We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair price for a nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #28 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fair price for a nice hotel”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Last leg of our trip we stayed at the Chatrium for one night. We had been at the Lebua prior. The Lebua is swank but the Chatrium is good value for the money and their breakfast is the best we had.

Many people flagged that cab drivers don't know where the Chatrium is and this is sadly true, make sure to always carry the hotel card with you that has their tel # and map, it can be quite the challenge, especially if your cab driver speaks no English AT ALL but eventually you'll get there.

Note of caution ... they'll try to "upgrade" you to a larger room with two twin beds vs. the King or Queen you bought, be firm about not wanting this. We were firm and ended up getting the room we wanted. Hi ... we're on our honeymoon ... two twin beds? Really?!?

The staff is very nice and accommodating, for instance, our flight was leaving at 1 am, which meant unless we were paying for an extra night's stay, we were going to be sweaty and gross getting on that plane, and they let us use the fitness facility to shower before our departure, which was very nice and saved us the extra night's stay.

The breakfast was excellent, lots of variety facing the River and the location was great, river boat shuttle to take you to the main dock and subway station.

Overall ... great hotel and good value.

Room Tip: Insist on not having them change your room to a "larger" room which means two twin beds if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golnar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,369
    1,964
    344
    68
    33
See reviews for
1,955
3,563
457
436
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,149)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

My wife and I stayed here for four nights in late August 2012 and loved the experience. We had a higher floor room with a lovely view of the Chao Praya river...as a bonus there were fireworks on the riverfront on one of these nights (No not courtesy the hotel...)...The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the service excellent and the Thai hospitality is evident (perhaps a bit 'diluted' in the city as compared to, say, Phuket). Dinner by the riverfront is an excellent option. The ferry service to Saphin Taksin is available every 15 minute and we used the river ferry for multiple trips...including one to Ayudhyya..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josh_operator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

The rooms are huge! At least ours is. Its like a 600 sq. Ft condo with a kitchen.

The location is off the beaten path but its away from the chaos and is extremely peaceful at night, so that is really desirable. They have a free boat shuttle to the main pier where you can go to the market or go see all the temples (wat arun, reclining buddha..) and the grand palace.

The staff are so nice and helpful. I really love Thai people and my father and i are already planning a trip back. We hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tahnya110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I spent the weekend with my boyfriend who booked a room at Chatrium on the river. The hotel overbooked themselves that night so we were upgraded to a suite for the inconvenience, just for the night. We had to move the following day to another room, not a problem.

The hotel is nice, the location is great. HOWEVER, the staff in regards to reception, dining, bar lacked the class this hotel would pride itself on. We went over to the bar for a drink, and the server behind the bar looked as though we were inconvenient on her time. As we asked for the bill, she walked away. My boyfriend and I looked at each other wondering if maybe she didn't hear us, but she did as she came back with it. We requested a taxi, and two times other people had walked in front of us taking the cab knowing we were sitting and waiting. Ok, that's fine not a big deal. Concierge told us our cab was on the way, we were patient, we observed, we saw other people take the cab. No worries, took mental note.

For breakfast, we had to ask for coffee as no one came up to us to offer any as well no one really smiled who worked there. It is a lovely hotel, the rooms are nice, the wifi lacks as it disconnects quite a bit, and the price for the food is a bit over rated. Overall I do think it's a great place, but the staff speak for the hotel to which it didn't leave the greatest impression.

Room Tip: River view room is recommended. We stayed 2113 and enjoyed the panoramic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingYoginista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed here for three nights in early February 2013.
We had booked a club room with river view but were upgraded to a river view suite on the 33rd floor.
The suite was great, a large sitting room with a large balcony overlooking the river. Our bedroom had glass walls on two sides to give another great river view.
We ate a couple of times in the hotel restaurant and were very impressed with the quality and quanitity of the food, although the service was a little slow. The buffet breakfast were as you would expect for a hotel of this standard, with more choice than many others we have stayed in.
The river boat connecting with the Skytrain station is really good, and it was well used.
Overall we found the hotel to be a quiet relaxing haven in a very busy city.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaz-n-Dave32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location if you plan on visiting the main temples of Bangkok as these are located on the Chao Praya river. The hotel offers a free boat shuttle to a main boat hub / Bts Saphin taksin station. One way takes about 5 minutes and the shuttle runs every 15 minutes, except from 10:00 to 14:00 (every 30 minutes) This service is very punctual. The rooms are great, lots of space, properly maintained, with all the amenities needed. The rooms have balconies, it is worth taking the river view. The only negative point in the room are the beds, altough quite comfortable I woke up every moning completely wet from sweat, probably due to the hollofill bedding. The rooms are soundproof, in contrary to other comments I could not hear any noise with the windows closed (18th floor) The breakfast buffet is great, with something for every taste and good quality food. I can really recommend to try out the River Barge evening buffet with an outstanding choice of high quality foods, it is really nice to sit near the river and enjoy a nice meal.
I did not try out the Chinese restaurant on the 36th floor. The hotel is situated in a quite neighborhood, so there is not much else around in the evening. The Asiatique shopping arcades are a 15 minutes walk away, the food there is quite expensive (european prices) the opening times are rather limited, from 18:00 to 23:00. I can really recommend this hotel for a Bangkok trip, as after a long day of sightseeing you can relax at the very nice swimming pool. The length 25-30 m allows you to really go for a swimming workout.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in December and were utterly disappointed. Had we not arranged for our friends (with young baby) to stay at the same hotel, we wouldn't even have bothered checking in. We know Bangkok quite well and so knew when booking that the hotel was not in the centre of town, but we decided we'd compromise on the location because the hotel was so well reviewed on TripAdvisor...unfortunately the hotel doesn't live up to it's reviews.

The hotel is on the river and so there are lovely views from the river-front rooms. The rooms are generous in size, but unfortunately they weren't very clean and in general the hotel has a cheap and un-loved feel to it. "Luxurious" and "pampered" (from previous reviews) are certianly not words I'd use to describe The Chatrium, I'm thinking more along the lines of "cheap" and "tired". It's quite a big hotel and as a result breakfast was a bit of a scrum, as was getting a sun-lounger by the pool. Having said that, the breakfast buffet had a decent selection and the pool itself is a good size, there's just not enough loungers for the number of guests. There is a decent gym with a few treadmills and the usual array of exercise equipment. WiFi is free but the service is intermittent so it was incredibly frustrating to use. Every 5 minutes the connection would be lost and we'd have to go through the process of logging back in. And there was a similar problem with the phones. The meals provided in the restaurant downstairs and through room service were pretty average and as it's a bit of a trek to get anywhere else to eat, your options are very limited. Also, as good as it is to have a kitchen, as no utensils or other items are provided to enable you to actually cook it's all a bit pointless really. And to top it off the beers that were provided in our mini bar were 12 months out of date - nice!

All of the above would be somewhat forgiveable if the hotel was reasonably cheap, but it isn't! There's such a huge selection of good and well-priced serviced apartments in Bangkok, I find it hard to understand how the Chatrium Hotel Riverside can be so high in the TripAdvisor ratings and I can only suggest that it's one to be avoided.

Room Tip: You definitely want a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BritneySW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 858 in Bangkok
8,101 reviews
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#102 of 858 in Bangkok
4,254 reviews
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Property: Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Address: 28 Charoenkrung Soi 70 | Bangkholame, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#26 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Travelbag, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing