We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury by the River in Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #28 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Luxury by the River in Bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Chatrium Hotel was more than expected with great service, excellent breakfast, luxury rooms and stunning view of the busy Chao Phraya River. Nearby there is non tourist Bangkok where you can enjoy freshly cooked local dishes for as little as $AUD3 a serve. Best suggestion is get a riverview room including breakfast, eat up big at the buffet breakfast and then sample local delights in the evening. Nearby is Robinson's department store for shopping without the need for a trip into the main shopping areas, although if you want to get into Sukhumvit or other areas taxis are cheap (insist on meter being turned on as soon as you are mobile) or use the Hotel transfer by boat to MRT station, from which options are plentiful.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms are best view-stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,245
    1,921
    339
    65
    33
See reviews for
1,903
3,499
447
429
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,115)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haskerdijken
Level Contributor
70 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Chatrium is a large hotel directly at the river, very easy to get around with the complementary boat to the main pier.
The staff is very friendly, rooms are nice but dusty.
The restaurant is excellent, breakfast and dinner!
Nice terrace at the river side.
Good view from the swimming pool over the river.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilfried G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herning, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Fantastic hotel in the heart of Bangkok. Everything is neatly taken care of, the service level all over the hotel is close to unmatched in this pricerange. Getting around in Bangkok starts out very easy with the shuttle boat service (free), that goes one stop down river to the skytrain, which connects to the metro, and with that in mind, we went there with 3 kids (6-9 years of age), and had a fantastic time the 4 days we stayed at Chatrium
The room was very very nice, since we had a suite with kitchen, double rooms and bathrooms, and the nice riverview from the 23. floor :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Morten_Gotfredsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I'd been to Bangkok several times but my 11 year old daughter, who has wanted to go for years, had never been. My recollection was that the city was huge, crowded and not very clean, and that other parts of Thailand were much more desirable.

We learned from some Thai folks that staying on the River might be more peaceful so we found this place on line. It was coup-time and we thought of skipping Bangkok altogether because of it but by the time we left Ko Lanta for BKK the reports were sounding okay, the curfew had lifted and things were back to normal (if you can bear traveling during a military coup that is).

We asked the airport taxi queue woman what to expect the taxi to charge and I was happy we did because there were various tolls and fees that otherwise would have seem exorbitant. I knew to not try to take a black taxi too. I felt relieved when the taxi driver knew exactly where the hotel was located and we got there without a hitch.

Our room didn't have a river view but since I had booked it on Expedia for a discount and we were only to be there two days I didn't fuss. The city view was largely of the residential building next door but there were other city view rooms to be had that had less obstructed views and next time I would ask for those.

The room itself was a good size, clean and even had a little kitchen area which we did not use.

The pool was fantastic, over the river, huge and lovely. I could have stayed there for days and skipped the sightseeing entirely.

The hotel has a river ferry that is a short ride to the main river ferry terminal where it is simple to get a river ferry to the Grand Palace and elsewhere. The information from the hotel's concierge was reliable and in English and we had no trouble getting around from the hotel.

There's a Starbucks and a mini market downstairs. We got some drink coupons for the top floor lounge and the night we went there was a great little jazz band playing with super friendly musicians. Plus, the view from the top is amazing and worth a look even with out the coupons. We had bar snacks and drinks for dinner one night.

The breakfast buffet was upstairs as well and the river view just fantastic from there. The buffet itself was good too and had many Thai and Western options.

One downside was that the neighborhood was lacking in shopping or walkable sights. We didn't mind for our two night stay enroute to other travel but any longer a stay and I'd want to be more central.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SanFranciscotoLDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
158 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

we (family with 2 Kids) stayed for 4 nights in a double bedroom suite with a wonderful river view. This was a great experience! Hotel is in a very good location on the river and the overall service is excellent. Let me hightlight the food of chinese restautant on the Hotel roof with an outstanding view of Bangkok.

Room Tip: great view of the river is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank WW_Traveller_1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campo Grande, MS
Level Contributor
216 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

the hotel is great, the location by the river with a great view. They have a free service transportation by boat ( it leaves on the subway, or the public transportation (boat) all they around.
The restaurants are great. The room is really large, clean, nice with a small kitchen

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tecalopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

After staying in a large number of hotels in Bangkok over the years, my wife and I spent 2 nights there this week. I wish it had been longer and it will be when we come back again in October. We had a deluxe one bed suite with a river view. It was fantastic. Big room with separate bedroom, kitchen and lounge. Big terrace over looking the river. The hotel is next to the river, hence the Riverside name, so view is great. They have a small hotel ferry which takes you to the metro station, 5 minutes away.
Staff were great, breakfast way better than normal.
Can't beat it!

Room Tip: Pay the fees £so more for the river views. Also the Thai food shops right outside do feel, delicious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surreyfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#98 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,137 reviews
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Property: Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Address: 28 Charoenkrung Soi 70 | Bangkholame, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#26 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Southall Travel, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelbag, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing