We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'First Class Hotel'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #27 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“'First Class Hotel'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday in Thailand and spent the first 6 nights at the Chatrium Riverside Hotel in Bangkok. What a fantastic hotel!.. It was our first visit to Thailand and we didn't really know where to start. I looked on the internet at different websites and decided to email 'Escape Worldwide'. I am so glad I did. I couldn't believe the lengthy, informative reply we received the next day suggesting different hotels from 3* to 5* and giving information about the hotels and location of each one. We were actually visiting 3 different areas and suggestions of hotels etc were listed for each location. I was really amazed at the content of the email. We must have been emailing the team for about 5 months with different queries about types of rooms and even booking seats on the plane, and nothing was ever too much trouble. We always had a reply to an email the following day and we also spoke to them on the phone a couple of times. The Chatrium Hotel was really lovely and we had a fantastic panoramic view of the Chao Phraya river from our enormous room on the 19th floor. All the staff were so polite and friendly, you almost felt like Royalty! The food was lovely and plenty to choose from although there wasn't a huge amount of Western food when we tried the evening buffet. Maybe we just weren't adventurous enough. Having the shuttle boat so close, it was easy to get to Central Pier and then you had the choice of the BTS or other boats. All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel and also 'Escape Worldwide' who couldn't do enough for you and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a river view and that's exactly what we got. We were on the 19th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highflyer549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,246
    1,923
    339
    65
    33
See reviews for
1,903
3,501
447
429
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed 4 days here and enjoyed the hotel which was modern clean and efficient. Our room was huge and bright with a good river view. Staff were friendly and efficient. The pool is lovely but lots of guests disturbed by loud and disruptive children which should have been dealt with by management. There was occasional construction noise from next door too. Also the process of getting taxis is chaotic and run by security guards who have no grasp of english so drivers often unsure where we were going and also they did not manage the queue system fairly ( locals and men got preference). It is a shame the hotel boat does not go to Asiatique night market as all the other good hotels do. These issues would influence my decision to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I didn’t originally book this hotel but another one (Kempinski) closer to centre but changed it a few weeks before the trip because of the situation in central BKK at that time. Chatrium was ok but it is far far from the normal 5* BKK standard. If you are used to staying in Peninsula, Banyan Tree or Shangri La type of hotels, you will probably be disappointed.

Rooms

We stayed 4 nights in 2 bedroom club suite. Rooms are ok. Nothing spectacular (perhaps a bit cold interior) but spacious and clean. Balcony with a riverview was a nice addition. Check in and check out were handled in a professional manner and the lady who checked us in was giving us a lot of information about the hotel and was very professional.

Restaurants

We dined one evening in the hotel with a nice riverview. Food was ok, but again nothing to fuss about. Breakfast was one big disaster. Poor quality and quantity (normal cheese missing most days, no orange marmalade which to my opinion should be quite basic item etc.). The biggest disappointment however was the lack of English from the staff. I asked whether they had porridge for our toddler and no one could understand my request. After that I brought our own but getting a cup of hot water, missing orange marmalade and cheese was also one big hassle. Breakfast is one of the biggest pleasures in a hotel but in this hotel I wanted to get over it as quickly as possible. The breakfast was also very crowded all the time. I really felt like staying in a huge tourist hotel in the Canary Islands (nothing wrong with Canary Islands otherwise) and didn't feel the the riverside bliss, I normally expect from Bangkok.

Location and amenities

I personally like the riverside. However, the boat transfer to the Saphan Thaksin Pier (to catch the skytrain) runs way too seldom especially during middle of the day. Therefore we usually took a taxi and asked them to bring us to the nearby skytrain station. I have never experienced such a problem with other riverside hotels. This hotel is quite close to Asiatique area which we visited one evening (highly recommended).

Swimming pool looks inviting but the water is ice cold plus there are way too few sun loungers for the size of the hotel. Even when we were there early, we couldn’t get any. No poolside service, you have to go and fetch your own towels. There is a 7/11 and children’s very small playarea almost next door. Club was ok. View was nice, “business centre” worked well and the service was efficient.

Would I come back to this hotel. No I wouldn’t. There are far better options in Bangkok even if I have to take slightly smaller room. The hotel felt like a hectic tourist hotel where you have to queue everywhere. I didn’t get the pleasant calm feeling many other hotels have been able to provide. Also it’s lacking many of the 5* star hotel things like pool service, adequate English skills and personality.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saga_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed here at the completion of an incredible trip through Vietnam and Cambodia with "Orient Odysseys," a tour company I HIGHLY recommend. While all of our accommodations were excellent, this hotel was just so welcoming and soothing, from the plant arrangements in the lobby to the infinity pool overlooking the river. I didn't want to climb out as I knew once I did it was the end of the trip! Our flight wasn't until midnight, so the desk allowed a few of us to keep one of the rooms for a very reasonable rate. They even have their own river shuttle and the view from the terrace at night is unbelievable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auntcake49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vladikavkaz, Russia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

1. Good views on river and city
2. Good location with free shuttle to Central pier and Metro station, 7-9 on the first floor of Chatrium apartments
3. Nice breakfast and reasonable price for room-service dining

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gagki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

this hotel was recommended by our son, and we were not disappointed. the staff were friendly the room was very clean and big. the view was amazing. the breakfast was all you could ask for. the ferry boat was really helpful in getting around. the pool was wonderful. in all a great hotel and would recommend it to anyone. will not hesitate to stay there next time.

Room Tip: rooms are very spacious and bright. pool awsome. food great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 20hourflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights here at the start of our holiday and then booked another night for when we returned the hotel was that nice. Really nice friendly staff, the rooms are fanstatic and as other reviews have said it worth upgrading to a riverside room as the views are fantastic. Would stay here again when I am in Bangkok.

Room Tip: Book a riverside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLind01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#98 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,139 reviews
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Property: Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Address: 28 Charoenkrung Soi 70 | Bangkholame, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TravelUp, Travelbag, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing