We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We couldn't have made a better choice than the wonderful Chatrium”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #30 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“We couldn't have made a better choice than the wonderful Chatrium”
Reviewed 19 March 2011

I booked a two bedroom suite directly with the hotel for our group of three people. We were blown away when we walked into our suite on the 16th floor and found a living room with a balcony, full kitchen, 2 bedrooms (one bedroom had a balcony overlooking the river) and 2 bathrooms. Each room had a flat screen TV, fresh orchids were placed in vases throughout the suite, robes and umbrellas were supplied and there were temperature controls at a couple locations. We also had internet service.

We enjoyed the extensive and delicious breakfast each morning with both hot and cold items. The breakfast was included in our room rate. To add to our dining pleasure, the dining room overlooked the river – simply breathtaking!

As many reviewers have noted, the Chatrium is not in the middle of the action, but we really didn’t mind and actually appreciated the quiet location. We enjoyed the Namita Spa, ice cream shop, Japanese restaurant (for snacks) and convenience store all located in the hotel complex. It probably would have been nice to have restaurants within walking distance, but we planned sufficiently, so it wasn’t an issue for us.

If you have time, treat yourself to the Namita Spa. They provide gracious and top-notch service and their massages were among the best we’ve experienced. After a day of touring, it was truly a delight to pamper ourselves with such relaxing and perfect service. You could get massages at much lower prices elsewhere, but having the Spa in the hotel complex was a treat and added convenience for us.

The river boat shuttle that’s provided by the hotel to the sky train was another great convenience. The tour company that the hotel uses was wonderful! I had to book some last minute tours (at 9pm with the desire to take a tour in the morning). All tours offered are private. We were able to customize the tour with our guide to fit our family needs. We couldn’t have been more pleased!

The only thing that wasn’t perfect was the breakfast service. The people working in the morning could have been more attentive, but that’s a minor issue compared to the awesomeness of everything else about the hotel.

If you don’t mind a hotel that’s not in the middle of downtown Bangkok, I highly recommend the wonderful Chatrium.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsasmallworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,388
    1,970
    345
    68
    33
See reviews for
1,967
3,574
458
438
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,152)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

This newer hotel is essentially a wonderful apartment. We were there for two nights but it would have been perfect for a longer stay. We traveled with our two teenagers and stayed in a family suite. 2 nice bedrooms, a great main living area with a kitchen, 2 bathrooms and two balconies. Plenty of room and nicely done.

The hotel has a free shuttle that runs every 10 minutes and can deliver you to the Central Pier just 5 minutes down the river. From there you can catch the train and get anywhere you'd like to go. Bangkok was just a short stop for us to sleep for a day after our travels from the US so we didn't do much other than hang out at the hotel pool and go on a river boat dinner cruise. Both were very enjoyable.

The breakfast buffet was amazing anything you could ever want and delicious. We enjoyed our breakfast outside by the river which was a lot of fun.

Internet services are 350 Baht per day which is unfortunate as so many hotels give you this service for free today. Regardless we would still return to this hotel and found it to be a very nice experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

I booked the 2-bedroom city view apartment last minute and got a rate of less than 5000 baht per night without breakfast through booking.com.

This is an excellent place to stay if you're looking for a competitively-priced riverside hotel in the four-star category without the bells and whistles (butler service, eight fine-dining restaurants, etc that you would find at Oriental, Peninsular and Shangri-la). Service is unobtrusive but very prompt; staff are very helpful. Location is very quiet even though it was located next to the Shrewsbury International School. No noise in rooms even though it was a large property with an attached condominium and the spaciousness means you don't feel cramped and crowded.

Grounds and public areas are lovely and spacious. Rooms are very spacious too; our unit had two bedrooms, living room with balcony, two large bathrooms (one with tub), kitchen and dining space. Three TVs with Cartoon Network for the 4 year old, movie channels for the teenagers and several news channels for the adults. Housekeeping is immaculate; while there are some minor signs of wear and tear, the property is very clean. Beds are good with ample pillows.

Pool area deserves special mention. One large lap pool, one smaller jacuzzi-type pool and a kids pool in a beautifully landscaped area with an expansive view of the river. Needless to say, the break turned into a pool-and-shop holiday!

Transport was very easy. Taxis were easily available and very cheap. About 80 baht to Siam Square and 150 baht to Chatuchak for a family of five. Surprisingly, Bangkok traffic was very smooth compared to say five years ago; there was some congestion in areas like Pratunam but we weren't stuck in massive traffic jams. If you prefer to take the Sky Train, the hotel shares a river barge with the International School so river transport to Saphan Taksin is also very prompt; less waiting time than for Oriental and Peninsular barges.

My only gripe is internet. In this day and age of free wi-fi, Chatrium is still charging for internet. So does the Starbucks downstairs. This is the only factor that would prevent me from giving this property two thumbs up.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherryjubilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

As it was the Chinese New Year I was back in Thailand and back at the Chatrium! I don't really consider other hotels these day as I get all I need from here. I think I have high standards and I'm not an easy guest to please in many ways, but I just can't fault the place: great location for me, wonderful staff, great food, great beds, great prices.

The wonderful Chatchawan and his front desk staff were bang on the money again, and it was nice to see Chatchawan remembered that I like to have an iron/board in my room: it's all in the details and that little one made me feel very welcomed and valued.

As a solo traveller I can find some places leave you a bit cold in terms of how they 'involve' you in the daily mealtimes etc, but I never have that here. A really relaxed and comfortable environment all adds to the experience, and that's what I like about staying here.

If you haven't been...GO! If you have been before...GO BACK!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eh32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We stayed twice in Chatrium Suites during our trip in Thailand. I can't think of one thing that wasn't great in this hotel! Unlike some others, we actually liked the location being 5 mins boat trip away from the hectic Bangkok. Some days we chose to drive a tuk-tuk instead of the boat, that works as well.

Staff in the hotel were extremely nice, willing to organize everything we needed during our stay. We had a large" two-bedroom, two bathroom, two balconies" apartment and it worked for us. Great views to the city and river. Beds were the most comfortable and three tvs were not too bad with three teenagers!

The breakfast was very good and we also had dinner and lunch at the hotel restaurant a few times.

Swimming pool on the 6th floor was large and during our stay we always managed to get sunbeds if we arrived shortly after breakfast. Later it was more crowded. The pool area itself is beautiful and I could have spent even more time there, but had to do some shopping and sightseeing also ;-)

As mentioned in previous reviews, there is a 7/11 market, a Starbucks cafe, a spa and a Japanese restaurant in two buildings next to Chatrium hotel which is quite nice if you feel like staying at the hotel for a change.

All in all, we had a wonderful stay and would absolutely return the next time!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onefineday11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Cyrus
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

This was our first visit to Thailand and we initially stayed in the Chatrium Suites – we were only travelling with hand baggage and moving around the country. The airport pick up was on time - even though we had booked months in advance and the flight from Amsterdam being delayed. Likewise, our Chatrium limo back to the airport was also on time; although, unsolicited, quite why the driver had to show us how fast the Merc could go is still a mystery!
Staff at the hotel were very welcoming and checking in and out was painless. We were offered an upgrade to a River View Suite for a few extra Baht per night and took up the offer.
The facilities were to a high standard, the pool and dining areas easily catered for those staying in the Suites. Dining at the Chatrium was good and the food to a high standard. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice – western or Asian food.
The hotel is well situated and the Chatrium have their own free shuttle ferry to take guests to the Central Pier – it takes about 5 minutes, where you can pick up the mass transit system and riverboat ferries, therefore getting around Bangkok from the hotel is very easy.
Internet access is available in your suite if you pay for it. Something the Chatrium should think about changing – especially with the advent of smart phones/pads. The Business Centre uses new PC’s and is more than adequate for checking eMail, printing, etc.
Our son and his wife, who had been working in a Thai charity orphanage for the previous 3 months, joined us in the Chatrium Suites for a couple of nights and also had no complaints about the service or facilities. There was a level of consistency to what the Chatrium were offering, and the price was very competitive.
If you want to see photos, have a look at www.stcyrus.net.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeadamsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We enjoyed all aspects of this hotel and would have no problems recommending to others. We used most facilities, pool, restaurant,shuttle service all exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnHolidays247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 858 in Bangkok
8,123 reviews
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#102 of 858 in Bangkok
4,266 reviews
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Property: Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Address: 28 Charoenkrung Soi 70 | Bangkholame, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing