We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“return visit”
Review of Sam Sen Sam Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sam Sen Sam Place
Ranked #36 of 644 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“return visit”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at Sam Sen Sam Place about three years ago and enjoyed it then so having a couple of days left to round off our tour of Thailand we decided to go back. I was totally blown away when we were greeted by the owner who recognised us and made us feel very welcome, showing us to the room we had stayed in on our first stay!
We try to avoid the grand huge hotels in the city, preferring quiet family run guest houses or very small establishments as they have such warm and friendly atmospheres. Sam Sen is a side street off Sam Sen Road and is over 100 years old. It was the family home of a doctor and was also a small primary school. It has remained in the same family ever since. The rooms are bright and airy, well furnished and spotless. There isn't a min-bar, although water is provide daily, but there are drinks available through reception and they are not at all expensive.
There were several set menu choices for breakfast which was ample, with plenty of coffee refills. We chose to sit out in the courtyard where there is a well stocked fish pond.
For an evening meal the nearest restaurant is further along the street on the river bank, a nice open air fish restaurant used mainly by local residents rather than tourists and it was very good. A 20 minute walk will take you to Khao San Road where there are endless eateries and bars and lots of opportunities to shop. There is also a ferry pier there where you can buy a £3 day ticket which allows you travel up and down the river, getting on and off wherever you fancy.
The owner, Mam, and her staff are really helpful and will offer advice or order train tickets and taxis for you.
The only thing I missed was not having tea/coffee facilities in the room but again, it is always available in the reception if you ask.
After a hectic few weeks of travelling Sam Sen is a quiet restfull stop-over before the long haul home so we are certain to stay here again on our next visit. Thank you Mam.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somersetgirl011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    126
    40
    10
    4
See reviews for
17
163
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed at Sam Sen Sam in March 2013 (I didn't have the option of choosing March 2013 in the scroll down menu, so it says June 2013) I really liked it, the owner was very nice and helpful, the breakfast was good (and you had different menu options which was nice). The rooms were clean, bright and basic (the bathroom could use a redo) and what I really liked mostly about Sam Sen Sam was the location… just a short walk to the river through a quiet, calm residential area, but still very close to the action, and a pleasant 20 - 30 minute walk to the Royal palace :) Safe, clean and good value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chitowngirl_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We have just returned from thailand and had the last three nights of our stay here at sam sen sam place.
We booked a special president room which was OK nothing special and I wouldn't know what to expect from their standard rooms! the house keeping was poor we didnt get our bed made just the sheet pulled onto the bed and the linen was the same for the three days we stayed here which when it is so hot and rather muggy at night we did think it would have been changed.
The towels are fresh each day but only if you put them on the floor in the bathroom.
None of the toiletries are replaced after your first day which again we though would have been as a little shower gel bottle wont go far between two for three days
Breakfast for us was fine and enough to get you through to evening.
The staff are friendly enough - the only thing that baffled me a little was when we checked out and asked to have their taxi service to the airport we were told to just walk to the main road and flag one down as they couldn't get a taxi to us?!? so we ended up lugging our cases down the road and flagging a taxi. We would not say we wouldn't stay here again but would look for alternative accommodation before booking here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kantharawichai, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

A little disappointing, room ok but a little dirty I booked a special president room with american breakfast, I don't think you can class egg on toast as an American breakfast! When we were leaving asked if they could order us a taxi to the Nokon Chai Air bus station they told us to walk to the main road and flag one down! This was quite a distance to move our luggage then have to cross the busy main road..... NOT IMPRESSED! Only saving point was the location was good for our needs. We will probably not go there again.....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khlm62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hikkaduwa, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Nous sommes restés 3x 4j au sam sen sam en revenant de nos différentes excusions en Thaïlande, Laos et Cambodge, et il faut dire que cette maison traditionnelle tout en tek ainsi que l accueil familial des tenanciers ont un charme fou!
On se sent immédiatement chez soi, et oui il faut payer l équivalent de 1€ pour une heure d internet mais le wifi est extrêmement rapide et gratuit. Et de toute façon l hôtel est tellement bien situé qu il n y a aucune raison de trainer sur internet! Le petit dej avec 5 kits possibles est excellent, il y a de l eau fraiche a dispo dans le frigo de chaque chambre, qui sont propres et bien décorées.

We stayed 3 Times about 4 nights In this friendly hôtel between our différent trips In south east asia. This traditional teak house and its staff looked familiar to us after only a few hours! 5 different kit-breakfasts, terrific wifi speed, clean and well décorated rooms with free fresh water, well what else would one expect for 35€ a night ? Plus the hotel is 2' away from the hectic kaosan road, enough to be at peace but close enough for a few drinks. Perfect stay!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Swissbourlingueurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

SSS place offers a nice, home-like stay in Bangkok. Located just off the main road in the tourist area you'll have a good night's sleep and you can still be in the bar street in a couple of minutes. Best if both worlds!
Friendly staff, clean rooms and basic breakfast, at reasonable prices.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Giant J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
286 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Rooms and shared baths are very clean.Friendly staff. Also fan rooms available. The only and quite big con thing was the lac of privacy at the hostel. It's an old wooden house and you can hear exactly what others are doing in their rooms. Maybe we were just unlucky but had neighbours on both side of our room doing skype calls quite late in the evening. So take your earplugs with, just in case! Also the location is quite awful if you want to see Bangkok the living city, not just the traveller ghetto and couple of wats - you must rely on taxi for many directions. It's useful to know that in the travellers area the restaurants are below average, if you are interested in thai food. On the other hand, if you crave for european or american comfort foods, you'll be happy here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelsinkiBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Roof View Place
Roof View Place
#327 of 858 in Bangkok
412 reviews
Banglamphu
Penpark Place
Penpark Place
#48 of 644 in Bangkok
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Once In Bangkok Guesthouse
Once In Bangkok Guesthouse
#50 of 644 in Bangkok
64 reviews
Banglamphu
New Siam Guest House II
New Siam Guest House II
#31 of 644 in Bangkok
815 reviews
Banglamphu
Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam Sen Sam Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam Sen Sam Place

Property: Sam Sen Sam Place
Address: 48 Samsen Rd., Soi Samsen 3 | Banglumpoo, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 644 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sam Sen Sam Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Zenrooms, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sam Sen Sam Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sam Sen Sam Place Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing