We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to live here.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #30 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 27 March 2014

From first entering the Chatrium it was heaven. We were met by a lovely receptionist called Pretchaya nickname "Imi". She was extremely welcoming and helpful , she showed us to our room and wow.. We had previously booked a hotel in Siam Sq area but because of the protests we cancelled and changed to the riverside. It was a great decision. The room 1509 was a one bedroom corner suite suite looking onto the river and the views were fantastic. There is a kitchen with full size fridge and microwave and hob. The staff really lovely and friendly. The breakfast buffet is amazing and eating breakfast on a terrace over looking the river was a joy. A free shuttle boat brings you to the BTS station every 15mins and then you have easy access to Bangkok. The trip takes 5 mins. It is very pleasant to have a drink on the terrace in the evening with live music some nights. We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on meals but it's a 15 min walk to Asiatique centre with shops and restaurants. When we were leaving 4 days later Pretchaya organised a taxi for us to the Airport (BKK) . She came out to the taxi with us and bade us farewell. She made us feel that we were appreciated. The taxi fare to BKK from here is 350 baht meter taxi inc tolls and took approx half a hour at 10 pm . The fare from Don Muaeng airport(DMK) into Chatrium was 500 baht and took about 45 mins at 6 pm.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ABIZAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,925 - 3,931 of 8,558 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

Very nice hotel, good location, big rooms, the river view rooms have a beautifull view on the Chao Phraya river, excellent breakfast, buffets and local food, possible to eat indoor/outdoor. Hotel has his own shuttle boat to the nearest BTS station and central pier. Very helpfull and friendly staff.

Room Tip: river view room for the great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Raoul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Excellent 5 star hotel along the bangkok riverside. The hotel building is an attraction in itself. The rooms are large and well furnished. The breakfast buffet had a wide selection. Overall we would have wished to stay there for few more days.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shrav_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We (a family of 3) stayed at the Chatrium for 4 nights in February. We had originally booked the Courtyard by Marriott but decided to change at the last minute as it was slap bang in the middle of two protest sites. We made the right choice - the Chatrium is a great hotel! The staff are lovely and very helpful and we were upgraded to a large one bedroom suite on arrival, which was a nice surprise after a gruelling and delayed flight from the UK. The room was an excellent size and had a big balcony with superb river views. It was a good base to explore Bangkok and the free river transport to the BTS station is a nice touch. The breakfast is top quality and the food and drink prices are very reasonable. Asiatique is only a 10 min walk with lots of restaurant choices too. A very enjoyable few days in Bangkok. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptHammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This hotel is amazing. The rooms are spotless and have everything you could imagine. The breakfast is extensive and everything you could want. The staff are very, very friendly and always there to help. The drinks are quite expensive but, you are in a 5* so you would expect that. We had a buffet style evening meal but, most was cooked to order. They have there own river boat that takes you to the central pier where you can catch a boat to do trips on the river or you can get on the train Would defiantly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: If you like to sit on the balcony then upgrade to river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bernie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Chatrium for 4 nights in January 2014. Really a wonderful choice, especially for families, since the rooms are large, with kitchenettes and fold out beds. There were many families from everywhere.

We booked the room directly with the hotel, cancelable, with breakfast and a river view for a good price. The river view rooms are higher up with a beautiful panorama of the Chao Phraya river. Rooms clean, comfortable beds, WiFI, TV, kitchen. I think the hotel's location (see below) results in a lower price point than the Chatrium merits, making it excellent value.

Lobby area is modest, but there is a large indoor/outdoor restaurant on the first floor where an outstanding breakfast buffet is served. We also had a good meal there one evening, and a really excellent meal in the Chinese restaurant on the top floor on another evening. Great viewpoint for the lights of the city at night. Very pleasant "infinity" pool with bar on the 7th.

Service was friendly and accommodating. Best English language coverage of any hotel we stayed in nearly 4 weeks in SE Asia. We arrived mid morning, and though our room was not yet ready, they allowed us to change clothes and wash up in the health club so we could make most use of our time in Bangkok. Good concierge service and help with taxis -- on the morning after the 2013 "Bangkok shutdown" began, we had no trouble at all reaching the airport for our departure.

On Location: Transportation: Those who know Bangkok will confirm that taxis are OK, but can be slow depending on the hour and the route. The Chatrium, and most other river hotels have a boat shuttle service to the Saphan Taksin BTS (elevated trains) stop on the river. From there, you can get most anywhere quickly. Convenient, BUT, the extra trip and walk up to the BTS adds another 20 -30 min. to your trip, coming and going. Most of the river hotels have this problem, with the upside that you can take just about any of the various hotel boats from the central pier.
Restaurants, Nightlife: Apart from the two places in the hotel, there is little within walking distance -- even the Asiatique, with many restaurants, shops, bars, amusements, is a good 15 min. walk from the hotel, and the sidewalk was being torn up when we visited. Other areas accessible with the boat and BTS.
The location advantage of a centrally located hotel near the Erawan monument or off Sukhamvit is proximity to the BTS, restaurants, shops and malls. The Chatrium offers the river, views, lower prices, peace and quiet, not to mention distance from protests. For us it was the right choice.

Room Tip: Try to get a river view room. The view is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NotAccidental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed here for the first 2 days of our holiday and loved it so much returned for another 3 days at the end. Perfect location with a complementary riverboat which takes you to the centre of Bangkok. Very accommodating staff as they let us move into our suite at 7am. Definitely spend a little extra for the river view as it is magical at night. The suite was huge with 2 bedrooms and two bathrooms a lounge and full kitchen with oven hob fridge freezer. Food was excellent buffet style and everything imaginable on offer apart from poor selection of fresh fruits. Definitely would return again look out for many good deals around on the web.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#23 of 891 in Bangkok
8,753 reviews
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Address: 28, Soi Charoen Krung 70 | Wat Phraya Krai, Bang Kho Laem, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#29 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £68 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, TravelUp, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing