We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value For Money Lodgings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #29 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Bombay
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Value For Money Lodgings”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We were were for a weekend in May 2013.
The hotel is located on the river and has a very frequent boat service to the BTS station about 10mins away (in fact, if you want to get to the royal palace etc...., one get off at the same stop as that for the BTS station and catch a water taxi which will get you there in about 20 odd minutes if I remember right). Bangkok road traffic can suck and the waterway proved to be a much more dependable means of transport
The rooms are large with a comfortable bathroom. We had taken a river facing room and the view was always interesting
Breakfast has a lot of options including chinese, Indian and the regular continental stuff. Was quite a welcome break after the sparse breakfasts one is served in Europe
The pool is huge and the guys also sent us a complimentary birthday cake as it was our wedding anniversary...
The hotel is situated on a very well known road and hence is a taxi driver's delight. Insist on travelling by meter the very first time you travel so that you get a fair idea of the actual costs That way you can estimate whether you are being fleeced or not when a cabbie tells u a fixed sum stating bad traffic etc.
All in all a large, business hotel which can service even a family/couple's needs
Cheers
T

Room Tip: River facing rooms are much much better than the city facing ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanyasdrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmchatrium, General Manager at Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Cheers to your wonderful description of your stay back in May as well for the recognition of being value for money. I am also glad to see you have enjoyed the variety of food we have available on our breakfast buffet and I can only concur with you that it is a wonderful experience doing some sightseeing via river taxis as well as being a time saver what with the traffic at certain times in Bangkok.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes

Adrian Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,306
    1,948
    342
    66
    32
See reviews for
1,934
3,531
453
431
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,136)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cranbrook, bc, canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Great Location. Very friendly staff. This is my 9th trip for business to Thailand and I believe this to be the best value for your money in Bangkok. Room, food, pool, access to BTS, 5 minute walk to street vendors, Starbucks close by (is that a positive/), 7-11 close by for those forgotten items. Staff that speaks English very well. Will return again next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rival10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmchatrium, General Manager at Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely feedback and for the recognition of having friendly staff and that we are the best value for money here in Bangkok. It has always been our aim to provide a level of service that is super user friendly and to be recognised as being great value for money, so again, many many thanks for the recognition.
Taking note you plan to return next year and as a repeat guest, please do drop me an email to adrian.bro@chatrium.com as it would be a pleasure in providing you with a preferred room rate.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Located in the wonderful Chaophraya River bend of Bangkok , lovely scene sunset and sun rising. Lovely wonderful Shuttle BOAT!!! Be Warned for CAR!!! best time to travel there after 21.00 after jammed From famous tourist point ASIATIQUE , Once checked into the room , it's big room for the price , clean , bathroom and bathtub is alright , bed is caused my backache , due to bend mattress Nice big serviced apartment type room.
International breakfast including Indian !! , all hostess were with friendly smile on their faces , keep asking for filling up for coffee and tea all time , such a lovely serviced mind. Street food vendor in the morning is great for noodle , Chinese style local street vendor , such a lovely cuisine and lovely style when it comes to mixed culture between Thai and Chinese .

For the area ,it pier area for commercials and trading from old time until now. Crowed but kind of beautiful eastern lifestyle scene .

Coming back ? --Hmmmm , preferable looking around others for same price .
Khobkhun ka

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sexyychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmchatrium, General Manager at Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
It is certainly nice to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and many thanks for the feedback. I am very sorry we have not convinced you to return and that you would like to try other hotels at a similar price. That said, I would be very interested to hear your comparison when you stay in another similar hotel as it is always our aim to be the best value for money here in Bangkok. Please, when you do have any feedback don't hesitate to email me on adrian.bro@chatrium.com
Looking forward to hearing from you soon.

best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Rooms = amazing: huge and clean.
staff = amazing: helpful and friendly.
location = great (free shuttle boat to main pier for connection to sky train and river boats)
food = great we tried the pool bar and had dinner by the river both really good food and value.
pool = beautiful and relaxing.
we used the spa in the 2nd tower next door and it was a great way to unwind after a 12hr flight.
the 7eleven in the 3rd tower is really handy.
i would recomend this hotel to everyone i know it was pure bliss, im allready planning to return with my family :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franckeiss23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmchatrium, General Manager at Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Just a quick note to say thank you very much for your wonderful comments and picking up that you plan to return with your family, when you have arranged the dates please drop me an email to adrian.bro@chatrium.com as it would be a pleasure in making some special arrangements for you and your family.
Looking forward to welcoming you back next year but in the meantime , I look forward to liaising with you through email.

Best wishes
Adrian Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I was really surprised by this hotel. It was really cheap but it is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Rooms are huge, service is great, location is pretty great too. There are private boats all day that take you to other piers and subway stations. Hotel felt luxurious and clean, and the rooftop pool is very good. Excellent cost-benefit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmchatrium, General Manager at Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
As a 5 star hotel along the river, we are certainly not the cheapest but we do pride ourselves on being the best value for money here in Bangkok. The price one pays verses the size of our rooms and suites combined with the level of natural warm and friendly service is certainly second to none and many thanks for the recognition.
Please, when next travelling to Bangkok please do drop me a note to adrian.bro@chatrium.com

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
276 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I read such great reviews about the Chatrium, that I booked my first few days in Bangkok there. I reserved a much upgrade suite and requested two beds, as I was traveling with my son. When we arrived, the room was a single bed and we were told it did not include breakfast. We were moved to a different room, but as with the first one we were taken to, the white sofa was badly stained. The bathroom also had dark spots that looked moldy in the shower. Still, the room had a spectacular view and the beds were very comfortable. In general, the room seemed clean, but a little used.
Other positives include a really nice breakfast buffet (which we paid for separately at about $20 each). The Executive Chef was very wise about the offerings and I couldn't ask for anything more. The ferry was easy to take and the staff was quite good. I would recommend this hotel as a great value, but the rooms could use a little more attention.

Room Tip: Get a top floor with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank labonnevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmchatrium, General Manager at Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations in some areas of cleaning within your suite and for the issue about the twin beds and for this, please accept my most sincere apologies. Rarely does one find any positives after such experiences yet you have kindly recognised us as being of great value and that you would continue to recommend us and for this I have to say thank you to you.
Wanting to show that we are much better than your recent experience would suggest, the next time you are travelling to Bangkok, please drop me an email to adrian.bro@chatrium.com as it would be a pleasure in having you back as my guest.

Yours sincerely

Adrian Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providenciales, TCI, BWI
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Itravel about 40,000 miles a year and while this hotel is O.K it certainly does not stand out in a crowd. I guess it depends what your expectations are. I had a one bedroom suite on the 32nd floor. The bedroom carpet had a few stains. The room amenities were very good. The executive club had very limited nibbles and drinks were on the low order of merit, Johnny Walker Red label. The restaurant downstairs offered a filet steak ordered medium. When it arrived it was well done and it literally could not be cut with the knife I had. The knife was exchanged for another one to no avail. I am not saying the hotel is bad just not up to my expectations. There has got to be a lot better on offer in Bangkok.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJS32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmchatrium, General Manager at Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
I am terribly sorry that we have not met your expectations and for this , please accept my most sincere apologies. The attention to detail in terms of our cleanliness was obviously not there as well as the attention of understanding how you had requested your steak to be cooked.
This is certainly not a level of service we want to be recognised for and again, my most sincere apologies.
Knowing we are better than that and wanting an opportunity to demonstrate this, please do drop me a note to adrian.bro@chatrium.com as it would be an absolute pleasure in welcoming you back as my guest and I look forward to the day I am able to do this.

Yours sincerely

Adrian Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#102 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,189 reviews
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Property: Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Address: 28 Charoenkrung Soi 70 | Bangkholame, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#26 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Southall Travel, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing