We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second very comfortable stay at the Chatrium”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #27 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Second very comfortable stay at the Chatrium”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was my second booking at the Chatrium. This time in a two bedroom River View Club Room which is worth the upgrade to enjoy the Club Lounge facilities (free afternoon tea and evening cocktails). The room was booked for my sister and niece who were visiting from the UK. Excellent staff, large comfortable, clean rooms, great view. Good breakfast and excellent evening buffet. Free in room wifi.

The proximity to the river bus service and the BTS at Saphan Taksin makes it an excellent location for first time visitors to Bangkok. However, I also found that the hotel is also very close to the Expressway exit/entrance and we found that it was often quicker taking a taxi to and from the area around the Grand Palace/Khaosan Road than taking the river bus. As the later often means having to wait up to half an hour and then wait again for the hotel ferry. Just make sure you tell the taxi driver to go by the Expressway/Highway/Tollway and be prepared to pay the 50 baht tollway fee.

Only one minor complaint, the food served with the evening cocktails in the Club Lounge are rather meagre but I must commend the free afternoon tea which is delicious.

Will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJ9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,246
    1,923
    339
    65
    33
See reviews for
1,903
3,501
447
429
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

My friend and I have experience a very good experience with the friendly staff and concierge. The hotel is accessible with the Chatrium boat that brings us to Sathorn Pier where Saphan Thaksin skytrain station is. We enjoyed our travel and indeed the hotel is a very nice place to stay in.

Room Tip: Choose a hotel room with a Riverside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank CheerfulLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

After an excellent stay last year, we stayed again this year for the 2nd and 3rd time. We did not regret our choice, we enjoyed it once again. The main reason why I have submitted a further review is we were caught out this time when we paid our account. We were given the option of paying our account in Thai Baht or Australian Dollars. We were in rush to get to the airport and didn't give it much thought. We chose Australian Dollars. We realised afterwards the hotel would apply their own rate. It turned out to be less favourable than through our credit card provider. My recommendation is do your own market research beforehand and ask the hotel what their exchange rate is before you commit. This is probably common knowledge, but even if it only helps out one reviewer, it's worth mentioning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank stm1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The Chatrium was a fantastic place to stay. The service we received from check-in to check-out was perfect, and always with a smile. We stayed in a river view apartment, which I would highly recommend. The apartment was immaculate, a real home from home with a large lounge and kitchenette. The view from the balcony and bedrooms was amazing. We ordered room service one evening and the food was excellent and very reasonably priced. The frequently running free shuttle boat to Saphan Taksin (skytrain station) is a big advantage. I will most definitely be staying at the Chatrium again! Faultless.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel was nice and pretty, easy to get to from other transport use other then taxi, good breakfast and food, rooms are good with soft beds and nice bathroom, a hotel I would recommend to stay in if you ever traveled to Bangkok

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank M094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The Chatrium was the first hotel we stayed at on our month long trip of SE Asia. We were upgraded to their hotel suite which had incredible views of the city and an amazing roof top pool. The location was a little out of the centre but that suited us as it was far more picturesque and tranquil, and we were able to access the main sites by boat and part of this trip was a complimentary service provided by the hotel. A perfect start to our honeymoon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyLeamington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel has everything you can expect from a top class hotel but is still reasonably priced. Spacious and well equipped rooms. Ask for a room on the riverside, you will be impressed!
The members of the staff we’ve met were all very friendly and they offered an excellent service. The frequently running free shuttle boat to Saphan Taksin (skytrain station) is a big advantage.
We would stay at Chatrium again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#98 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,139 reviews
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Property: Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Address: 28 Charoenkrung Soi 70 | Bangkholame, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing