We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #27 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
St Jean du Monts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights the room was clean and large we paid extra for a riverview our room was on the 19th floor
We had problems with the key card it took at least 4/5 tries to get into our room
We received a newspaper on our first morning but not on our 2nd which is a little petty at the prices they charge
The lifts were very slow at coming
The hotel is just too large for us
We could not get a sunbed at the pool the whole 2 days we stayed
The drinks were robbery for Thailand and they included a 10 per cent service charge yet the staff still expected a tip
The breakfast was very good however we had quite a wait for a table to become available
The highlight of this hotel was being on the river and water taxi leaving the hotel every 15 mins taking you too the skytrain terminal

I would not stay here again it did not live up to my expectations too intimerdating

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Todmordengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,141
    1,893
    336
    63
    32
See reviews for
1,847
3,448
444
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,081)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed in the Chatrium at the end of a two week 'glampacking' trip in June last year. After having stayed in a treehouse in the rainforest for the previous two days, we were all hugely excited to get to a bit of luxury - and the Chatrium didn't disappoint! As soon as we walked in the staff were amazingly helpful and friendly, upgrading us to a river view room within 5 minutes (although I suspect this was a feat of 'upselling' by the receptionist). We then got to our room, and were blown away by the spectacular view (river view rooms amount to about an extra £15 a night, and I would definitely recommend it - amazing!) and gorgeous comfy bed. After a well deserved nap, we took the complimentary ferry over to the train station to head into town. The travel links from the Chatrium are fantastic, we travelled right around the city in our last few days and it didn't take more than an hour to reach anywhere.
The next day was a designated 'pool day' (also, the first day of sunshine that we'd had all holiday!). The pool area is simply brilliant, and leaves you feeling like you're in a chilled out oasis while lounging around amongst the Bangkok skyline. The pool is huge, with plenty of room to do laps without bumping into floating children, and kids have space to play without bugging anyone who is baby-free. Again, the staff were lovely and friendly, which is pretty much standard in Thailand but nevertheless, still worth a mention.
Having all lost around half a stone to 'phuket belly' earlier in the holiday, we were keen to tuck in to the huge breakfasts once we arrived at the Chatrium. Again, we weren't disappointed. The breakfast selection is huge, and you would need a week to try everything that they have on offer. The quality of the food was great again at dinner, although the evening buffet is a bit on the expensive side if you haven't booked in for dinner earlier. We ate there for one night when we were feeling a bit lazy, and the selection and quality were fab.
Overall, we couldn't really fault our experience at the Chatrium. It gave us the perfect end to a fantastic holiday, and we were so sad to leave. Considering that it cost around £32 a night per person, I couldn't recommend it higher to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessielu147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed at the 2 bed riverside suite and had a riverview grand suite for the in law, breakfast included. Service with a smile, friendly security staff, GM, Adrian and Thai counterpart Chachawan came and greeted us at Breakfast. Made us feel like VIPs.

Apart from an uneducated Thai female chef/cook with looks to kill, overall it was the best Riverside Hotel we have stayed in. 100 percent 5 star - without question.

You will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Riverview worth the extra 200 baht a night. High Floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope Island, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here a couple of nites and were upgraded to an executive suite overlooking the chao praya river excellent views especially enjoyed the nite views of boats going up and down the river. The staff were great loved the room we were given very luxurious. Great breakfast. Enjoyed the convenience of the hotels boat to get to the next boat terminal. Handy also to seven 11. I found the wifi to be quite reasonable. Overall a very enjoyable stay and great value for money.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gothere28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights over two stays in December 2013. In both cases we had spacious one bedroom suites with a balcony overlooking the River. We found the rooms clean, spacious, the staff very polite & attentive and food to a good standard. Although not right in the centre of the city, it was quieter, with a hotel launch that frequently took us to the Saphan Taksin ferry & Skytrain station. The restaurant (River Barge) was good and the Chinese restaurant (Silver Waves) was exceptional. Other places to eat & shop were available in the nearby Asiatic complex (10 minute walk).
Great place to stay. The only downside is that on busy times, you may have to wait for the lifts, as there are quite a few floors!

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony & overlooking the river are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NavUK1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

I stayed here with family for about a week, it was a great room, big swimming pool. The rooms were always clean, the staff were always very helpful and made the stay in Bangkok very easy for us, helping with directions, and the shuttle ferry was very handy to get to Asiateaque

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhinoaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Really lovely hotel right next to the river. Loved the terrace where we had cocktails in the evening, and breakfast the next morning. Hotel has its own boat which takes you up to the bridge where you can get the metro or river taxis so the location is great. Room was great with a really comfortable bed and we got a special discount as we are both seniors.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JMJ54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,789 reviews
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#95 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Property: Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Address: 28 Charoenkrung Soi 70 | Bangkholame, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and LoveHolidays so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing