We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad!”
Review of Taewez Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taewez Guesthouse
Ranked #533 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Nice quiet neighbourhood, about 25 mins walk to Kao san Road. Rooms are simple and clean enough. You get aircon which was a bonus as it's pretty hot. Bathrooms are clean. Staff are friendly and the cafe serves a good range of food. Internet is not 24 hours as advertised though. Rooms are fairly bare too. Good for the price (B450 a night).

Room Tip: Get a room with windows to outside, not to corridors as it seems quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Racheybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2012

We've stayed at the Taewez several times in the last couple of years and we find it very good value for the money. It's a very simple, clean guest house, run by very friendly, helpful people who speak both English and French. The neighborhood is calm but great, very authentic, with a nice market just across the street. There are another couple of guesthouses just next door and you eat well in all of them. A fifteen minute walk takes you to Khaosan Road and you're a five minute walk from the Taewez pier. There is plenty of communal space where you can relax, with a book or a drink. There is free wifi.
The downstairs rooms have windows overlooking the corridor, but if you're backpacking in Asia you quickly get used to all kind of strange arrangements...
It used to be a bit noisy, but it seems that the owners have made a point of putting that straight. On our last trip it was very calm.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

where to start...

to be fair, the area is nice, but far from the airport and transportation so you might need to use taxis a lot.

The room was small and very poorly furnished. Initially we were supposed to stay for a week but left the day after ; there was nothing where to put our stuff, not even a mirror. Bed was uncomfortable, sheets were stained and had holes. The whole room looked from an other age, with holes in the ceiling and walls, brown stains, one lamp was broken...
The AC was surprisingly loud, and the walls were so thin that we could hear everything around us (and I slept with earplugs).

The bathroom were just filthy. First, there were only 3 for our floor, only two of them with hot water. The ventilation was bad which means that they got really uncomfortable and moist. They looked like prison cells. They're also the toilets so you can imagine...

Staff was ok, friendly but not really helpful as they would quickly loose interest if not able to provide an answer right away. They were supposed to speak French but only spoke some English, and they were unable to answer some particular questions we had.

I would never go there again, in Bangkok there are much better accommodations in the same range of prices, nicer AND cleaner.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank siuta h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Cheap and simple guesthouse. Very good guesthouse for backpackers, who prefer to sleep in a more relaxed and less touristic location in Bangkok city center.
Rooms were good and clean, except some ant type bugs in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank negrujs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Taewez is a great place to stay. I fist stayed in this guest house back in 2002 and when I returned in 2008, I found that although some renovations had been made, the relaxed and cheerful atmosphere remained.

The guest house is located in a residential area, near a market and Temple. Taewez is slightly off of the beaten track and so consequently quieter than guest houses located just up the road in Banglamphu. Despite being located away from the main backpacking drag of Khao San, this guest house is close enough to the main Bangkok sights and within a reasonable tuk-tuk or taxi ride to the main transport links. However, at certain times of the day, because of it's location, Taewez can be a bit noisy.

The guest house has a friendly atmosphere, the restaurant sells a decent menu of Thai and some Western dishes, catering mainly for it's residents. The management are able to offer travellers with advice on how to get around Bangkok, I've always found then to be extremely helpful.

The rooms are reasonable, clean and secure. There is a good range of options available from basic shared accommodation though to private, air-conditioned rooms. For most resident on a budget there is a shared shower facility something that should be familiar to most backpackers in Thailand.

Everytime I go to Bangkok, this is the first guest house I head for. Taewez offers decent accommodation, good value for money and an excellent atmosphere. While staying there, I was able to store my luggage while I took two and three day trips out of the city .

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank richwork1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

We had an early flight out of Bangkok so we booked a night in this hotel. Our window was right above the kitchen so there was a constant smell of fish coming in as well as a rattling of dishes that never stopped. The aircon made a horrible noise so our options were: not sleep because of the aircon noise, open the window and not sleep because of the kitchen smell and rattling dishes, open the door and not sleep because of the noisy travellers passing in front of our door or suffocate.

We stayed there until 4am when I dicovered a bedbug and we got the hell out of there because we preferred to sleep on a bench in the airport.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bastien F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Suksawad Hotel
Suksawad Hotel
#568 of 891 in Bangkok
26 reviews
Banglamphu
Amarin Inn
Amarin Inn
#320 of 891 in Bangkok
246 reviews
Banglamphu
Wild Orchid Villa Khaosan
Wild Orchid Villa Khaosan
#660 of 891 in Bangkok
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Rezt Bangkok
Rezt Bangkok
#298 of 891 in Bangkok
73 reviews
Banglamphu
Trang Hotel Bangkok
Trang Hotel Bangkok
#497 of 891 in Bangkok
239 reviews
Banglamphu
Roof View Place
Roof View Place
#355 of 891 in Bangkok
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taewez Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taewez Guesthouse

Address: 23/12 Sri Ayudhaya Rd.,Wachiraphaban. Dusit, Bangkok 10300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Dusit
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #533 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £10 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Taewez Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing