We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Residence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Great Residence Hotel
Ranked #632 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Overnight stay, got here early greeted by a monster of a spider in the bathroom.. Changed rooms straight away which was nice! The hotel is really quiet, but be careful of the waiter we saw him taste other peoples food inside before delivering outside and also tried to give us an old bottle of wine that was previously opened and pawned it off for the same as the first one (it wasn't)! He wasn't so professional with the bill or with the waitress (not professional under the counter which was WEIRD!!)
.. Ok for a stop over.. 150 baht to the airport which is just next door!!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank atg90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    222
    197
    73
    81
See reviews for
99
220
159
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

To my mind this is a ideal Hotel to stay over ,before you get your connecting flight. It is close to the airport, there is a free airport shuttle transport and back to the airport again..The rooms are lovely and clean,food is good, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. English is spoken at the hotel.And did i mention the tariff...unbeatable.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well placed.I always try and get a ground floor room,very convenient to get to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eugene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is a very cheap place to stay. Make sure you get it with round trip shuttle to the airport. Suvinbarum (SP) is really close. I just took the train to the airport, then went to the arrivals and EVERYONE knows the worker who will call the free van. The transportation is what makes this place so great. Van arrived within 15 minutes, and soon I was in my quiet room. My room looked over some kind of quiet fish farm. The aircon is super cold, and there is a menu in the room with 24 hour food service. The fridge has beer and snacks. Got a wake up call, then the free shuttle back to the airport, AND, this was the surprise,the airport has a FREE transfer shuttle to the Dom Muang airport!! You must show your flight plan to prove you have to transfer, but that was really a great deal! WHere else can you stay for all the benefits (I paid 24 dollars total)??????

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We arrived at lunch time and then left for a night flight - we just wanted a place to shower before our flight home so booked online in advance. The fact that we were checking out the same day caused great confusion but all was fine in the end. We had dinner at the restaurant but we were the only people and it seemed as though the kitchen was not used to having people eat there. The photos of the hotel look better than it is in real life and the pool looks far bigger than it really is. The room was pretty clean but the bathroom was very basic and not up to scratch in terms of cleanliness. Average stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DHunter8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Often call hotels/businesses in Thailand directly (wife speaks Thai) to see if there are other pricing options available vs. the internet or walk up. This one quoted her double the internet rate and flat out told her they prefer internet bookings.

The hotel website was pretty close to internet booking/reservation search engines but had a 3rd party Thai credit card handling service, which included a fee to use it but the small, fine print also indicated the hotel added an additional 3 to 4% charge for using credit cards. There was a Thai ATM payment option if booking more than 24 hours in advance. There was no Thai bank internet transfer payment system that I saw. So, first time for me, I used a popular named internet booking engine and got 749.xx Baht with two-way airport transfers, no breakfast. My US credit card reflected $23.xx, no extra fees or surprises. Sorted.

Check in was smooth, no issues, bell men lugged our cases up one floor to the room. There is no elevator/lift but the hotel is only 3 floors I believe. On entering, the side of the room with the bed was painted a trendy, pleasant color, wood trim, nice bed coverings, easy on the eyes. The opposite side of the room was from 1972, marks and dings on the wall, beat up wooden shelves holding the television, mini-fridge, etc. It's like they refurbished 1/2 the room. LOL. Anyway, it was just that the contrast was odd, but forgivable for a high-turnover, relatively low cost airport hotel, and it had no impact on the livability of the room for just 1 night. Lights, air conditioning, hot water - all worked as they should. YMMV. The bathroom was fine but do keep the door closed as a few mozzies reside down the floor drain - not uncommon in Thailand and the hotel is near a klong. Lay a towel or something over the drain. We swatted at least 4 of the little buggers and I got 1 bite on my arm at some point during the night. We live in Thailand so it didn't phase us....

Not much going on at the hotel so we went out of the car park on foot, turned left and walked down the road 5-7 minutes and came across small bars and restaurants. A short distance more, came to a major intersection/junction and found a massage place, food stalls/market and a cold store/convenience shops, all at normal Thai prices. We had nice Thai food from the market stalls and picked up some bevvies and snacks from the shop for our night in as we had an early flight next morning.

Bed was an older spring type but was fine, not uncomfortable. Wifi signal was strong, and there were the usual English language channels on the television.

Front desk provided the morning wake-up call as requested. I visited the hotel restaurant at 0630 for much needed coffee as none is provided in the room. The buffet was the Thai standard, so I gave it a miss and just had two drip/brewed coffees provided in those midget sized coffee cups hotels seem to love. The coffee was ok but the lady charged me 30 baht each. Wow! Collected the Mrs back in the room and RV'ed in the lobby for the hotel's provided airport shuttle van.

The 15 passenger mini-van shuttle was just fine, and left right on time (0700). I knew we were pretty close to the airport but i didn't see or hear any planes, so wasn't quite sure where we were exactly. Pleasantly surprised when airport came into view about 5 minutes after we left the hotel car park. We were curbside 2 minutes later and on our way into the terminal. I was expecting a longer trip but 7 minutes, that was fantastic.

We didn't have great expectations or demands, just a place to lay our heads before our flight. For less than 800 Baht, with transfers, and so close to the airport... sure, we would stay at this place again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khun J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deventer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We arrived during the night by plane, but there was still a crew member waiting for us for the pick up service. After the bus arrived at the hotel we had some guys who carried our heavy luggage to our room. The room was nice, the bed was comfortable, the linnen clean and the bathroom also. The breakfast was ok. When we went back to the airport the other morning (we were leaving from the other airport, but theres a free shuttle bus every half an hour from both airports to each other) the driver made an effort to drop us off right next to the shuttle bus, Good value for money for an airport hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirthe T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

They meet you at the airport, but the rooms aren't nice. Marked walls, no shower drain (water flows across bathroom), no kettle, hard bed.

Pool area is ok. Air con was cool enough.

But it was $25 so why am I complaining... Fine if you just need a bed between flights.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank 14714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
1.9 mi away
Siam Place Airport Hotel
Siam Place Airport Hotel
#466 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Bangkok
The Phoenix Hotel Bangkok
#287 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mariya Boutique Residence at Suvarnabhumi Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Suvarnabhumi Suite Airport Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Cottage Suvarnabhumi
The Cottage Suvarnabhumi
#374 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.5 mi away
Silver Gold Garden Suvarnabhumi Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Residence Hotel

Property: Great Residence Hotel
Address: 1892/1 Lat Krabang Road, Bangkok 10520 , Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #632 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Residence Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Great Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing