We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Great Residence Hotel delivers what it promises”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Great Residence Hotel
Ranked #662 of 861 Hotels in Bangkok
Lincoln
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Great Residence Hotel delivers what it promises”
Reviewed 5 March 2010

The Great Residence (www.thegreatresidence.com) was about a sixth of the price of the airport hotel and delivered all we needed - a clean air-conditioned room, restaurant (much more basic than the Novotel, but cheaper), foot massage, pool (not as nice surroundings as the Novotel), and extremely efficient 5 minute transfers to/from the airport in air-conditioned cars as well as a friendly welcome - surprisingly missing at the Novotel!). We would certainly go there again!
The only con for us was the noise from the corridor - something all budget hotels seem to suffer from

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    227
    201
    78
    82
See reviews for
101
225
165
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We staied one night at this hotel. The room was nice and clean. The airport pickup was not well organized, cos we didn't find the hotel representative at the discussed place. Otherwise the hotel is good value for your money throug the location. If we need to stay in Bangkok one night in the future near to the airport w'll choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balazs G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

We booked very last minute through InstantThailand.com, our confirmed booking was for the Thong Ta Resort but when we arrived at the hotel they could find no record of our reservation and were full! The reception staff liaised with the booking agency and offered us alternative rooms at the Great Residence which they told me was a partner hotel, as it was 11pm and we were departing at 4am we accepted (with more than a little trepidation). On arrival we were checked-in very quickly and in our rooms in minutes, they were spotlessly clean, well equipped and quiet. In the morning we were woken on time, checked-out in minutes and transported back to the airport. The staff at both hotels were very efficient and most helpful, despite the obvious problems with the booking we were very well looked after and the quoted price honoured. I would not normally consider this type of hotel but needed at very short notive 2 rooms for 5hrs, close to the airport and did not want to spend a fortune; for a total of BHT1560 including transfers, I was greatly impressed and would use either again. The properties and rooms may not be 5 star but they do not claim to be, the service however was well up there with the best and many more prestigious hotel groups could learn a thing or 2 from them. If you need a bed for the night close to BKK, then go for it.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDMONTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Basic, close, clean and new. Easy to find taxi driver and the drive for me was 5.5minutes! Free Wifi, and big bed. Loke most beds in SEA, a bit firm, but it was good size. Many reviews stated complaints about the lack of a lift/elevator, but it isnt a big deal. If you are handicapped and restricted, request a ground level room.

Only drawback was echoing in hallway from people coming in late and radio chatter from bellboy. Easily solved by sticking a towel under door. I used earplugs.

All in, 21USD including RT taxi, 5min transit........perfect.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleChappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

We choose this Hotel solely based on location & price . We required an inexpensive place to stay close to the airport after arriving late at night with an early am flight the next day . The hotel fulfilled this purpose as less than 10 minutes from airport . Excellent valet service to & from airport . The hotel was clean & staff cheerful though the rooms were a little noisy .The restaurant served its purpose with basic fare . The pool area is a great place to observe all the plane traffic if you're into plane spotting .

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank French-wrights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

My wife and I booked two nights in this Hotel to be nearer the airport having spent 4 glorious weeks in Thailand. This was a big mistake - we had booked a 'Superior' room, however, on check in we were taken to one of the Hotel's very basic 'standard' rooms. The reception team were unable to offer any assistance and said we had to take it or leave with no refund. We argued for over 2 hours before the manager finally agreed to let us have a 'superior' room. This was a huge disapointment after experiencing 4 weeks of fantastic Thai service. The taxi's available at the Hotel are a complete rip off. If you do stay at the hotel and need a taxi, just walk out the hotel and get a metered taxi in the town (2 minute walk). We had arranged for a friend to stay in our room on the second night, Despite requesting and securing a triple room, reception tried to insist that our friend rebook into a single room at an even greater cost. I would not reveomment this Hotel and it is a very poor example of Thai hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dufis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2010

Booked over internet direct through hotel site. They told us where to meet the pickup people in the terminal.. found them, and we were on our way to the hotel. Check in was fast and painless. Room was very clean, just sparse. Free Wifi. Ate at their restaurant, which was tasty. Reasonable prices for a hotel. The restaurant had outdoor seating, and a waiter came over with some mosquito repellent, which was really nice! The only negative was that there was a sign in the bathroom that not only shouldn't you flush sanitary products, but also toilet paper. I thought this strange and well, maybe unhygienic.
They were very efficient at getting us to and from the airport, which was really nice. Wake up call came as advertised too.
Would recommend this place only if you don't mind showering right next to your toilet (no separate shower stall, just a drain on the bathroom floor)

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seekenfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
3.5 mi away
The Cottage Suvarnabhumi
The Cottage Suvarnabhumi
#353 of 861 in Bangkok
594 reviews
3.0 mi away
Paragon Inn
Paragon Inn
#328 of 861 in Bangkok
656 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mariya Boutique Residence at Suvarnabhumi Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Bangkok
The Phoenix Hotel Bangkok
#292 of 861 in Bangkok
586 reviews
0.4 mi away
Suvarnabhumi Suite Airport Hotel
4.0 mi away
Siam Place Airport Hotel
Siam Place Airport Hotel
#539 of 861 in Bangkok
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Residence Hotel

Property: Great Residence Hotel
Address: 1892/1 Lat Krabang Road, Bangkok 10520, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #662 of 861 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Residence Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Great Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing