Bangkok, and we did not know a lot about the city. We had little idea of where to stay, but knew we wanted to be comfortable. The Sathorn Vista is not in the city centre at all, but turned out to be well-positioned for us - we could reach the sights (Grand Place area, the river) but also some of the other features (Patpong Market).

For our five day stay, we booked an executive apartment because it said it had two double beds - enough space for two adults and two teenage daughters. However, on check-in the staff told us that the room could only sleep three. We got out our booking that clearly showed our requirements, so they agreed to install an extra bed, but then tried to charge for the extra child. We held firm, having paid in advance. However, this fuss was unnecessary: the apartment did have two large beds, and the extra bed they installed just got in the way.

We loved the apartment (1008). The two bedrooms were entirely separate from the living room and kitchen, and there were two bathrooms. The flat was well equipped - large fridge, washer and tumble drier, three large flat- screen TVs and cooker. It was cleaned every day.

The pool is on a terrace on the fifth floor, and is unheated. There are loungers and chairs, and a small bar. It closes at 11pm.

Generally, there are plenty of staff, and they are keen to help. We had breakfast twice at the hotel - a significant extra cost compared with Bangkok prices elsewhere, for rather average Western food.

Why only four stars? A few minor niggles:
- the Internet policy was stupid. 'Free' access in the public areas only, and each day required a new log-in code. This was just annoying, and did not always work
- despite the security in the building, the lifts required key cards to operate, making access to our friends on a different floor difficult
- the prices of drink in the bars was extortionate. (That said, it was a Buddhist holy festival on the first two days of our arrival, and the bar was the only place serving beer and wine)

Tip: it is only five minutes walk to the Banyan Tree. Go there at night, take the lift to the top and enjoy (another extortionately priced) drink and a fantastic view of Bangkok. Drink slowly!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ManorRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    242
    23
    8
    10
See reviews for
264
196
62
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

I recently stayed here for 26 days and its probably one of the better hotels I have stayed at in Bangkok. I had a 2-bedroom suite located on 31th floor with superb views over the city, there was also a balcony but I never managed to open it. Anyhow, the front desk were very helpful and they did not have the typical hi-so attitude that I have seen in other 5 star hotels. The room service and food available were delicious, they have some really great chefs!

There is only one thing I have to complain about through out my stay and its the internet speed. Its a good speed for the casual internet user, but since the apartments are located in a business area they have to adapt and keep in mind that some people stay there for business. The speed is 3 Mbit, they would need at least 10 Mbit otherwise it takes forever to download a large file.

Other than that, it was a great stay and I would stay again but not for business until they fix the internet speed.

Room Tip: High floor facing towards the main road for great views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pokerstah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We have recently relocated from Europe to Bangkok and we were lucky to call the Marriott Sathorn Vista our home for the first couple of weeks before finding a permanent residence in this great city.

The breakfast buffet at the residence lounge was always freshly prepared with a wide range of choices and the staff very attentive. Room Service from MoMo Cafe was good and prices were reasonable for a hotel restaurant.
The apartment it self was clean and large enough to accommodate the needs of our family of three and it had all appliances needed for an extended stay. The gym is open 24/7 and the swimming pool on the 5th floor has been used by us almost every day (there is a small playroom for little children as well). The hotels location is about 10 minute walk from the next BTS Station or you can easily get a Taxi at the hotel. There are several nice restaurant in walking distance (Naj is a nice Thai restaurant about 5 minutes walk from the Hotel), there is a Seven Eleven close by and a Tops Market (super market with a lot of imported goods) at the Siam Center close to the Sala Daeng BTS Station. Lumpini Park is just a 8-10 minute walk away (great for jogging in the morning).

Daryn, the General Manager and his excellent team made us feel welcome and at home. Everybody at the Marriott Sathorn Vista went out of their way helping us getting settled in our new home town.
The hotel does not try to compete with the various 5 Star Hotels in this city. It caters to families and business executives looking for a home away from home and after a while you feel like family.
Honestly, there is nothing bad to say about this property and we highly recommend the Marriott Sathorn to everybody looking for family friendly environment and larger size rooms/apartments.
We have to thank the Marriott Sathorn Vista Team for having us and making our first weeks in this great city such a memorable experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sven E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
v1grad
Level Contributor
183 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

After having lived as an expat for over two years in Bangkok, I find that this Marriott can't be beat for location, quality, comfort, and value. The place is relatively new so the furnishings are in good shape, modern, and are well appointed. The service is outstanding, there is tasty room service, a good exercise facility, an inviting 5th floor pool that has spectacular views of the Bangkok skyline, and both good internet and cable tv. The bed is particularly comfortable and the units have kitchens and a washer and dryer.
The area is in a really great neighborhood. There is Lumphini park, the largest park in Bangkok about a 10 minute walk away. There are great restaurants- Tenuu Grand for sushi; Secret Garden, Naj, and Baan Kanita for the best Thai to be found; Il Bolonese for Italian; and Vertigo and Eat Me for outstanding steak and seafood fare. Outside along Suan Plu you can walk to numerous banks and find great authentic Thai street food. There are also hair salons, massage parlors, a post office, pharmacies, a place to get photographs taken for visas, and even a dry cleaner to get your clothes cared for. You can catch a taxi or tuk tuk in the area easily, or can walk to the BTS or MRT in about ten minutes which take you all over town. It's just a great location to really experience as a jumping off point all that Bangkok has to offer.

Room Tip: You might not want a room facing south because there is a large building right next door that seems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank habitact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
214 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 581 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

This was an excellent stay. Clean, big rooms, great service, good amenities, excellent bed, quit, and good value for money.

Just one note, if you are a Marriott rewards member, you will only be partially credited.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nomad6022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

As a frequent Marriott traveller and newcomer to Bangkok I went for a safe choice and booked for 11 nights the Marriott Sathorn.

+ it is clean, efficient , friendly staff, very nice pool and good gym
+ beds are Marriott quality --> great
+ location is quite good, walking distance from BTS and not in the middle of the noice

- I asked me for quiet room , explicitly not next to elevator, the gave me room opposite the storage of the room cleaning service....not very thoughtful and noisy
- room service cleaning often comes only in the afternoon, if you stay in the apartment during day not nice that it is not cleaned in the morning. I asked a few times for it, but got tired of asking
- I visited some other serviced apartment hotels around and the Marriott, with good facilities is quite expensive compared
- as I was alone, they gave me the smallest apartment on the floor.


It is decent Marriott quality, they do not seem to think in the customer mind, are very friendly , but I was not positively surprised. It is a solid no risk choice

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Reinardus v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Semarang
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed in June at Marriott VC, with our 3 kids. We took the 2 bedroom apt. They are all well-furnished and clean when we checked in. Kitchen-well equipped. Washing machine plus dryer are also available inside the apt. They clean the place each morning.

Located in Sathorn, it is close to the BTS. When we needed a taxi, the staff helped to arrange for it promptly. And if the taxi driver was not clear of the destination, the staff gave direction to the driver.

Swimming pool is big enough and well-maintained. Our children enjoyed using the pool every evening.

Overall, it has been an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit Park, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Sathorn
COMO Metropolitan Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
Anantara Baan Rajprasong Serviced Suites
Sathorn
AETAS lumpini
AETAS lumpini
#49 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sathorn Vista, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sathorn Vista, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments

Property: Sathorn Vista, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Address: 1 Sathorn Soi 3, South Sathorn Road | Thungmahamek, Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#33 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#36 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#43 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sathorn Vista, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Sathorn Vista, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments, you will enjoy the convenience of full-service Bangkok 5-star hotel facilities with the space, ambiance and privacy of residential living. Unique among 5-star hotels in Bangkok, our completely furnished apartments come with a fully equipped kitchen, housekeeping services, storage facilities, appliances, including washers and dryers, ovens and coffee makers, and 24-hour staffing, making our lodging appropriate for any length of stay. Enjoy Thai and international cuisine at our all-day-dining restaurant, MoMo Cafe, or unwind in our outdoor saltwater pool. Premier among Bangkok 5-star hotels, we offer meeting space options for intimate events. Located in the heart of the vibrant central business district, our 5-star hotel in Bangkok is conveniently accessible and near businesses, embassies, hospitals, recreation, shopping and entertainment facilities. Sala Daeng BTS Skytrain and Lumpini MRT Subway station are both within a 10-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sathorn Vista, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sathorn Vista, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments Hotel Bangkok
Marriott Executive Apartments Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing