We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No attention to detail - a pretty average hotel at best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #31 of 894 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Currently staying here and after staying in hotels on previous visits to Bangkok would recommend not to stay here.
After a taxi, ferry, taxi, flight and taxi, by the time we got to the hotel we were looking forward to being able to relax! Unfortunately when we got there is became quite clear that the hotel wouldn't make it at all relaxing for us.
When our taxi pulled in the doorman did not open the taxi door, not did he help us get our luggage from the taxi, nor offered to take it into the hotel.
In fact we had to carry our own bags all the way to our room.
Speaking of rooms we were offered a twin room to begin with.... As a couple we of course explained that a twin room isn't what we had booked and we needed a double, they switched our rooms without a fuss but was unsure as to why they thought it was acceptable to put us in a twin room.
Rooms themselves are ok. Very modern, though don't expect the maid to do more than make the bed and change the towels. They literally hadn't cleaned, just done the absolute minimum.
Being at the end of our holiday my conditioner is running somewhat low so assumed that our hotel would provide some...
Not this hotel, they have a 'shampoo and conditioner in 1' which I'm pretty sure is the same as the 'bath gel' they provide.
The breakfast is ok, though when I ordered poached eggs on the first day they were basically like water, so the second day I asked them to be left in longer which as a simple request I would expect not to be an issue, but apparently not. 22 minutes and 6 staff later I finally received my poached eggs.
Overall a basic hotel, nice pool but overpriced on drinks around the pool.
Of course you know prices are going to be higher in hotel bars but there's a difference between marked up and then just taking the Micky. 20 baht in the shop singha, 180 baht from the hotel.
I would say if you're looking for a 5 star this isn't the place to stay. It is more around a 3 star.


  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank xxZxx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,998 - 4,004 of 8,686 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

The location is perfect, just next to Asiatique, where you find good restaurants, bars, street food.

It's abt 30 mins from the airport. Just ask the front desk to book a taxi wherever you want to go.

It's along the river, so the view is perfect if you're facing the river. And on Saturdays you just relax on the couch in the balcony and watch the fireworks played by the boat along the river.

I have recommended this hotel to all my friends& colleagues. Will definitely stay there when I go to Bangkok next time.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We spent 4 nights in this hotel, good location as it is next to the river (choose a room w/the river view, beautiful) and there is a service of free shuttle that will let you next to a BTS station (metro). Long swimming pool, sauna, fitness center... Service very attentive (thanks again for the late check out!)

Room Tip: choose a room w/the river view, a little bit more expansive but you won't regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joquinhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Loved the Chatrium. Great staff, always ready to help but not overbearing. We were asked by a management level employee if everything was to our satisfaction every day. Have stayed at much more expensive hotels in Bangkok, but none came close for friendly, responsive and non-pretentious care.

Room Tip: although nice, the river view is not necessary
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Great hotel! We had a one bedroom suite on the 33rd floor with splendid views of river and town and access to the clublounge where we enjoyed afternoon tea and drinks in the evenings. The room was very nice, quiet and clean. Staff is wonderful. Pool area a bit small but wellkept and clean. Dimsum in the Silver Waves restaurant was delicious. Highly recommended hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MariaTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the chatrium 3 times during our trip to Thailand. For the price I don't think you can find better. It's up to the same standard as hotels that go for double the price. A pleasure to have stayed here

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamessean66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Great value in a good location . We had a huge room.The shuttle boat connects the hotel to the main pier and the BTS train station which made moving around Bangkok really easy. If we return to Bangkok we would definitely stay here

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iemag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#23 of 894 in Bangkok
8,865 reviews
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Address: 28, Soi Charoen Krung 70 | Wat Phraya Krai, Bang Kho Laem, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#30 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £66 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing