We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #30 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 11 November 2010

I stayed in Chatrium in August this year. Location of the hotel was not central but its easy getting around in BKK with cabs and the BTS. I had a Thai friend who visited me and he had some trouble finding the hotel. The hotel provides ferry services every 10-15min, like other hotels such as Mandarin Oriental. It was a great hop on and off service. I got off and the ferry terminal then hopped on Mandarin's ferry shuttle, the BTS station is also a 3 min walk away.

Checking in was a breeze with most of the procedure (filling in of forms and such) done in the room so waiting time at the reception was minimal. Front office staff were excellent. Spoke great English and were thoughtful and polite. Rooms are huge with a small kitchenette area and bathrooms were a decent size too. Perhaps because of the size of the room, it appeared less cosy..but the bed was very comfortable.

Breakfast spread was lesser than other 5* hotels I have stayed in but the food was good. I wonder why though all hotels even the 5 stars one or more always give crappy house coffees.

I visit Bangkok rather frequently and was still suitably impressed with Chatrium. However, if the main idea is to shop, a more centrally located hotel would probably be more ideal. We got a good deal for our room and it was a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lfeyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,388
    1,970
    345
    68
    33
See reviews for
1,967
3,574
458
438
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,152)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Stayed here for the first time as it was top on the list on TripAdvisor. The trip was planned to celebrate my partner's b-day so I had hoped that I had made the right decision by not staying at my usual. Upon first impression, I was a bit worried, but turned out we had a great time and a delightful unexpected surprise.

Upon check-in, we were offered an opportunity to upgrade to a river view room. As it wasn't much more $$$, I decided it would be worth it. The room was sufficiently large, the best part being the huge balcony with an unobstructed view of the river below (we spent a lot of time on the balcony with our cameras).

Up until the day of my partner's b-day, our experience was just average. What happened next really won me over. Upon returning to our room from a nice dinner at the Peninsula, we found a beautiful birthday cake placed on the kitchen counter waiting for us. My partner was so delighted! We had not informed anyone of her b-day. This was definitely a nice touch.

The hotel facilities is above average at best, but the impeccable service and attention to detail is what made the difference between a mediocre stay and a most enjoyable stay. We will definitely be back and recommend to friends.

My compliments to the hotel manager.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATL0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loondon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Let me start by saying, to be fair, that this is a good budget choice - I'm sure many of the five star reviews must be balancing the hotel itself quite heavily against the price, which is, I suppose, what we all do to some extent when writing reviews! For us, however, the place turned out to be not as impressive as we had expected from photos/write-ups. We actually hadn't particularly chosen Chatirum for the price. We wanted somewhere on the river for this trip, having stayed last time in Sukhumvit - it was the reviews that sold us, with all the raves about great room quality and size, balconies, location, being No 1 on Trip Advisor, etc, etc. Sadly, it turned out to be a bit ordinary to our minds and rather disappointing overall. We perhaps made the Bangkok newbie mistake of thinking that “all river locations are about the same, so why pay more?”.

The hotel interior is very “officey” and utilitarian – a bit bleak, but at least the views are great if you get a river-facing room. The rooms are spacious, certainly. But I don’t know that the size makes up for the very bland, very spartan furnishings and the somewhat “clinical” feel of the place. Everything does look as though it’s been done on a budget. Cheap fabrics, thin towels, hard and uncomfortable sofa and chair. We found our room (a deluxe River view) strangely gloomy with its expanse of dark wood flooring, in spite of the generous square metre-age. We felt like we were in a doctor’s waiting room or an airport lounge - smart and clean but totally without character. Bathrooms are fine, if basic. Housekeeping was what you’d expect in any international hotel. Service in general was perfectly efficient and very pleasant, but not “over and above” by Thai standards.

There are two restaurants, we had look round and neither appealed – like the rooms, rather depressing and lacking in atmosphere, not the places for a fun night out. This wouldn’t normally bother us, as we like to eat ‘out of hotel’ mostly. Unforturnately, that’s not really an option in this locale. There really isn’t much in the vicinity and the street atmosphere is not at all pleasant or buzzy compared to other areas of Bangkok, very little of interest within walking distance. So we ended up getting taxis or boats into other districts to eat, which was a bit of a pain and not nearly as much fun as meandering from the door and picking out appealing spots.

Particularly if you’re only staying a couple of nights, as we were, I would think carefully before picking Chatrium Suites. If you want somewhere spacious but basic to lay your heads (and if you have plenty of time on your hands to “make up for” the lacklustre hotel experience in other ways), it’s absolutely fine. If, however, you want to absorb as much of the atmosphere of Bangkok as you can in a short space of time and would like your accommodation to be a special part of the experience, my recommendation would be to shell out for somewhere a kilometre or so up the river or one of the many boutique hotels in a more central neighbourhood, eg, Sukhumvit. Having said that, we did sneak a peek at a couple of the suites, and although they still exhibited the general lack of charm of the hotel in general, they had better views, separate living rooms and more amenities than the cheaper rooms. All in all, a good business hotel or a smart choice for anyone on a more limited budget.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MoneypennyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
170 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

If you are a regular visitor to Bangkok, I would definitely recommend a riverside hotel. That’s because, unlike a Sukumvit or Silom hotel, a stay on the riverside changes the paradigm and adds a whole new dimension to observing Bangkok life.

The Chatrium ranks no. 1 (currently) on tripadvisor, but wears its crown uneasily (do remember that it is a Dusit Thani partner hotel, and not part of the Dusit Thani Chain).

The hotel itself sits on a magnificent piece of real estate. Beautifully manicured lawns, alfresco dining along the Chao Praya river, and a stunning pool. Except for the elevators which seems to be stuck on the upper floors.

Remember, they don’t guarantee you a river facing room. For that you need to pay Baht 400 extra per night, and my advice is to take it ! We got room number 2609, a corner room suite comprising of an odd shaped living room, a compact bedroom, and a superb balcony facing the river. Apart from a broken draw, the apartment was pretty swell and comfy. The second TV / DVD is an added bonus for those traveling with kids.

The guys at the reception are neither too warm or too cold. They just mind their own business, unless spoken to. Mention however must be made of Mr. Narote, chief concierge who is a bundle of charm and natural energy.

Room service was a bit tardy though, and it seems that they are grossly understaffed in this area.

Staying at a riverside hotel means traveling via a free shuttle boat provided by the hotel, to reach Saphan Taksin BTS station (5 mins., friendly boat staff). What’s even more interesting is, taking the local ferries (Baht 15 only !) to travel upstream or downstream, to discover the charms of China Town or Khao San road, just day tripping in a happy state of mind.

One last advice. On the way back to the airport, insist, (at least 6 hours in advance) for the guys at the concierge to book you a “metered” taxi. Do not agree on a flat rate, as this will cost you almost double. The cost to the airport is approx. 300 Bhats plus 75 Bahts road rolls.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woody2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Loved this hotel. Stayed on the way to Europe, and very pleased we did. Our room was huge, with terrific river views, very stylish and modern. Bed was very comfortable and the bathroom very classy. Staff went out of their way to be helpful, food was great including the extensive buffet breakfast. We got a good rate, booking over 30 days in advance. Only gripe was that we had to pay for our internet connection. We would have no hesitation staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Had a very relaxing stay here on the way to Koh Samui. So nice we stayed another night.
Very clean good sized room with river view. Lovely bathroom. Great outside pool area. Good little gym.
Nicely designed. Good breakfasts. Free ferry service to ferry stop and skytrain.
The staff were all wonderful and even booked our onward flights.
I want to go back!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2010

We stayed here during our last 2 nights in Thailand. A great way to relax after backpacking for 3 weeks. Absolutely excellent accommodations! Beatiful pool and facilities too! The breakfast in the morning is not to be missed! The hotel is right on the river and there's a complimentary shuttle boat every 10mins to the nearby skytrain station (5min boat trip). From there you can easily connect to anywhere in Bangkok. Absolutely no complaints! I would 100% recommend Chatrium Suites !!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsyTraveller6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 858 in Bangkok
8,123 reviews
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#102 of 858 in Bangkok
4,265 reviews
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Property: Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Address: 28 Charoenkrung Soi 70 | Bangkholame, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing