We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The service and hospitality was beyond words”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #29 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Annapolis, Maryland USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The service and hospitality was beyond words”
Reviewed 2 August 2009

My husband, teenaged son and 8-year old daughter spent 2 nights at the Chatrium during our 3-week vacation to Thailand. From the moment we entered the front doors, we were welcomed with smiles and a "Sawadii" (hello). We stayed in a riverside balcony suite- I would highly recommend this. My kids loved the 3 (yes I said "3") HD TV's with all of the cable stations we enjoy back in the USA. The meals and service at the hotel's River Barge Restaurant was so wonderful that we ate every meal for the 3 days we stayed at the hotel right at the River Barge Restaurant. The concierge was so helpful to us in planning our Bangkok sightseeing ventures. The Chatrium boat (which is free to all of the hotel guests) was so convenient. The boat brings you directly to the main transportation station for the subway, sky train and public boat transportation. We wanted so badly to extend our stay at the Chatrium . I would highly recommend this hotel to all visitors to Bangkok. The staff truly made our stay in Bangkok a memorable one.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BunsonBurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatriumSuitesBKK, Director of Rooms at Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok, responded to this review, 6 August 2009
Dear BunsonBurner,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share us your remarkable stay experience at Chatrium Suites Bangkok, A Dusit Thani Hotels Partner during your recent visit.

As a well traveled guest, your comments are valuable in helping us to maintain a high level of service and ensure that your expectations are met each visit. On this occasion, we are delighted to learn that you really enjoyed our hotel products and facilities especially service provided by our well trained staff.

Your kind compliments have been shared to our team members and I know that they appreciate the recognition that you have given and are always delighted to be of your service.

We certainly hope that your future plans to Bangkok will include Chatrium Suites Bangkok, A Dusit Thani Hotels Partner and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back with warm and gracious Thai hospitality.

Warmest regards,

Chatchawan Napawan
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,390
    1,970
    345
    68
    33
See reviews for
1,967
3,576
458
438
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,152)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

The location is wonderful with both water transit and sky train nearby. The frequent shuttle boats to the central pier (every 15 to 30 minutes until 10:30 pm) ensures transportation is a snap. Staying on the river makes seeing the primary sites easy and avoids Bangkok's infamous traffic.
The rooms were modern with all amenities. The in-suite check was helpful as we were shown any quirks and had questions answered. We upgraded to a one bedroom river view and loved the view. Windows and balcony ensured several different vistas..
Service was always friendly and they rushed to meet all requests. The front desk and concierge staff were excellent. We called the hotel as a cab driver was having difficulty finding a restaurant . Not only did they explain to the driver where the restaurant was but they called ahead and reserved a table for us. A question about Healthland Spa resulted in them obtaining a price list and booking recommended services. Nat ( a concierge), arranged a private driver for a day for us us to see Kanchanaburi . The taxi driver he identified, was pleasant and knowledgeable. He even found a wild monkey troupe to which we fed bananas.
The included breakfast was delicious. With endless choices of different food types - Eastern and Western.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and would return in a heartbeat. The two bedroom suite would be an excellent choice for families.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singing-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatriumSuitesBKK, Director of Rooms at Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok, responded to this review, 27 July 2009
Dear Singing-Traveller,

Thank you so much for sparing your valuable time to share us your remarkable stay experience at Chatrium Suites Bangkok, A Dusit Thani Hotels Partner during your recent visit.

As a well traveled guest, your comments are valuable in helping us to maintain a high level of service and ensure that your expectations are met each visit. On this occasion, we are delighted to learn that you really enjoyed our accomodation with river view and other facilities as well as personalised services from our well trained staff.

We have thanked Mr. Nat - Assistant Chief Concierge on your behalf for personally assisting you and ensureing that your stay and your arrangement were up to your satisfaction.

We certainly hope that your future plans to Bangkok will include Chatrium Suites Bangkok, A Dusit Thani Hotels Partner and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back with warm and gracious Thai hospitality.

Warmest regards,

Chatchawan Napawan
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We stayed 3 nights in June and would have liked to stay for weeks! Since the Chatrium lies next to the Chao Phraya river and about a 10 - 15 minutes Skytrain, boat, or tuk-tuk- ride from Bangkok's major tourist attractions and shopping areas it conveys an atmosphere of stunning beauty and peace - a pure oasis! The Chatrium has a broad open air pool area in the 6th floor from where one has an outstanding view onto the river and the city; the same view, by the way, which we could enjoy from our spacious and stylish room on the 11th floor. But all this would have been nothing without the unbelievabley friendly, helpful and professional staff! Mentionable is also Chatrium's own complimentary river taxi that connects the hotel with the nearest Skytrain station (in about 5 minutes time) as well as a Starbucks coffee shop and a 7evleven convenience store which both are in the same complex. The only thing one could consider to change is - to our mind - that the hotel don't offer free internet access for those who don't travel with their own laptop. But this is really the only matter we could "complain" about - everything else was at our complete satisfaction. To cut a long story short: We can recommend the Chatrium Suites without reservation.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hemingway3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatriumSuitesBKK, Director of Rooms at Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok, responded to this review, 29 July 2009
Dear Hemingway3,

First of all thank you most sincerely for taking the time to give your comments on your experience during your recent stay with us. We always appreciate having our guests bring to our attention, as you have done, what has not met with their expectations.

On this occasion, we are delighted to learn that you are overall enjoyed your stay with us especially service provided by our well trained and professionalism staff. Your kind compliments haven been shared to all team member and I know that they are appreciate the recognition that you have given to and are delighted to be of your services.

The point you raised iregarding the internet charge is well received and we will discuss this in length with the Management Team to review the guest's priviledges and benefits as we constantly strive to rectify our shortcomings and find better ways to meet guest expectations and serve guest better.

Meanwhile, we hope to be given the opportunity to welcome you back again with the Kingdom’s world-renowned tradition of Thai hospitality.

Yours sincerely,
Chatchawan Napawan
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Have traveled to BKK for 7 years now 4 times per year. First stay here. Right on the River with a great pool and a great breakfast. Rooms large with flat panel TV'S, Kitchenettes, Bangkok Post in morning. The staff is first rate and very attentive. Will be back again and again. Very quiet and peaceful. The kids ages 15 and 12 loved every minute.

They have a boat to take you to Skytrain station every 15 min which allows great access to rest of BKK.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank homefest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatriumSuitesBKK, Chatchawan Napawan - Director of Rooms at Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok, responded to this review, 20 July 2009
Dear Homefest,

Thank you so much for sparing your valuable time to share us your remarkable stay experience at Chatrium Suites Bangkok, A Dusit Thani Hotels Partner during your recent visit.

As a well traveled guest, your comments are valuable in helping us to maintain a high level of service and ensure that your expectations are met each visit. On this occasion, we are delighted to learn that you really enjoyed our spacious guest room with the view and shuttle boat service as well as personalize service received from our well trained staff.

Your kind compliments have been shared to our team members andI know that they are appreciate the recognition that you have given and are always delighted to be of your service.

We certainly hope that your future plans to Bangkok will include Chatrium Suites Bangkok, A Dusit Thani Hotels Partner and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back with warm and gracious Thai hospitality.

Warmest regards,
Chatchawan Napawan
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

This hotel lives up to it's reviews - great value pricing, and well fitted out rooms/apartments. The shuttle boat to the sky train is fast, regular and efficient so makes transport easy around Bangkok. The rooms are large and elegantly done. The staff are very friendly and happy to help with any requests. The only suggestions for improvement are the staff need to improve their English skills, it took several times to phrase requests in a way they understood, but their attitude was very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatriumSuitesBKK, Chatchawan Napawan - Director of Rooms at Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok, responded to this review, 15 July 2009
Dear Robinpark,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to provide us feedback after your recent stay with us at Chatrium Suites Bangkok, A Dusit Thani Hotels Partner.

As a well traveled guest, your comments are valuable in helping us to maintain a high level of service and ensure that your expectations are met each visit. On this occasion, we are delighted to learn that you really enjoyed your stay here both accomodation, shuttle boat service and particularly personalised services received from our well trained staff.

The point you raised regarding English language skill of our staff is well received and we continually strive to serve our guests better and very much appreciate your comments so that we can immediately find the improvements.

We certainly hope that your future plans to Bangkok will include Chatrium Suites Bangkok, A Dusit Thani Hotels Partner and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back with warm and gracious Thai hospitality.

Yours sincerely,

Chatchawan Napawan
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2009

This new suite hotel was an excellent expierence from the moment I arrived until I left. Great room,fitness area, lovely outdoor pool and superb service levels. Great value for money and will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d_watt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatriumSuitesBKK, Director of Rooms at Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok, responded to this review, 31 July 2009
Dear d_watt

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to provide us the feedback after your recent stay at Chatrium Suites Bangkok, A Dusit Thani Hotels Partner.

Your comments are valuable in helping us to maintain a high level of service and ensure that guest expectations are met each visit. On this occasion, we are delighted to learn that you really enjoyed our facilities and products, particulary our personalised service provided by our well trained staff which makes your most pleasant stay with us.

Your kind comments have been shared to our team members and they are all appreciative.

We are very grateful for your patronage on this occasion and certainly hope that your future plans to Bangkok will include Chatrium Suites Bangkok , A Dusit Thani Hotels Partner and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back with warm and gracious Thai hospitality.

Yours sincerely,

Chatchawan Napawan
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ekero, Sweden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

It started not so good, traveling with two teenagers we booked 2 one-room suites. Of course we wanted the rooms to be close and on the same floor (we also asked for non-smoking, high floor and quiet). When arriving we were told that we were put on different floors. After some waiting time we were shown to our rooms, witch turned out to be smoking rooms (why allowing smoking in a new hotel???) and facing a building dump. Fortunately a supervisor showed up and this was corrected. Rooms still on low floor, but it seems that hotel only utilize lower 6 floors (my guess). Usually the check-in process says a lot about the hotel, but happily in this case this was wrong. This is one of the best hotels I ever stayed at. Everything from restaurant, both breakfast and dinner (somewhat expensive), was excellent, the balcony facing the river and the boat that took you to the skytrain. If you do not want to take skytrain there are some decent restaurants just by the pier. All in all a very good place, and if they managed to clean up the check-in procedure easily will make it to top 3. Last year we stayed at Lebua witch also was nice. The difference is that Chatiurm has a better location by river, better staff and better prices. We will be back. Now off to Koh Samui and the Waterfront.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nisse_persson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChatriumSuitesBKK, Chatchawan Napawan - Director of Rooms at Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok, responded to this review, 30 June 2009
Dear nisse_persson,

First of all , thank you most sincerely for taking the time to give your comments on your experience during your recent stay with u at Chatrium Suites Bangkok, A Dusit Thani Hotels Partner. We always appreciate having our guests bring to our attention, as you have done, what has not met with their expectations.

The points you raised are well received and we sincerely regret that you have been disappointed with the room allocation and in room checking in process. There is no excuse to make but please rest assured that we have discuss this in length with Department Heads concerned to review the whole process as we constantly strive to rectify our shortcomings and find better ways to meet guest expectations and serve you better.

Meanwhile, we hope to be given the opportunity to welcome you back again with the Kingdom’s world-renowned tradition of Thai hospitality.

Yours sincerely,
Chatchawan Napawan
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 858 in Bangkok
8,124 reviews
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#101 of 858 in Bangkok
4,266 reviews
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Property: Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Address: 28 Charoenkrung Soi 70 | Bangkholame, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#27 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing