We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location wonderful stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Ranked #31 of 896 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We only stayed 2 nights but were highly delighted. The buffet in the riverside barge restraunt was incredible. Grand Palace only 3 stops away on the river barge. There was a power problem with the lights when we arrived for about 4 hours. But to compensate when we checked out 2000 bhats were deducted from our restraunt bill. Delicouse breakfasts with beautiful views of the river. Top class service.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol3339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,970 - 5,976 of 8,711 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2011

Cons :
The shuttle boat is not frequent, every 15 mins even in rush hours. Service stop at 10:30 which is too early to enjoy bangkok night life. We were there during chinese new year holidays and the hotel was under staff, particularily during breakfast. Food was not excellent and replenishment was slow.
Pros :
Excellent river view. It's also close to highway that means can escape from the traffic chaos when travel to and from airport. The spa is also very good and value for money. But cannot charge to the room bill so remember to bring along credit card or money. The 7-11 store and starbucks on site provide extra convenient.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicinici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

I chose this hotel because it was No. 1 on Tripadvisor for Bangkok hotel at the time of booking. However, its ranking has dropped when I was writing this review.

I was told by the hotel staff that it was a new hotel. It is far from downtown and guests can take the free shuttle along the river to the Saphan Taksin BTS station and take the skytrain to town. I didn't have much sightseeing time after my business so it was a real hassle for me. Taking taxi was an option but took even more time because the roads were perpetually jammed. Moreover, a lot of taxi-drivers had no idea where this hotel was.

I usually stay at Hilton or Conrad on my travels to Bangkok. Chatrium Suites did not match in standard although the rooms were spacious and clean. Room fittings, joinery and workmanship paled in comparison.

The bed was too soft and springy but the small kitchenette and river view did make up for the shortcoming.

Breakfast was mediocre in my opinion with a very limited variety of continental, American and Thai food.

I wouldn't stay here again if I am on business. But it is a fair choice for visitors who prefer to stay in a quieter hotel along the river.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaywai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Rooms wonderfull , service excellent, location stunning, food superior, bed super comfortable. Started my holiday at the Chatrium , thereafter wherever I stayed was a really hard act to follow.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

The 2 bedroom suite facing the river view was good, clean, quiet with all the amenities usually provided for in a good hotel. We were particularly impressed with the service at the restaurants, especially so by Bobby at the River Barge outlet. He was so cheerful and smiley and gave superb service.

The only down side is that we had to pay for the internet. Other than that, everything else was great.

The ferry shuttle service to the BTS station was excellent. It was really convenient to get around quickly and comfortably, without all the hassle of getting caught in traffic jams.


The hotel airport transfers was also very convenient for us, although it was a bit pricey. If we had got a taxi at the airport, we would probably have a hard time explaining where the hotel is located.

So, overall we had a very relaxing and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyvvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

We booked a city view room but on arrival were offered an upgrade for a very reasonable amount and we are so glad we did. Lovely river view suite with large balcony. The check in process is smooth, most of it done in the comfort of own room. Most comfortable bed of our entire holiday. Also had the chance to pay for an extra half day as our flight was a late one. Staff very good, nothing too much trouble. Ate at restaurant, lovely buffet with band playing. Breakfast included, good and wide variety. The shuttle boat service also excellent. Swimming pool excellent with lovely sunbathing area and bar. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenbuzzards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

My wife and I stayed at Chatrium hotel two times...Jan 21-25-11 and Jan 29-Feb 4th-11. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay....the staff at hotel were very attentive to our needs. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2,260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 896 in Bangkok
8,882 reviews
Millennium Hilton Bangkok
#142 of 896 in Bangkok
5,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok

Address: 28, Soi Charoen Krung 70 | Wat Phraya Krai, Bang Kho Laem, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#23 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#28 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#30 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £62 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok is our multiple award-winning 5-star hotel situated by the legendary Chao Phraya River, offering unparalleled and truly breathtaking views. Unwind in superiorly spacious guestrooms, each with river or cityscape views from the comfort of your bed or private balcony. Drink and dine at any of our six restaurants and bars, including spectacular buffets and Chinese cuisine. Work off the calories in our Fitness Center, relax by the infinity pool or be pampered at Nemita Spa, and when business calls, hold meetings in the function rooms or grand events in the Chatrium Ballroom. Chatrium is born from a passion to deliver uncompromising, warm service and an authentic destination experience. It is something we spread across all of our properties to ensure a remarkable experience that’s genuine, personal and reliable,wherever you decide to stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TravelUp, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chatrium Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Chatrium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing