We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #27 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Great location, fantastic views from my very large room, balcony and a great service, very clean, 5 star and paid AU$140 per night including breakfast for 2, great value and Managed by a great Australian bloke Adrian Brown.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,308
    1,949
    341
    66
    32
See reviews for
1,935
3,532
453
431
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Our 4'th time in BKK. Staid at the Shangrila and the Peninsula before. We liked the Cheatrium best. Make sure you go for breakfast included. Take the boat to the sky-train station. Go to National stadium. Visit MBK shopping center, top floor. souvenirs. galore. Pay no more then 60 or 70 % of asking price. Book your day trips ahead of time over the internet ( great discounts )
Do not forget to get a foot massage !!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a north corner suite with balcony. best view of town and river. Had no time for pool or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank knic661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan57
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Me and my family stayed at the hotel for 3 nights December 2014. We have stayed at the hotel a couple of times before. The breakfast has improved quite a bit since last time we stayed at the hotel. The hotel seems to be very popular nowadays, because it is difficult to get a room at a decent price now. Probably because of the Asiatique area which has become so popular among tourists. My opinion is that Chatrium is close to a 5 star hotel. Our room had a small kitchenette, but there was quite a lot I could not find in the kitchen to be able to cook a minor meal. For example there was no frying pan or pot to boil water in. I would not hesitate to book Chatrium again, but I will for sure make the booking earlier so I am sure to get a room, and hopefully to cheaper rate.

Room Tip: Use the gratis ferry service as much as you can, instead of sitting in a taxi or tuk-tuk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Very good hotel. Especially for families big rooms and suites. Pay more few dollars and take high floor river view. Only problem hotel shuttle boat did nor wait at 11:30 pm in the pier extra 2 minutes when they saw the big service ship coming from Asiatic with many hotel guests that had to wait extra 30 minuets.

Room Tip: High floor river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We liked it here. We were in Bangkok at the end of November/early December when there was political unrest and we were offered an upgrade to a one bedroomed suite on the 34th floor for a very modest charge. The suite was huge, had a balcony with excellent river views and a glass sided bathroom with electric blinds, that were quite fun. You could lie in bed and look out over the river and city which was quite something.

The hotel is large and a bit impersonal but all the staff were lovely and friendly, laundry was collected very quickly and we enjoyed our inclusive cocktails/canapés in the 36th floor lounge each evening. The buffet breakfasts were excellent.

If you stay here beware that the restaurant evening buffet and the Chinese restaurant are both very expensive - and the Chinese restaurant was not very good. There is a little 7/11 supermarket nearly next door and you can buy drinks and snacks for hardly anything - our minibar had more in it when we left than when we arrived. Check in and out is very efficient, and the shuttle boat means there is no inconvenience at all staying here. We rather liked the Asiatique centre and went there to shop and eat two evenings, and saw the Calypso Cabaret on our last night.

The only negative aspect to this hotel was that the lifts did not seem to be able to cope with the number of residents without quite long waits. There was a large group of rather badly behaved young gymnasts staying while we were there who were monopolising the lifts which might have been a factor, they also made a nuisance of themselves in the restaurant on one evening, but there was little the hotel could really do about that. I'd certainly go back again.

Room Tip: River view on a high floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Higgle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiel Windeweer, NL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Stayed 8 days at Chatrium Riverside which is my preferred option during dry season in Bangkok. In afternoon and evening hours mostly a gentle, fresh breeze welcomes you on the teracce with beautiful view on sky-line and Chao Phraya river. The shuttle boat connects six times an hour to the BTS station from which Bangkok lies at your feet.

For business guests the Club Lounge offers next privileges :

■ In-room check-in
■ Welcome fruit on arrival
■ Daily newspaper (English, Japanese or Chinese)
■ Buffet breakfast at River Barge Restaurant from 06.00 am-10.30 am
■ Chatrium Club Lounge access
■ Complimentary all day coffee/tea and soft drinks
■ Daily complimentary afternoon tea, evening cocktails and canapes
■ Complimentary High-speed Wi-Fi internet
■ Complimentary laundry and pressing of 2 items per day
■ Use of private meeting rooms in the Business Center for 2-hour per stay
■ Late check-out until 6.00pm (subject to availability)
■ Shoeshine service

Chatrium staff is well trained, friendly and professional. Requests are followed up immediately and your business partners will enjoy meeting you there.

Room Tip: If available I suggest a room with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjmeijer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel for three nights in Dec 2013. It was an amazing experience and we couldn't have picked a better hotel in bangkok.

Location:
Located on the charoenkrung road, the hotel is around 10km from sukhumvit which is the centre of activity in bagnkok. However the hotel is well connected to the central pier with their free ferry shuttle which had a frequency of every half an hour till midnight (or 15 min during peak hours of morning and early evening). From there you can choose to use either local transport boats or enter the BTS (bangkok skytrain) through the Saphan Taksin stop on the Silom line. We mostly traveled on the BTS however taxis are also a good option as well as they are quite cost effective.
The only place at walking distance from the hotel that can be explored is the asiatique riverfront which is an open air mall with a night market feel. Its timings are 5 pm to midnight.

Room and facilities:
We stayed in a river facing suite on the 32nd floor. The room was massive, well appointed with a wonderful view of the river chao phraya. The hotel has a huge infinity pool on the 6th floor that offers great views as well.
It is worth mentioning the amazing spread at the international buffet. It covered a huge range of thai, continental and even Indian cuisines. You could enjoy this in the indoor restaurant or on the tables in the open next to the river.

Staff and service:
Found the staff very friendly. The concierge was helpful whenever we needed some information/help. Overall had a great stay at the hotel. Will definitely recommend it and consider it for our stay in bangkok next time around!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yatri91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmchatrium, General Manager at Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
It is nice to know you have had an amazing 3 night stay with us and many thanks for the lovely comments you have made about our international buffet spread and of the friendly service you have received.
Picking up that you would stay with us again the next time you are coming to Bangkok, when you have arranged your dates, do drop me an email to adrian.bro@chatrium.com as it would be a pleasure in arranging something special for you as a repeat guest.
Wishing you a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

Best wishes

Adrian Brown

General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#101 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,193 reviews
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Property: Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Address: 28 Charoenkrung Soi 70 | Bangkholame, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Agoda, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing