We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #27 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at the Chatrium Bangkok.
My husband and I spent several days here and really enjoyed our stay.The hotel has a contemporary feel and is spotless. The staff were very polite and helpful.
We asked for a corner room high up with a riverside view and were given a fabulous room.
It comprised a sitting room, a bedroom with glass walls over looking the river with a spotless ensuite which inculded a bath and shower. We also had a sizable balcony overlooking the river. The view especially at night is spectacular. There was a kitchenette with a fridge, complementary bottles of water and a daily newspaper.

The breakfast was a real treat. It was superb! A full buffet freshly made by chefs. It had everything from fruit juices, fresh fruit, a selection of chinese food, Indan food, full English, lovely fresh breads, cakes croissants and other patisseries, tea, coffee. As much as you liked all freshly made.

From the hotel you can get a free ferry to the local pier which is beside the train station BTS Saphan Taksin and from there you can get a day pass on another ferry for 150 BHT or the Sky train. We discovered that the metered taxis are really cheap and the hotel will organise them for you. It's probably cheaper to travel around by taxi. Finally there is a 7/11 shop beside the hotel which is useful.
We thought that the hotel was 5* and great value for money.

Room Tip: As for a corner room fairly high up with a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Feistywingnut1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,888 - 3,894 of 8,419 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights to use as a base for sightseeing in the area. We were delighted to be upgraded to a suite with panoramic views up and down the river. The room was very spacious and tastefully decorated. The hotel was very good value for money for a capital city hotel. We were so pleased that we chose a hotel on the river. It took you slightly out of town but as a courtesy river shuttle boat was provided to the central pier which connected to the various modes of transport including the Skytrain, it was in fact very well placed. As we were leaving early each morning for our excursions (River Kwai; Floating Markets etc.) we booked room only and opted out of breakfast. The rooms have a small kitchenette which allowed us to prepare our own basic breakfast and save time. There is a 7/11 shop at the end of the hotel complex. However, there is no toaster etc. so don't expect to have anything to elaborate. It was a straight forward 500 Bahts taxi fare back to the airport and the staff will call a taxi for you. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunseeker-Pauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This was our second visit to Bangkok. The perfect hotel location makes the difference whether your stay in Bangkok is fantastic or exhausting. The ferry transfer to the hotel's pier is less than 10 minutes. From the ferry pier you can easily step on a riverboat for 15 baht (that brings you to a lot of Bangkok's attractions) or you enter the skytrain station, both is perfect to avoid traffic jams.. From the airport it is about a one hour drive (take the highway route). The hotel itself is quiet, if you need it, a Starbucks, an ATM and a 7/11 are around the corner. Breakfast buffet is nice and dinner at the riverfront is great. We did not try the topfloor restaurant. Service is good, rooms are large, beds are comfortable, bathroom is clean and not smelly. Definitely worth a recommendation.

Room Tip: Riverview rooms in the upper floors are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Quadenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This was not our original choice for a place to stay in Bangkok. We changed plans due to the protests that were happening when we visited. I’m so glad we did ended up here. The Chatrium was recommended by one restaurant and one tour operator when we asked for suggestions before we arrived in Thailand. Upon being escorted to our suite, we were pleasantly surprised and pleased with our decision to book here. The suite was HUGE and had a fantastic view of the river and city. Everything about the room was nice. And did I mention it was huge? However, the best thing about our stay here was the convenience of the free ferry shuttle to the Sathorn Pier, from which one could take the public water ferries or get on the BTS. We noted that the streets were usually clogged with traffic and that the best way to get around Bangkok was by boat, BTS, bikes, or walking. I can’t emphasize enough how convenient it was to be so close to the ferries and the BTS. I can’t speak to the meals here because we feasted on street food and at local off-the-beaten-path restaurants. There is a market within a 15-20 minute walk from the hotel and many choices for food along the way. The pool area was inviting and also provided a nice view. Service was efficient and friendly. You can’t really go wrong choosing this hotel.

Room Tip: 2112 is at the end of the hall with a great view. Huge suite with a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JojoRockville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed here for the second time at the end of our holiday as we really like the hotel & its location right next to the river. We had booked a river view room & were upgraded to a one bedroom suite was amazing. The view from everywhere, even the bathroom if you roll the shutter up, is stunning. Breakfast outside beside the river is great, as is dinner, with lots of choice. The pool is lovely too, a great place to relax. The free shuttle boat to the pier is great, we didn't need to fight the notorious traffic at all as we used the river taxis or sky train to get about. The staff are really friendly & helpful, we'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The Chatrium is right on the Chao Phraya River between Taksin pier and Asiatique and if you book a river view room you will get some spectacular views at night.

We stayed in a two bedroom suite which had a huge living area and a balcony. The master suite was spacious and also a small balcony. The second bedroom wasn't as big but had great views down the river. Bathrooms were well appointed but a little grimy.

The service provided by the staff was excellent. When we arrived our room wasn't ready and the staff ensured that we were comfortable and had some lunch while we waited. During our stay staff assisted in tour bookings, laundry collection and even finding lost headphones. They were always smiling and courteous and nothing was too much trouble.

The buffet breakfast had good variety and was included in the room rate. Restaurant staff were attentive and even the chef helped out when it was busy.

The hotel provides a complementary boat service to and from Thaksin pier but make sure you check the schedule and plan your day accordingly because they leave right on time. Also the frequency of the boats varies at some odd times during the day so be aware that there might not be a boat there when you want one.

The only issue we had was that occasionally a tour coach would come in and the crowds at breakfast and in the lobby would be a bit much. However this certainly isn't as big an issue at the Chatrium as it is at some other Bangkok hotels we have stayed at.

Given the size of the rooms and the service provided by the staff you really can't go past the Chatrium for value if you want to stay on the river.

Room Tip: The riverside rooms on the top floors have spectacular views and are worth paying a little extra for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I was surprised by the size of the suite, the pool is gorgeous (although more lounge chairs are required) great pool after a hot day of touring. Close proximity to Asiatique the night market and also the sky train.
Amazing service.

Room Tip: I had a suite with a balcony overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cheryl s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 891 in Bangkok
8,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Millennium Hilton Bangkok
#128 of 891 in Bangkok
5,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Address: 28, Soi Charoen Krung 70 | Wat Phraya Krai, Bang Kho Laem, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#26 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £69 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sawasdee, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing