We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A balance between the crazy shopping and relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #28 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A balance between the crazy shopping and relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Room is big, compared to most of the standard room in Bangkok, with balcony to enjoy the panoramic view of the Chao Phraya River. Highly recommended to choose room with river view and in high floor. It is clean and tidy, but not luxurious. Breakfast is average, but I loved the restaurant with high ceiling. Location of the hotel is great. Honestly, it is not in the heart of the city. But you just have to spend about 20 min (ferry 5 min + BTS 15 min)to go back to the crazy shopping area. It is suitable for family with young kids, just like me. Last time, children spent the whole morning in the infinity pool while my wife traveled to the department store nearby. And I enjoyed the sun-bath and the attractive scenery of the Chao Phraya River.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackleJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,225
    1,917
    339
    65
    33
See reviews for
1,894
3,489
446
429
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Let me begin by reinforcing the comments made by others that this is one of three adjacent luxury condominium buildings that has been converted to a hotel and therefore somewhat different that your classic 5-star hotel.

Our flight got in early and the rooms were not available when we got to the property which is what we had expected. We were warmly received and we left our luggage with them and proceeded to go into Bangkok starting with their boat shuttle to the nearby hub for the Chao Praya Express river boats and the BTS Skytrain. This makes the property very accessible through mass transit.

We had booked a 2 bedroom suite and were upgraded from a city view to a river view unit with a breathtaking view of the river when we got back. They took us to oour suite and completed the paperwork there instead of having us wait at Reception. The suite itself was very spacious indeed with completely modern and luxurious furnishings including a large living area with a kitchenette and a full size fridge. It also had an exterior balcony.

Breakfast was a lavish multi-cuisine buffet and seating was both inside and outside along the river on the ground floor.

They have a full service restaurant on the top floor that we did not eat at. There is a Starbucks and a 7-11 on premises and the "Asiatique The Riverfront" shopping/dining/entertainment complex is nearby.

Even though this was the high season (Christmas to New Year), I thought the price was reasonable for what we got especially when we compare it to other places in Thailand we stayed at during this trip.

If I had to identify an area of improvement, it is that the breakfast selections seemed to be the same every day. Since we were there for only 3 days, this was not a problem since we just ate from different sections every day.

We will happily stay at the Chatrium at future visits.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BayAreaGuySanJose_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed here for one night at the end of the Year 2012. It was the peak season, crowned.

Our room was big and clean. The room type Grand Suite Two-Bedroom City View.
Free Wifi in room. Two water bottles free.

Pool - Very good but small.
Staff - helpful and friendly. Free parking.
Breakfast - Excellent.

The hotel has it's own river boat to the Taksin Pier where you can continue either Sky Train or other boat. Time Mon - Sun (6.00-24.00) from Chatrium Pier to Saphan Taksin Pier every 15 minutes.

I would recommend this hotel for people who love the location.

Room Tip: River view and higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imagesetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 days with my wife. The best compliment I can give is that we felt immediately at home with the kindness and professionalism of the staff. The suite where we stayed was spacious and had a great view to the river. I strongly recommend a visit to the restaurant either to enjoy an excellent buffet breakfast or a romantic dinner facing the river. I will sure return.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner suite with river view and just stay in bed, after waking up, enjoying the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose Carlos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

This was our third visit to Bangkok but compared to our stays in the previous Hotels, our stay at Chatrium Hotel Riverside was most enjoyable & relaxing.The location is right on the bank of Chao Phraya River & the view from the river facing rooms, is breathtaking.The room was specious & had small kitchenette.Even the Bathroom was fairly large.The towels & bed linens were changed everyday, besides replenishment of Tea/Coffee pouches & drinking water bottles.
The staff at the Reception counter as well as in the restaurant is courteous & overall service is very good.A special mention is about the Lady Front Office Manager at the Reception who was very prompt & helpful. She herself took the trouble of showing our room at the time of check-in & made good the deficiency as per our request in no time. With the regular & complementary shuttle boat service provided by the hotel till mid night is a great service. With the help of Sky train, one can reach the heart of the city in less than half an hour after boarding the boat. The Asiatique Riverfront where one can experience various cuisines & good ambience is at walking distance.
We found that the breakfast has excellent spread & caters widely to different tastes. One can enjoy the waterfront sitting outside of the Riverside Restaurant during breakfast as well dinner.
At the open-air swimming pool on the sixth floor, besides swimming,with the cool breeze , a good book is quite relaxing,.Overall this Hotel with its fabulous location, is value for the money.

Room Tip: Selecting a Room facing the River is certainly value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VINAY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Here in TripAdvisor are hundreds of reviews where Chatrium Riverside Hotel is praised extremely. However part of the reviewers are very disappointed. The reason is the misunderstanding that Chatrium Riverside would be a five star hotel. It is not, it's probably the the very high standard apartment hotel with high quality services. Very Mediterranean feeling.

The visitors are not usual 5 star hotel guests and them Chatrium Riverside is superb. Those who know the 5 star standard are mostly disappointed.

We were staying 9 nights during Christmas - New Years Eve. The reason why we booked the Chatrium Riverside Hotel was the price, we got one bedroom suite for the same price like a standard room from other riverside hotel.

It was the peak season, hotel was very crowded. Breakfast buffet, elevators and especially the pool area were overcrowded. Breakfast buffet was average, but not very special. The service was average, but average service in Thailand is normally excellent. Our room was excellent and the view from 27th floor was outstanding. We enjoyed a lot while watching river traffic and looked like the fireworks were meant for us. Hotel has it's own river boat to the Thaksin Pier where you can continue either Sky Train or other boat.

There's a small 7/11, Starbucks and Spa in a complex. Nightmarket Asiatique is easily available by the river boat or by walking.

If you are staying in Bangkok more than two nights and you are travelling with kids, I definitely recommend Chatrium Riverside Hotel for you. Especially outside the peak season it's a good choice.

Room Tip: Book a river view. Higher the floor, better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Timo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

WOW! My friends and I stayed at the Chatrium hotel for 2 nights at the 2 bedroom corner suite river view suite located on the 24th floor.
It was breathtaking! the room is spacious and the bathroom is so comfortable!
It was nothing short of amazing!
Check in was a bit slow but the magnificence of the room made it up!
We plugged our ipod and the party started! "Hangover 2" has nothing on us!! haha
The staff is friendly and they show you all around the room and tell you how to use every bit of it, the bed is very comfortable and there are curtain blackouts. We totally used the bathtub after a long day of walking and touring the city! It was a great luxury experience! The best thing about the hotel is the boat shuttle service that is free of charge and run from 8 am till midnight so its very easy to cross over to the other side of the river and a catch the BTS sky train. There is also a 7-11 just at the entrance of the hotel and a Starbucks right next to it! With regards to the location there is no attraction within walking distance of it however a tuk tuk or a taxi can solve anything! Bottom line: Our experience was nothing but amazing!

Room Tip: Riverside view room is worth the money! The suite is very comfortable and fun if you are a group 4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sirineg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 852 in Bangkok
7,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#99 of 852 in Bangkok
4,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Property: Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Address: 28 Charoenkrung Soi 70 | Bangkholame, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#26 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing