We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a BIG disappointment :(”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Heritage Hotel Sathorn
Ranked #773 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 18 June 2010

this was our first trip to Bangkok, and my (new) husband and i were quite excited. we booked Heritage Sathorn because of the amazing pics of the hotel at their website, and we availed of their Easy Package which was $85 3D/2N and the inclusions were one way airport transfer, american breakfasts for 2 days, and UNLIMITED access to the fitness centre and sauna and jacuzzi.. to be honest that jacuzzi/sauna thing was the main selling point for me coz i was really looking forward to just relaxing on this short holiday.

when we got there, the driver Teph was waiting and everythign was smooth. the hotel was SO FAR though! but we thought hey as long as it's accessible to the transportation links (skytrain, MRT) it will be fine. but guess what?? the hotel is right in the heart of residential units with lots of tiny streets which we never got around to being familiar with. hence we felt a little trapped and we had to rely on the hotel Tuk=tuk (free) service whenever my husband and i needed to go out. Totally NOT what we would have wanted :( we thought we could stay in a hotel where when you go out the dining spots were just right there. we tried the directions given by another Trip Advisor reviewer but couldn't get it that we had to go back to the hotel to ask for tuk-tuk :(

the rooms looked a lot like our rooms back home in the Philippines, nothing special and TOTALLY not the same as the ones on their website. i wanted to check out right then and there! my husband stopped me saying we only had 3 days and it would just be a waste of time and effort.

there was no Room Service! no hair dryer inside the rooms, no Tooth Paste we had to buy our own! also it was my fault too i guess but there was no restaurant in the hotel. the worst thing was that their jacuzzi/sauna was SOOOOOOOO DIRTY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i didn't use it anymore! even the receptionist said it was dirty and better not to use it :( there were feet-like tracks on the jacuzzi floor it was so disgusting! and the fitness center?? just a couple of equipments nothing more, with tons of clothes hanging around for drying.. i tried to get some discounts since i did not get to use the jacuzzi anyway but they said it was not possible.

as kind as the receptionist was (they did serve our breakfast at 630 am despite the normal hours of 7am due to our very early flight back home), he was not very good at English that it was quite frustrating. :( it would really have helped if their staff could speak and understand English better.

it was good that their wifi internet was quite fast and free though.

i really really DO NOT recommend staying at this hotel.. i felt cheated for the $85, we could have gotten cheaper rates at hotels which were right at the city center.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twisted_bratinella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2010

Good price value hotel. Nothing special but ok. Rooms are very big but a little bit old. Rooms have great view over bangkok.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankthailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of my trip through Thailand and it was my 3rd hotel in Bangkok. We booked on the strength of no bad reviews and beautiful photos on websites.

The room themselves are large, and have a nice feel to them. The wooden floor is smooth cool, and I quite liked the dark furniture and feature wall. Although the photos are very cleverly taken I'd say they still give a good indication of the room and it felt clean although a little dark.

It is however a little past it's prime, my mirror had lost some of it's surface and had black patches, and the cushions on the couch had some seams split.

Breakfast is delivered to your room at a time requested as there is no restaurant and wasn't too bad Asian standards. Some bacon, a slice of ham, an egg, coleslaw, toast and jam with a plate of fruit and glass of cordial.

All up it wasn't too bad for 999 baht a night, but the group of us felt there was little passion from the staff, particularly in comparison to the other 11 places I stayed out throughout Thailand.

My bathroom felt like it was from a couple of decades ago, and there was large quantities of mould growing in the grouting around the tiles on the wall in the shower (understand it's impossible to get rid of without putting new in) and there was pinky/orange mould growing in the corners where it looks like it's been cleaned without oomph. The bathroom smells damp and mouldy so could do with a serious clean. The mirror had been cleaned to about 2/3 of the way up as it was streaky at the bottom as if done with cold water, and the top was spotty as if not cleaned and there was cobwebs in the top corner of the roof. Despite this it didn't feel DIRTY, just as if it was a quick clean rather than a scrub. I did overhear another guest ask reception to re-clean their bathroom while I was at reception. But I will say that it was the hottest shower I had in 3 weeks and had good water pressure

There was also a mixup with breakfasts so it pays to be very clear with staff. The first day they sent one rooms half an hour early, and forgot our second room's breakfast. It was very quickly delivered on request. The second day I hadn't requested breakfast, and had both the do not disturb light and sign up but they spent maybe 2-3 minutes knocking with me requesting they leave me to sleep before they rang to insist they delivered my breakfast. I kept saying that I wanted to sleep and not be disturbed and they were very set on delivering breakfast at the time they had the day before.

Our room cards also stopped working after two nights but it was a quick fix to get it set up again at reception.

As per other reviews it's down a couple of narrow dark streets in a quiet area of Bangkok, but is maybe 10 minutes walk to the BTS

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissTonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

The Heritage Sathorn kind of feels like it's down a backstreet, but it's a good backstreet! Feels like a safe area with a nice school and hospital nearby. The 7-11 is close enough, there's also a atm and fruit and vege stalls at the end of the street. The Skytrain is nearby, within walking distance.
The bathroom smelled a bit "muddy", as did the water. At first I thought it must just have been Bangkok water etc but we stayed elsewhere in Bangkok at the end of our stay and the water was fine.
The bed was comfy (we found most beds in Thailand to be very hard, but this one wasn't so bad). The room was pretty dark, alot of dark wood and not very bright lights. The aircon worked well and wasn't too noisy.
The glassed in balcony was nice, the windows slide right open so it's not like an incredibly hot sun trap, we moved our chairs out there and had breakfast out there (which was quite nice - an egg, bacon, ham, a sausage, toast and jam, and juice)
If your up for a short cut to the skytrain go right when you head out the doors, and then right again at the end of the street. You'll pop out on the main road. The hotel has no restaurant for dinner, if you feel like heading out for dinner, try the "Blue Elephant Restaurant" on that main road http://www.blueelephant.com/bangkok/index.html we had a fantastic meal here, it's actually a cooking school, incredible service. We even saw the security guard out the front feeding a stray dog which was a nice change from some of the other treatment of street dogs we saw!
Would stay again and recommend to anyone, only downfall is other than some interesting/verging on scary "food" stalls, the only decent place to eat is the Blue Elephant (as far as I saw).

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FussyKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2009

It's about 5-10 mins walk down Sathorn Soi 13. Take the 90 degree right turn at the end and it's on the right just before where the soi takes a 90 degree left turn. Total walk to Surasak BTS is about 15 mins. Sathorn Soi 13 is fairly quiet, mostly residential (large condos) with a major hospital and college also on the street. The nearest 7-11 is at the corner with Sathorn Rd itself: quite a walk to quickly get something. The room had a few mini bar items for sale.

My room was 1 floor up from the ground and a good size: a large studio apartment with queen (or larger) bed, sofa, table, chairs, fridge and various cupboards. It also had a glassed in balcony. Judging by the grey marble/granite stone on the floor it looked like an older style building that has been fairly recently refitted: the cupboards seemed fairly new. There is also a glassed in balcony. Even in the daytime it was quite dark - needed the lights on.

Internet was by cable only, not a huge inconvenience but it means you can't lie on the bed and surf the net (unless you have a very long cable!)

The TV was a new LCD 32" offering a small selection of cable channels including the BBC.

There were some technical issues during my week long stay: for the first couple of days the internet was down for a few hours each day. The rest of the time it was reliable and one of the best connections I've had in a hotel in Bangkok. The door key is a magnetic card that slides into the door lock (typical of many hotels). My key stopped working and the reprogramming machine was down for a few days. Therefore I had to ask someone every time I wanted to get back into my room! As there was always a staff member available to provide access it was no big inconvenience.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoadWarrior7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Supersimon88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank 家成 葉
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
The Heritage Bangkok
The Heritage Bangkok
#761 of 887 in Bangkok
1,586 reviews
Sathorn
My Bed Sathorn
My Bed Sathorn
#353 of 887 in Bangkok
60 reviews
Sathorn
BS Court Boutique Residence
BS Court Boutique Residence
#364 of 887 in Bangkok
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
CNR House Hotel
CNR House Hotel
#655 of 887 in Bangkok
25 reviews
Silom
I-Residence Hotel Silom
I-Residence Hotel Silom
#270 of 887 in Bangkok
1,552 reviews
Silom
Win Long Place Hotel & Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heritage Hotel Sathorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heritage Hotel Sathorn

Address: 36 Soi Sathorn 13 Yannawa Sathorn, Bangkok 10120, Thailand (Formerly CK House)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #773 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £16 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Heritage Hotel Sathorn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Heritage Hotel Sathorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Heritage Hotels Sathorn Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing