We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the real green boutique hotel”
Review of Samsen 5 Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Samsen 5 Lodge
Ranked #241 of 756 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 June 2013

I stay in Samsen 5 Lodge for 3 days back in May. The hotel is great and the location is just greater. It is in walking distance to almost all tourist attractions in old Bangkok but it is also in old community area. The hotel is known for its environmental friendly character. I stay in a room with a view of private garden that I have never experienced. Food is great and the staff is wonderful. Surely I will tell my friends about Samsen5 Lodge especially those who care about taste and design of the hotel

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GigiGregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2013

We really enjoyed our 2-day stay at the Samsen 5 Lodge. The inn is small and cozy with clean, comfortable rooms and a friendly staff. We were drawn by the location and price, and Samsen certainly delivered on both. It is a 10-minute walk from Khao San Road, and on this walk, you will pass several nice restaurants and a few fun bars, including a small blues bar that was a real highlight for us. And Samsen is tucked away on a side street off the main road, which is very peaceful and relaxed. The price was $50 per night for two, which is exactly what we were looking to spend. In addition, the free breakfast was unexpectedly good and a great way to start the day.

Stayed: April 2013
2  Thank blackrooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We had a short stay but impress with this place. Wonderful experience staying in a heritage decoration preserved shophouse. Friendly owner makes the stay even better! Definitely to use the hotel again if we have a chance.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bksolotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We had just one night, a stop over between Burma and home to the UK and what a memorable stay! Not just a great (and quiet!) situation for accessing the sights; a characterful room and delicious 'local' breakfast but also amazing help in sourcing silk and a tailor to make up a nightshirt in the few hours we had.
If you want something different - stay here!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D-DEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Excellent experience in Samsen 5 Lodge! We stayed in Room 1 - the biggest one with China style, and it was comfortable for 3 persons (with extra bed). This was my mother's first trip to oversea and she liked this lodge quite a lot. The lodge only had 3 rooms, small but very nice!
Meanwhile, the host was quite friendly and helpful, he would provide many detail suggestions for your all concerns. We will stay here again for next trip in Thailand!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We stayed 5 nights at the Samsen 5 Lodge - a fantastic experience. Wonderful healthy breakfasts to start the day, our host was really friendly & helpful in assisting us with our queries (& he was the one who prepared the fabulous breakfasts!), our courtyard room was lovely & cool (furnished with some magic pieces), super location close to the 'cultural' attractions. All in all we would highly recommend staying there to any visitor to Bangkok.

Room Tip: The courtyard room (room 2) was cool with a lovely outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeighandDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We have a great time here, small & charming room with a good combination of decoration. Not too far from the Chaopraya river's pier-just a few minutes walk. There are not too many rooms here but in fact we like it because it does makes us feel like our private home. Great view at the river, Friendly atmosphere, and the price is very reasonable. Samsen-Location is great for us to visit the Bangkok landmarks that we expecting to see and spending time with.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank mamy1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#56 of 896 in Bangkok
1,499 reviews
Josh Hotel
#814 of 1,419 in Bangkok
7 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 896 in Bangkok
8,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#67 of 896 in Bangkok
6,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samsen 5 Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samsen 5 Lodge

Address: 58/1 Soi Samsen 5 | Samsen Road, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 756 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: £29 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Samsen 5 Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing