We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”
Review of Taewez Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taewez Guesthouse
Ranked #533 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Taewez is a great place to stay. I fist stayed in this guest house back in 2002 and when I returned in 2008, I found that although some renovations had been made, the relaxed and cheerful atmosphere remained.

The guest house is located in a residential area, near a market and Temple. Taewez is slightly off of the beaten track and so consequently quieter than guest houses located just up the road in Banglamphu. Despite being located away from the main backpacking drag of Khao San, this guest house is close enough to the main Bangkok sights and within a reasonable tuk-tuk or taxi ride to the main transport links. However, at certain times of the day, because of it's location, Taewez can be a bit noisy.

The guest house has a friendly atmosphere, the restaurant sells a decent menu of Thai and some Western dishes, catering mainly for it's residents. The management are able to offer travellers with advice on how to get around Bangkok, I've always found then to be extremely helpful.

The rooms are reasonable, clean and secure. There is a good range of options available from basic shared accommodation though to private, air-conditioned rooms. For most resident on a budget there is a shared shower facility something that should be familiar to most backpackers in Thailand.

Everytime I go to Bangkok, this is the first guest house I head for. Taewez offers decent accommodation, good value for money and an excellent atmosphere. While staying there, I was able to store my luggage while I took two and three day trips out of the city .

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank richwork1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2009

We had an early flight out of Bangkok so we booked a night in this hotel. Our window was right above the kitchen so there was a constant smell of fish coming in as well as a rattling of dishes that never stopped. The aircon made a horrible noise so our options were: not sleep because of the aircon noise, open the window and not sleep because of the kitchen smell and rattling dishes, open the door and not sleep because of the noisy travellers passing in front of our door or suffocate.

We stayed there until 4am when I dicovered a bedbug and we got the hell out of there because we preferred to sleep on a bench in the airport.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bastien F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank lovelyplanet2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Katia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank onlyflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Morgan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Suksawad Hotel
Suksawad Hotel
#568 of 891 in Bangkok
26 reviews
Banglamphu
Amarin Inn
Amarin Inn
#320 of 891 in Bangkok
245 reviews
Banglamphu
Wild Orchid Villa Khaosan
Wild Orchid Villa Khaosan
#660 of 891 in Bangkok
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Rezt Bangkok
Rezt Bangkok
#298 of 891 in Bangkok
73 reviews
Banglamphu
Trang Hotel Bangkok
Trang Hotel Bangkok
#497 of 891 in Bangkok
239 reviews
Banglamphu
Roof View Place
Roof View Place
#355 of 891 in Bangkok
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taewez Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taewez Guesthouse

Address: 23/12 Sri Ayudhaya Rd.,Wachiraphaban. Dusit, Bangkok 10300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Dusit
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #533 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £10 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Taewez Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing