We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good start to our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #26 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good start to our trip”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived at the airport and were greeted by the hotel limousine driver we were impressed by the service that we received at the hotel. The staff were always smiling and very helpful. Special thanks must go to the concierge supervisor Takon, who went out of his way to arrange a special trip to Chunkai cemetery for us. The breakfast buffet was only surpassed by the evening buffet which was excellent, so much variety and many of the items cooked to order on the grill - huge tiger prawns being a highlight. We weren't sure whether the buffet would be good value for money (1300Thb) but once we saw what was on offer we didn't hesitate.
The free shuttle boat to the ferry and train stop a little way up the river was very useful for enabling further exploration of the sights of Bangkok. I would certainly recommend this hotel and the only reason for not giving it 5 stars is that I thought the drinks were a little on the pricey side.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SarahM74uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,534
    2,005
    355
    69
    33
See reviews for
2,066
3,631
469
443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,195)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed here for five nights in April in a one bedroom suite with a river view. I booked direct with the hotel in February and got a great price.

I arrived at about 8:00 am on a Sunday morning expecting to leave my luggage and return later to check in but they were able to give me a room immediately saving me a lot of time and messing around.

Reading other reviews I was a bit concerned that the hotel was not in the centre of Bangkok but this was not a problem. The hotel's ferry to Sathorn runs regularly and takes about 5 minutes. From there you can change to the BTS (Saphan Taksin) or use the Chao Phraya ferries. Since the Grand Palace, Wat Pho and Wat Arun are all close to the river I started most days using the ferries so the hotels location became, in fact, an advantage !

Everything about the hotel was excellent and if (hopefully, when) I return to Bangkok The Chatrium Riverside will be my first choice of hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarveyDog9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This high rise hotel is located right on the river and not as expensive as the Oriental and other lovely luxury hotels in the same area. It is clean, the staff is helpful and the location is close to the sky train. It appears this is a "business hotel" & when we stayed Nissan was having an event which included a celebration evening which was quite loud although it had the benefit of fireworks being set off right in front of the hotel. There was an unpleasant smell that was noticeable when we first walked in the room but wasn't noticeable the longer you were in the room. I would definitely recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Choice a river facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathrynandTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapadu Tengah, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Usually we always visit chain hotels by the river' this is the first time we try Chatrium after reading so many positive reviews. I would say I pick the right choice because I was greeted by doorman who lead me to check in at Front Desk. Of course, was greeted with smiles from the team and showed us to our rive view room.

Room is huge and impress with stunning view of the river. Previous review mentioned about the cleanliness of the room but there is nothing wrong on our stay. They give us extra attention in details and room is immaculate situation.

Breakfast is great selection with variety of food and service meets our expectation even on their busy period. They run thier own shuttle boat which is most convenience.

I would definitely come back here again as nothing wrong and even exceed our expectation. Highly recommended to all if you would like to try 5 stars experience in 4 stars budget.

Room Tip: River view facing asiatique
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thailonleplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The staff were friendly and efficient and the facilities were excellent. The room might have been a little over-priced. Some of the food was good and some not so good. I ordered room service and had the worst chicken sandwich of my life - dry stringy chicken on soggy bread with way to much lemon grass and the fries were old. I like the free shuttle boat. It's a nice ride on the river, and the Saphon Taksin pier is minutes away which connects to the BTS and other river ferries. It's a little out of the way, but the river is very pleasant and it connects well with public transportation.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the river view room with balcony. The room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ken N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We treated ourselves to a two night stay at the end of a 3 week backpacking trip. We loved our stay at this hotel, we stayed in a one bed apartment suite and the city views were amazing, bed comfortable and all very clean! The restaurant food was amazing, we dined there a few times, and the staff couldn't do enough for you. They spoke impeccable English and helped with advice on how do get places, organised taxi's etc. The only downside I would say is that the sunbed space is quite limited by the pool, we went mid April as its coming into low season - in high season I think you'd struggle - and I think the pool could have been cleaner but apart from that I honestly couldn't fault it. Note: The photo is of the apartment pool, not the hotel pool.

Things to do whilst there: we dined at Cabbages & Condoms Restaurant - a bit gimmicky but a must do whilst in Bangkok and for a good cause! Also Sky Bar (the original one) but be warned - drinks are a small fortune there, expect to pay around £20 for two drinks! Obviously the night markets are all worth a visit for the experience but are a little further from this hotel, however taxi's are cheap. TIP: If you visit the beauticians on sight, as I did for a manicure, make sure you agree the price clearly beforehand as they tried to overcharge me from what was shown on the price list and they tried to do the same with an Aussie girl who was paying at the start of my appointment! (Cheeky sods!)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our experience was wonderful. The check-in process was quick and smooth. The room was clean, spacious, and the view was gorgeous. The staff was wonderful throughout our stay. The breakfast was the best we had out of the seven hotels we stayed in during our trip. We would stay in this hotel again and recommend it to anyone going to Bangkok. Thank you for the wonderful experience!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_Nike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 867 in Bangkok
8,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#102 of 867 in Bangkok
4,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Property: Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Address: 28 Charoenkrung Soi 70 | Bangkholame, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, HostelWorld, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing