We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury riverside accommodations; moderate price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #28 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Luxury riverside accommodations; moderate price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I have stayed in Bangkok at least a dozen times and this is my absolute favorite place to stay. The one room suites are spacious and well equipped (with the amenities of a refrigerator, microwave oven and kitchen sink). Also complimentary wifi. It is on the river and a short complimentary shuttle boat ride to the Central Pier where you can connect to other river boats and public sky train system. The hotel provides an exceptional complimentary breakfast buffet. The other meals - buffet and a la carte are also very good. The Chinese Restaurant in the hotel is outstanding and the views from all restaurants are great. The hotel also has a very large infinity pool - the recreation deck is beautiful.

Room Tip: A river view room is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,252
    1,925
    339
    65
    33
See reviews for
1,907
3,502
449
429
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Had a great stay at this hotel. We had a suite with living room and kitchenette. Room was very clean. View from balcony was amazing. There was a hot pot in the room for coffee and tea. There is a Starbucks and 7-Eleven with ATM machine close by. Breakfast was included and was a buffet with plenty of choices. The front desk and concierge staff were very helpful. It was convenient to get to public transportation. The hotel has a ferry that ferries you to close to the public dock as well as the sky train. Really have no complaints and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeae007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Recently stayed here for work and the rooms were fantastic and the service was good. It was great having a suite for work purposes, the rooms were clean and with very good amenities. The staff at the front desk and the restaurant were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hos2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We have stayed at many of the 5 star Hotels along the Chao-Phraya and this one compares favourably with most.

It doesn't have the elegance, or service standards, of the Oriental or the Peninsular. But it is a good choice for anyone seeking sanctuary within a City location; with space to relax and enjoy great views of the river at close quarters.

Chose high floor, river view rooms (deluxe or suites)
The rooms have a kitchenette, which we didn't have need for; but I would imagine would come in very useful for families (especially as there is a small supermarket just a short walk from the Hotel, opposite the International school)

The rooms aren't as plush as some of their contemporaries, but who spends much time in a City Hotel room, apart from Honeymooners ?

The River Barge restaurant serves the usual high quality breakfasts seen at all 5 star Bangkok Hotels. You can sit inside, with aircon; or outside with riverside views.

The River Barge restaurant also doubles as a nightime restaurant venue. It definitely is a pleasant place to spend an evening riverside, with twinkling lights and soft jazz music.
Service was a bit slow (there seemed to be a shortage of staff when we were there.)
The magical ambience seemed to compensate for this, however.

The pool area was very good indeed. Excellent view of the river, spacious and relaxing.

I would say that the Royal Orchid Sheraton has the slightly better poolside options.
However, for a short City stay, the Chatrium pool area would please most guests looking for refuge from the hustle and bustle outside.

Like all riverside Hotels, the Chatrium has a courtesy river shuttle to take you to the all-important Sathorn pier. (convenient for boat ferries and the BTS Saphan Taksin skytrain)

The Hotel was better than we anticipated.The staff were pleasant, friendly and efficient.
(even more so, the staff at the Chinese Silver Waves restaurant)

We would definitely add it to our return visit options.(and we're fussy)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kevinandjulie409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Where do I start with this hotel? It is a 4 star hotel but should really be classed as a 5 star!!
We stayed in the Hansar hotel, which is classed as a 5 star but it doesn't have a patch on the service in the Chatrium! 

Pros: 
Suites are huge.
Unbelievable view.
Lovely balcony.
Friendly staff that try to do everything they can for you.
Rooftop pool.
Massive breakfast selection-fruits, cereals, sausages, rashers etc. and asian - I even saw vindaloo one morning!
The hotel even has their own free boat service to the sky train. 
The hotel arranged for a blacked out jeep to bring us to a tailors the first night and then to a restaurant.

Cons:  
Bit far away from everything but so are all riverside hotels...
No kitchen pots. We asked for these during our stay and never heard back  which I thought was poor!
We ordered room service and 3 phone calls and 2 hours later it arrived...cold!
This lets the hotel down considering how brilliant everything else is!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvermouse82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

This time we only stayed 3 nights. We were on the 32nd floor the room had a fantastic 180 degree view. If you pay a little extra, its very good value for money with benefits. We had second to none service from all the staff from check-in to check-out.
Our thanks to you all. Tharon- Arranged a day's Fishing for us at our request but we couldn't take it up as we didn't leave ourselves enough time.
Kim - Sorted out our photo disk which was not working on the system. Thank you guy's for all your help!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 32nd floor are well worth paying that little extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SufolkFrequentflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brea
Level Contributor
71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed in this lovely hotel for 5 nights during February 2012. The lobby and the grounds are very beautiful. We were asked to wait in the lobby while they got our reservation. That took a little longer than expected. During the check-in process they tried to upsell us a room with a view for a sizable amount - which we refused. Then we were escorted to our room by one of the employees who showed us all the amenities in the room. The room was very large and really nice. it was like a little studio with a kitchen (did not use). We asked about the in-room internet access and within a few minutes another employee showed-up with the password information. The wi-fi was very good and we had no problems with access. The breakfast buffet was wonderful with many western and local selections. They have a shuttle boat that runs quite frequently and takes you to the "tourist boat" stop where you can also catch the sky-train. They can arrange tours for you, but I do not recommend it as you can get the same tours in town for a much lower price. All in all it was a lovely stay. If I ever visit Bangkok again I will surely stay at the Chatrium!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovestotravelCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#99 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,141 reviews
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Property: Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Address: 28 Charoenkrung Soi 70 | Bangkholame, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#26 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travelbag, TravelUp, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing