We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not amazing, but pretty good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #27 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not amazing, but pretty good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

The good:
- Big room
- Free Wi-Fi
- Great views of the river
- Polite and friendly service

The bad:
- Bathroom isn't cleaned to a particularly high standard. Same dirt in the same places (some plainly visible) day after day after day.
- Had to continuously ask for new shower gel, even though old stuff had run out when the cleaner turned up

4* hotel with 2* cleaning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LincolnGMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,143
    1,893
    336
    63
    32
See reviews for
1,847
3,448
445
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,081)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leucadia, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

My boyfriend and I are in are mid to late twenties and we stayed at Chatrium this past May. The hotel honestly fell short for us. We assumed it was going to be very nice staying on riverside. Well Chatrium was just not for us. The room was large (even has its on kitchen) and we had amazing views but the bathroom was dirty with mildew and some mold (not horrible but noticeable especially when a hotel claims to be a 4 to 5 star hotel). The staff were not the warmest, we had some issues with our international phone and had to go through 3 different staff members to help us (note some do not speak English or Thai...they recruit from the international school next door). I don't know if I am being sensitive or if we were just jaded because we had just came from Siem Reap, Cambodia where were staying in a 3.5 star hotel (Golden Temple) with the best hospitality service I have ever had in southeast Asia. So I guess that is a relative issue. Aside from that I was disappointed that there was no real bar (other than one 5 seater in the lobby and a pool bar). We caved and went to the pool bar and a Chang (in a can) costs $10 USD. Luckily there is a 711 next door. But seriously, I don't mind coughing up some $ for a drink at a nice bar with some ambience or cool vibe/views. However I do mind when it's at a crappy pool bar. There is no real restaurants or bars around the hotel. You have to take the ferry to the main dock and hop on the BTS. If you are young and want some fun and a little luxury stay in Silom or Sukhumvit. Riverside is just not what it's cut out to be unless you are one of those people who don't want to leave the hotel. Or if you have little kids and need lots of space. In that case the Chatrium is probably perfect for you.

Room Tip: Grand Riverview Room for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderlustingyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Perfect location, with views along the Chao Praya River. The staff were very welcoming, helpful and friendly; from check in to departure. I particularly liked the way the taxis were organised on departure; with the hotel staff negotiating with the cab driver for a metered fare to the airport rather than leaving it to the guest/passenger. A strong point of this hotel compared to others along the river is that the shuttle boat leaves every 15 minutes. The boat takes guests to Saphan Thaksin Skytrain station, which makes for a very convenient trip to the main downtown shopping areas and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room, rather than city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bailao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed here for only a night after our Kanchanaburi trip before flying off. Was very glad to be upgraded to a one bedroom suite, overlooking the city and a teeny weeny bit of the river view. My request for a higher floor was also complied with.
The free shuttle boat ride to Saphan Taksin Pier is very interesting and enjoyable if you are using it for the first time. Waiting period is also not long. As you come out from Saphan Taksin Pier, walk around there and you will be able to see many street peddlers selling all kinds of food. I bought pancakes from one of the stalls and they were fantastic. Since I booked the room via the hotel website which did not come with breakfast, I decided to buy a few extras so that I could eat in the morning before going to the airport. Room is equipped with a microwave which is handy. Breakfast in the room was so relaxing! Sipping coffee and enjoying the spectacular view.
If the 15 mins walk to Asiatique is far for you, what you can do is to take the free shuttle boat to Saphan Taksin and from there take the Asiatique boat. However, be warned that the queue is very long.
Although the room was not immaculately clean, it is very minor, considering the pros. Internet access is good with 3 different passwords for 3 people! Asked for extra bedroom slippers and shower gel and was given a generous amount!
It's a shame that time did not permit me to stay for another night. The room is very comfortable with a spectacular view. It only takes around 30 minutes to the Don Muang airport which costs 500 baht including toll.

Room Tip: Better view if you are in higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed 2 nights here and had an amazing first time in Bangkok as a result. Our 'river-view, grand room' was superb, with an amazing view from the balcony. Very convenient travel into the centre of the city - just use their free and frequent shuttle boat to Central and take a 30-minute scenic boat trip. Or 25 minutes of madness back in a Tuk-Tuk. All staff were very professional and friendly. The pool is *amazing*; I swim very regularly and felt I could easily have swum for an hour every morning if I wanted to. Also, go to their restaurant 'Silver Waves' as it's also superb.

Slight negatives: the safe in the room didn't seem to be working properly (but I'm sure they would've sorted this out if we cared more), and the trip to the international airport by public transport has a few steps to it. Also, after spending a lot of time in other Thai toilets I'd grown accustomed to a cleaning hose, and there was none here :( But this is nitpicking.

Great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

first time staying at this hotel , at first its seen bit far from the downtown area ! but after check in the hotel the staff let me know that the hotel provide free boat service to the subway ! its really helpful!
its only take few station to
the downtown area!!! about 10~15 min ride!!!!
the river view room is really good,its big and have a nice view !!!!!!!!!
the view are so nice!!!
the hotel staff are really friendly n helpful !!
only thing need to know when you booked your room from the hotel web site hot deal its not included the breakfast !!!
By the way its stall really one of the best hotel in Bangkok!!!!!
A Must try hotel of the year !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

I stayed there in June and had a fabulous experience. We had a late check-in and was upgraded to a suite with a bedroom and separate living room and kitchen. My favorite part of the hotel was the breakfast buffet - I could've spent hours in there! The boat shuttle was very convenient in getting up the river to the old city. The concierge was also very helpful, giving us tips on how to get around like a local and save money. The accommodations were luxurious and well-kept.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,786 reviews
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#94 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Property: Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Address: 28 Charoenkrung Soi 70 | Bangkholame, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Holiday Gems so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing