We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel with great staff in a decent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #27 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful hotel with great staff in a decent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

Hotel was gorgeous, brand new and very modern. The rooms were very nice as well. Our suite was spacious and very clean, with a kitchen and living room in addition to a large bedroom. The food was good, though we only sampled the breakfast buffet. The hotel is set back from everything, right on the river but a bit south of the city center. However, the hotel provides a shuttle ferry to the main pier (a 5 minute trip) and taxis were readily available to take you whereever needed. It was also nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok, which can be a bit overwhelming. The hotel grounds were very large, such that you almost didn't feel like you were in a city while staying there. As smothering as Bangkok can feel at times, it was nice to be able to go back to our hotel and get away from it all. All in all, a great value for the money.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJSolar36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,246
    1,923
    339
    65
    33
See reviews for
1,903
3,501
447
429
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

Friendly staff, good food, nice poolside bar, not bang in the heart of the city, which you'd prefer if with friends/spouse but perfect place for a family stay. Value for money, responsive, friendly staff

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kunalpareek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

We had a very nice stay in this modern hotel. Especially we were positively surprised by the service level and the good lunch restaurant. Our daughter celebrated her 14 years birthday during our stay, and the hotel surprised her with a fantastic cake for breakfast and later with flowers! Many thanks! Perfect for families.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen,Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

A bit out of the town centre, maybe abit more of a business hotel than for vacation but I wouldn't swap it for anything. Stayed in well rated hotels in Bangkok previously but this is the best so far. Got a good deal through agoda. It is a suite more than a hotel room. Spacious, and a good view even thought you opt for the cheaper city view. Lovely bathroom. Shower and a tub..great water pressure, nice after getting sticky and sweaty in the city. Comfortable beds, proper duvets.
Nice breakfast, variety of both asian and european food. Nice pool area, great view also here.
The free shuttleboat is great to take you to the ferry boats or the sky train.
2 cons here; the price in the pool bar is NOT for those on a budget. 2 beers took us back almost 500THB and there should be free WiFi in the hotel. We unfortunately had to borrow the internet in the business area, paid about 300THB for printing and 30mins on the net.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trine1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

We arrived 4 hours before check in on the 01/01/2011. The hotel manager advised us our room was not available due to the hotel being fuly booked. We expected this but thought we would try our luck. The manager was incredible helpful and got our bags put in storage, gave us a key to the luxury gym so we could freshen up after a 14 hour flight. This was the best shower I have ever had!.

We came back at midday and the manager had upgraded us from a standard room to a 1 bed apartment over looking the river. It was beautiful.

We tried the restaurant downstairs on our first night and it was amazing food and value. Personally I wouldn't recommend the buffet as it wasn't to my taste. The morning buffet was replaced frequently and offered a large selection to cater for every taste.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and I would recommend staying here to anyone. The only slight downfall is the location as its not central. However the hotel does provide a free shuttle boat to a local port throughout the day. Local transport links are great and its just up to you to get out there.

For the sake of honestly the only thing I would add is that although the hotel does claim 5 star status, the room we stayed in wasn't quite up to that standard - only little things like, stained carpets and chairs. The shower having a broken tile. This lack of attention to detail seems to be throughout thailand, but in return you get the best service, ever!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taylorabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

We had a really lovely stay at Chatirum Suites. The 2 BR suite was fantastic and absolutely huge. The staff were excellent - particularly the concierge staff who had great suggestions and organised a number of activities for us. The only slight negative is that the hotel is in a fairly quiet location and there are not a lot of bars or restaurants nearby. However, there is a regular ferry that takes you to the Central Pier and the skytrain and taxis are very cheap.The other negative is that the pool was very cold (it must have been cooled) even though the weather was beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FESHAdventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
263 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

Spent a total of 3 nights in a two bedroom grand suite. The hotel's location is a bit out of the way and is a long taxi drive from the airport. Once there they offer a shuttle boat to the sky train & taxi boat station which is very convenient & only a short boat ride away. The suite was very well laid out and the balcony overlooking the river is great. The beds are some of the most comfortable I have ever slept in with fantastic linen etc. The breakfast was a bit disappointing & the service was very bad especially if you sit outside on the terrace. We eventually cleared our own dishes away.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulu008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#98 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,139 reviews
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Property: Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Address: 28 Charoenkrung Soi 70 | Bangkholame, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, Travelbag, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing