We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #28 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 3 February 2011

What a great place! Beautiful rooms and scenic pool looking over the river. The food was really nice too and the staff very helpful, even organising a breakfast box for us to take on our very early departure to the airport. Easy to catch the shuttle boat to the beginning of the Sky Train to get everywhere in Bangkok. Will definately stay there next time - I can't wait!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buttonlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,305
    1,946
    342
    66
    33
See reviews for
1,935
3,529
453
430
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

fantastic hotel - beautiful rooms, beautiful hotel, amazing service, reasonably priced (29th floor suite with massive balcony and river views - $100?????), very, very good restaurant, easy access to the rest of the city via their boat/the skytrain. Probably the best hotel I've ever been in.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyprchrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

1)the hotel is in a beautiful setting, the gardens, the pool, the outdoor eating facilities are superb.
2)the front desk was always helpful and pleasant.
3) the rooms are large, well appointed, clean, and of superior standard
4) the free shuttle boat made touring extremely easy to access the sites/skytrain
5) the breakfast encompassed all nationality preferences
I couldn't have been happier to stay at this hotel. I was treated well. We had a most pleasant experience and will definitely return to this hotel whenever we are in Bangkok.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. All in all the hotel is very good, my only issue being the fact that it is just a bit out of the way. The hotel provides a frequent river shuttle to the local Sky train station, from where you can get to most of the tourist spots. It just seems to add about 30 minutes to each trip out. Also if you are coming back after the shuttle has finished, it is sometimes difficult to find a cab from the station. Many pluses though. Rooms are excellent, as is the pool area. Breakfast buffet very good, but when the hotel is busy, they seem to struggle a bit. In conclusion, if you are happy with a slightly longer trip to the sights, and can get for a good price, book it. If you want to be in the middle of everything, try somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianjamesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Sorry this is no longer number 1 - it should be! It is significantly cheaper than the other 5-star hotels, but has everything you need. The place looks nice, has all the services and comforts you would expect, wonderful views, and the facilities are great. The restaurants we tried were very good, with a selection of Thai and Western food. The swimming pool and surrounding deck is very nice, a lovely place to while away an afternoon. The shuttle boat (which all the major hotels also provide) makes getting out to the city extremely easy also.

Whatever else Chatrium has to offer, the staff absolutely make the place. Everyone we met was friendly and extremely helpful, the service complete but not fussy or intrusive. The staff are not automatons, they showed their personalities and yet served us impeccably - it felt like it was a pleasure for them to work for us, which made us feel pampered. If I ever visit Bangkok again I will definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PickledPear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

GROUP SIZE:
Traveling with group of 4. 2 couples,

TRAVEL STYLE:
Flashpacker with occasional splurge.

TRIP ITINERARY:
10 days Vietnam, 5 days Cambodia, 5 days Thailand

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hotel Review
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Welcome/Check-In:
Checking in was easy. Got our room and settled in.

Room Cleanliness:
We booked the 2 bedroom suite--
The room was gorgeous with tasteful modern decor. Room was super clean. Queen sized bed, AC, fridge, free wi-fi,

Bathroom Cleanliness:
Clean bathroom WITH A SEPARATE SHOWER which is important to us.

Location:
Location was about 20 minutes away from downtown BKK ( I guess when I say downtown BKK I mean Siam area). The hotel is a bit out of the way on the banks of the Chao Praya river. The hotel has a free boat shuttle service to and from the hotel and Saphan Taksin station. From there you must take the BTS/MRT to your destination. If taking a taxi, depending on the time of day, it may cost anywhere from $1.50 to $5 (US Dollars) to get from Siam to the hotel.

Staff:
The staff at this hotel was super friendly!

Spa/Massages:
The hotel offers massages, but I found a better massage place across the street from the hotel to the right on the middle of the street called Lara (I think). It is not hard to spot as it has a huge storefront. The masseuses at this place were awesome!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jet2dresq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

stayed from 24th Jan for 5 nights. The breakfasts were good and had a decent meal in the restaurant one evening. The pool area is great with fine views over the river. The massage parlour in the neighbouring Chatrium residences is excellent.

My only concerns were the internet charges at 310 Bhat for a 24 hour period and the free transfer boat to the BTS station stops at around 10.40 p.m.

Overall we had a great stay

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDTUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#102 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,186 reviews
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Property: Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Address: 28 Charoenkrung Soi 70 | Bangkholame, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#25 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing