We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #26 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We loved the fact that the hotel is on the river. Bangkok is a busy city, and the river location gave respite from the crowding and hustle and bustle. The Chatrium boat going to the Skytrain every 15 to 30 minutes made getting around easy. Our room was clean except for a bit of mold in the shower--just in the corner of the shower pan. The view was good from the 11th floor, but would have been spectacular, I'm sure, had we been higher. That said, we were given the courtesy of a very early check-in--something like 10 AM instead of the usual 2 PM, and for that we were very grateful and appreciative. Thank you, Jakkie for that. Breakfast buffet was very good, and we were glad that we had factored that into our rerservation. Otherwise, food services were expensive. We would stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank B0gan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,187 - 4,193 of 8,201 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

On first impressions the hotel looked like it used to be brand new, but now had slightly lost it's sheen.

The location of this hotel is wonderful. It's on the right side of the river and has a starbucks and 7-11 located a minute walk away.

When checking in the service was excellent! We had come from an awful experience elsewhere and the change was much appreciated.

The check in desk took us to our rooms, and gave a a fistful of free Wi-Fi codes for out stay and were incredibly helpful.

But the room had a slightly strange smell which was bothering us so we requested if something could be done about it. We were leaving the room and left the message with the front desk.

Unfortunately when we returned nothing had been done, so we called down to the front desk again. Here was where a language barrier became apparent. It took 3 phonecalls back and forth until someone realised our issue.

Finally someone came up with air fresher and sprayed pretty much all the fabric in the living room.

We left it at that and the next day the smell remained. Again, another phone call, and again nothing happened.

FInally a plumber came to room and did not know what the problem was. Eventually we managed to contact someone on the front desk who could understand and they offered to switch out room.

This solved the problem, but it was a shame it took so long to settle.

The restaurant on the top floor, Silverwaves, had really good dim sum ala carte buffer. I love Chinese food and this place was excellent. The value was good, the food excellent, the service superb, the staff amazing with recommendations, friendly.....seriously, this is the highlight of the hotel, EXCELLENT staff, when you get them! Plus it had a very high up view of the river

The breakfast was excellent, great variety plenty of excellent choices.

The concierge staff weren't the greatest. Asked for a few different pieces of advice and they weren't really forthcoming with good recommendations. Honestly this is the mark of a great hotel, good concierge, which this place lacked.

The shuttle buses ran fairly regularly, but the fact they did not include Asiatique in the evenings while other hotel shuttle buses do is an oversight. Traffic to Asiatique is insane, we were told it is a 20min walk or a 20min cab ride. Same route, and we did the

We ordered a few times from room service, and this was brilliant service as well, quick, excellent choice and well cooked food.

The swimming pool was superb, large and has wonderful sun on it in the mornings.

When it is good, the place is excellent, but when it is not, it is very lacking.

Room Tip: River view is a must, corner rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hiphopsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Booked in for 3 nights at the Chatrium, which was a mistake. We should have stayed longer. Ideally situated as the hotel shuttle ferry takes you to the Skytrain and the main river ferry service in just a few minutes. Much more pleasant than battling through the traffic in a taxi! Room was great, Trailfinders offer upgraded us to a river view room, well worth booking in advance for. Staff charming, food excellent, although one morning we did have a long wait , and on the first day our room wasn't serviced until about 6pm.
There is an excellent tailor next door, who made me a couple of silk blouses in less than 24 hours, the quality of which were as good as the tailor we'd been taken to by one of our guides.
Just amazing value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a river view, the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 633Val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmchatrium, General Manager at Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Hopefully you will not make that same mistake again by staying with us longer when you next plan to stay in Bangkok. Your comments are wonderful especially in light of your room not being made up before 6.00 pm and the waiting for tables I presume at breakfast and for which I would like to apologise for.
This is certainly not an excuse but we have certainly been challenged in the past week or so what with the unexpected increase in business levels.Under such circumstances, it makes your wonderful comments even more special so again, thank you very much.
When you are planning your next trip to Bangkok, please do drop me a note to adrian.bro@chatrium.com as it would be a real pleasure in creating a special package for you to stay longer with us while also making sure I will have the opportunity to say thank you in person.
Looking forward to that moment.

Best wishes

Adrian Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

As a first timer to Bangkok we were pleasently surprised at the wonderful atmosphere and service we received at the chartrium hotel. I cannot ever remember being so completely comfortable by the amenities this hotel has to offer and the friendliness at which they were offered.
Firstly upon our arrival we were very tired from our long flight and they made our check-in hassle free.
. Our suit room was well appointed and very spacious . The beds are very comfortable and I didn't miss my own bed at all. We had a room with a view of the river which was great, especially at night . It was nice to sit on the balcony and watch the busy river boat traffic . The hotel has a wonderful restaurant on the main level which overlooks the river and you have the option of eating inside or out. The food was ample and the choices many. Both eastern and western . Something for everyone. It also has a restaurant on the 34th floor with a spectacular view of the city at night.
They have a happy hour from 5-8 up there ,where the drinks are 99 bathe very good value.
They have a boat shuttle that takes you to the main pier (Taskin). Which allows you to travel into the city and also connect to the sky train. The boats leave quit regularly so the wait time is not very long. While we were there we also used the gym and were very impressed with the equipment they had. There is also a sauna - very nice after a workout.
I must also comment on the staff at this hotel. They were outstanding. They seem to be one big happy family and worked together to make our stay a memorable one. The restaurant staff were very accommodating and especially the manager K. We also met the hotel manager who was very friendly and wanted to know if there was anything he could do to make our stay comfortable which of course already was. They have an amazing pool at this hotel with plenty of chairs and loungers with hot towels . The pool deck also has a food service which we used a couple of times and found it very tasty. I cannot say enough about this hotel. It is a diamond in the ruff.










I loved the boat shuttle that you could take to the main pier (Taksin) which allowed us to travel into the city and connect to the sky train for more options.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmchatrium, General Manager at Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

A sense of belonging / family working environment amongst all of us here at the Chatrium is something we have worked at over the past two or so years, so it is certainly wonderful to know that our efforts to create a warm, user friendly atmosphere for both our staff and our guests are being recognised.
We certainly are one big happy family but I will admit , like normal families, from time to time, challenges pop up but it is that family culture we have that helps us overcome those challenges.
May I also thank you for your recognition of our restaurant manager Khun K . He is one of our stars and as you no doubt have experienced, he goes well beyond what is expected of him to ensure guests are happy. Suffice to say, we are very very lucky to have him as part of our family.
Again, thank you so much for your wonderful comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best wishes

Adrian Brown

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

A hotel that meets guest expectation is common. But a Hotel that anticipates guest needs and fulfills them is rare. That is what Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is!!! One thing that makes this Hotel very special is its staff. My heart felt thanks to the TEAM. Spacious rooms, great view, good location, good food. The Hotel has it all. Thanks to the free boat shuttle service to Saphan Taskin at frequent interval makes travelling to various tourist spots extremely easy and convenient. If I return to Bangkok, it will be my only choice of stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NehaMichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmchatrium, General Manager at Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Just a short note to say thank you for your lovely comments but more so for the recognition of our endeavours to anticipate guests needs while also being able to fulfil them. It would be fair to say that most hotels will always attempt to achieve this, but one never quite knows how successful you are until you start receiving recognition for it, so again, many many thanks.
Taking note that if you ever return to Bangkok you will definitely stay with us again, please, the next time you are planning to go on holidays do drop me a note to my email at adrian.bro@chatrium.com as it will be a pleasure to provide an accommodation package that you will not be able to refuse:-)

Best wishes

Adrian Brown

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I was really nervous about this hotel, because my original choice was to stay at one of the well known hotels like the Mandarin Oriental. But we decided we wanted to try to stay more budget friendly while in Bangkok and get a nicer hotel when we went to the islands. (trip was for our Honeymoon)

Location- The hotel is located right on the river and they have their own river taxi that will take you to the central pier where you can get on another taxi or walk up to Skytrain. It was a PERFECT location.

Room- We arrived at about 1am and when we brought us up to our room there were 2 twin beds. This was the only hiccup the entire stay. It was so late that we just said it was fine for that night but we wanted to get a new room in the morning which they took care of. We left for breakfast the next morning and they moved all of our stuff for us. The rooms were very nice with a kitchenette and living area. We had great views of the river!

Food- we had breakfast included in our room rate, and the food was delicious every day!! There were slightly different selections each day we were there which was nice.

Hotel- Very nice hotel grounds, nice pool, and good location. We didn't spend too much time at hotel because we were out and about all day in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmchatrium, General Manager at Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

First and foremost and from all of us here at the Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok, congratulations to the both of you and we trust that you have had a great honeymoon here in Thailand.
I am very sorry about the problem with your bed configuration when you arrived but thank you very much for considering it as a hiccup. I would also like to thank you for yoru comments about our breakfast and for recognising the daily subtle changes our executive chef , Chef Andrew makes to his breakfast buffet.
We do look forward to welcoming you back and please, when planning your next trip, do drop me an email to adrian.bro@chatrium.com

Best wishes

Adrian Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We are just back from a 3 week dental holiday in Bangkok (Silom Dental Hospital) at stayed at 2 other places before we checked into this fantastic highrise modern hotel right on the Chao Phraya river. Our room 2512 looked up and down the river and into the endless distance of this huge city of 10 million. The suite had a separate living area with a huge balcony overlooking the city and river, a small kitchen area with microwave, large fridge and stove top (but no pots and pans which we didn't need but seemed odd not to supply cooking equipment when advertising as kitchenette).
The bathroom was lovely with a huge bath, lovely metallic mosaic tiles, a glass shower which easily fits 2 and has a view through a glass wall to the city and river. a wooden blind allows privacy or light to go into the bathroom area.
The bedroom has a large comfortable bed, a tv, and bench and chair. though we would have sawn the table off to give a clear view down the river from the bed. the view day and night was entrancing and hard to leave.
make sure you ask for a corner room and high up for good views and space, its worth the extra money.
On just $100 AUS it was very good value including the usual hotel breakfast that got the caffiene and energy up to tackle another day out in the madness of the bustling city,
the staff were efficient, friendly and professional and fixed any problems that arose.
we loved it so much we couldn't leave so we booked another week. we also plan to return for another 3 week stay soon to conclude the excellent dental treatment we received at about one third of the quotes i was given in Australia.
the area is more authentic, u can catch the boat to the ferry and all the tourist places or walk out the back of the complex and become apart of the great mix of life on the streets. we found a steamboat place a few hundred yards to the left of the hotel that was unbelievable at $5 each.
room service food was reasonable price and tasty.
alcohol was expensive in room but there is a 7/11 just at the back of the hotel that u can pay thai prices (cheap except wine) during their alcohol trading hours of 11-2pm and 5-midnight.
This place is the best accommodation we have ever stayed in , and as it was for my 50th birthday we have stayed in a lot of places over the years. im sure u wont be disappointed i only wish i could have stayed even longer.

Room Tip: ask for a high up corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anakie432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmchatrium, General Manager at Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

I cannot thank you enough for the wonderful comments you have made on your experience with us over the past few weeks. It is certainly also nice to know that we were able to maintain that level of service for the duration of your stay and at a period where we have been operating at full occupancy. You recognition of us being of great value is also very much appreciated as this is what we have always aimed to provide....great value so again, many many thanks for the recognition.
I believe you have my business card when we met during your stay so as mentioned, do let me know when you are planning your next trip to Bangkok as it would be a pleasure in arranging your accommodation for you.

Best wishes

Adrian Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 885 in Bangkok
8,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Millennium Hilton Bangkok
#128 of 885 in Bangkok
5,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Address: 28, Soi Charoen Krung 70 | Wat Phraya Krai, Bang Kho Laem, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £68 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Agoda, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing