We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A touch of class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #28 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
nantwich
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A touch of class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We booked a river view room on a high floor and it was excellent. On the 34th floor we had a balcony overlooking the river, a great place to watch the city, both day and night. We used the laundry service (good value) and couldn't fault it. We had a huge, comfortable bed, big bathroom and all home comforts.

Room Tip: Go for a city view on a high floor, worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grown_up_gappers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,245
    1,921
    339
    65
    33
See reviews for
1,903
3,499
447
429
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,115)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

First time to Bangkok and we relied upon our travel agent for lodgings. As with any hotel one can always find something wrong but there were minimal issues here (only one bathrobe on check-in, for example) but the few shortcomings were overshadowed by the attentive and hospitable staff. Thai hospitality is on full display here. Don't let the date exterior color scheme deter you..the inside is pretty up to date but is on the verge of refresh time. Very quiet, no sleeping problems...BKK is the quietest large city I've ever been to! The breakfast buffet is outstanding and caters to every taste and culture. It is our first trip to Asia so we didn't know what to expect and were a bit hesitant but it turned out be a wonderful hotel experience for our three-nights of acclimation and rest before heading to Phuket where our real Thailand vacation begins.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crickhowell
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We acted on advice about booking 4 nights at the Chatrium to finish our holiday, which was good advice. The welcome was friendly and efficient, desk staff show guests to their room on arrival. Our room was very spacious and overlooked the river and hotel swimming pool. We didn't really need the kitchen part but the facilities were good overall; the quality of the furniture being adequate.
There is a choice of dining options, the breakfast choices being wide ranging enough to suit any nationality of guest. The evening buffet is magnificent, especially outdoor dining and putting wonderful fish or meat on the barbecue. Waiting staff are friendly and accommodating of every whim. Cooking stations at the buffet provided freshly cooked for in addition to the huge range of prepared choices. We couldn't afford to drink wine but there were other choices to accompany a meal. Live music plays during the evening under a balmy sky.

The frequent boat service to the next pier, gateway to the sky train and other vessels on the river, was a great advantage and free. The hotel is well situated on the river yet all the attractions of Bangkok are accessible by one means of transport or another.

I recommend this hotel for a relaxing stay, with good facilities, good location and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: A river view, probably not too far up is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonS815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middelfart, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I had one and a half day in Bangkok and I felt like treating myself. Chatrium lived up to my expectations and more so.

The only reason I'm not giving them a perfect rating is because they made a mistake and charged me twice for the same reservation. I made them aware of this and the response was that it would take three to four weeks to wire back the money. Not good enough. So then I ended up buying myself an upgrade - with a discount I managed to bully through. In my view they should have offered me a discount up front - at least - if not giving it to me for free since they made the mistake.
Nevertheless, I had a great stay and the upgrade was worth the money.

I wrote more about the hotel and the club benefits in my blog:
http://www.raintheworld.com/#!Bangkok-layover-luxuries/cfn4/73139C83-3455-4DF9-9BA0-574C11183C83

All in all I would definitely stay there again.

- Anne

Room Tip: There is construction on the site next to the hotel - so ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneDyrehauge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I was the first time in Bangkok and spent 3 nights at the Chatrium Riverside. Overall the hotel was very good and I felt comfortable there.

Check- in was quick and easy and then the friendly receptionist showed me my room personally. I had booked a room with a river view, correspondingly, the view was breathtaking . The room itself was very large and the double bed huge. The decor of the room looked a little tired unfortunately, but the good overall impression was not significantly affected.
The breakfast buffet had a wide selection and you could eat outside by the river and watch the boats pass by .
The swimming pool was also perfect with great view, unfortunately it was often not easy to find a free sunbed. There was also a very well equipped fitness center, unfortunately I did not have time to use it .
As the hotel is a bit off the sights, a free Boatshuttle to BTS Taksin Saphin is offered. From there you can take the fast express boats on the Chao Phraya or the BTS to all the sites.
Overall the Chatrium Riverside a very nice hotel with great comfort and very nice service staff. The next time I will visit Bangkok, I would stay here again .

Room Tip: Choose the riverview room, the view over the river is breathtaking at day and night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TommyC2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Our initial stay for 3 nights on arrival in Bangkok was very good. We (thought) we had booked a river view room with a balcony and, on arrival, the desk clerk made a big thing about upgrading us to a suite. Now, having looked on their website, I think we were given what we had booked, but never mind, it was fabulous - a large, comfy bed; plenty of wardrobe space; easy to work safe; small kitchenette with fridge & mini bar and a balcony with 2 chairs & table overlooking the river. Great. Our 1st evening we did go to the silver waves restaurant but were probably too tired to fully appreciate it, although the staff was friendly & views fabulous.On our final evening we ate at Pier 28, which is actually the same buffet/ a la carte as The Barge but outside seating! Anyway, the buffet is very good - not what we British associate with buffets (curled up sandwiches & stale sausage rolls!) - they had a bbq where you choose the fish/ shellfish/ meat & give to the chef on a plate complete with a clip with your table no on, and he brings it to you when he's cooked it! There are live cooking stations inside, large tureens with curries, rice, noodles etc, salads, dim sum, sushi - you name it, all very fresh & good quality. So, definitely a 5* establishment - great location, as previously mentioned by other reviewers, convenient shuttle boat to Sathorn/ thaksin Pier; pool (although there were no loungers available mid-late afternoon when we returned from our days out), and we were looking forward to returning for one night at the end of our trip. Fast forward 9 days - The desk clerk went through the same routine of explaining they were going to find us a very nice room, an upgrade etc and said we'd be in room 1409 (our previous room was 1009) so we knew it would be the same view but higher, so were very happy. They said it would be 10 minutes - not sure why, but I toddled along & reserved a table at Pier 28 - the clerk then apologized, said the room wasn't ready & put us in 8009 - not a problem, was only for one night, but the room had the distinct feeling it wasn't of the same class - it was stifling hot because the air con had not been on; there were 3 bath towels, not 4; the hand towel was grey & threadbare; the balcony had 2 chairs but no table - again, we were only there 1 night, so we weren't going to worry. But the evening - the food was as good as before but both inside & outside was v busy. Then we noticed the music - we were certain there hadn't been any background music on our previous time then, as it changed to a live band, my husband groaned as we realised it was karaoke. Trouble was, the lady warbling out of tune was the singer with the band! Gawd, she was painful, although to be fair, the Asians seemed to enjoy it. However, what we found poor was at the end of their stint, whilst we were still eating, the band's equipment (drum kit, amplifiers etc) were wheeled directly past us to a lock up, on a squeaky old barrow! Not 5*. So not sure if we were fortunate to have avoided the entertainment on our 1st visit or whether that's a regular feature.
Would we stay there again - yes, and we would recommend it.

Room Tip: Obviously, the higher the floor, the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jan59Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed at the Chatrium for 2 nights before we flew home. The reception area was big and spacious and the staff was very friendly. We had been upgraded to a river view room on the 13th floor which had a great view of downtown Bangkok.

The room was large with a kitchen area but the furnishings were very dated and the carpet was very badly stained. The bathroom was a decent size but I wasn’t happy to find hairs in the bath. All in all the room could badly do with being refurbished. After all the excellent reviews we had read we did expect a better standard.

Breakfast was excellent. A very large buffet with something for every taste. You could either sit inside or outside on the patio next to the river which was very pleasant.

On the second evening we ate in the restaurant and had the buffet which offered an extensive selection – although I felt it was a little overpriced, the food was of a good standard.

There isn’t too much to see just outside the hotel but we visited Asiatique which is about half a mile away. Great place to spend a few hours. Lots of stalls and shops selling a variety of goods, along with numerous eating places. Great atmosphere.

I visited the pool area just to sit and relax which was just as well as all the sunbeds were taken. Unfortunately there seemed to be some building work going on next to the hotel and there was a constant loud hammering noise – not the most relaxing way to spend a few hours.

We were able to have a late check-out at no extra cost which was very helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a refurbished room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scots-ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#98 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,135 reviews
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Property: Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Address: 28 Charoenkrung Soi 70 | Bangkholame, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#26 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Southall Travel, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing