We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic tourist hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Centric Place Hotel
Ranked #490 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 30 January 2013

This hotel provided a good budget tourist hotel, well located close to Rama 9 mall and metro station, and close to the airport train station. Staff were very friendly, but don't offer any services re booking tours/tickets.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2012

I stayed in Centric Ratchada or The Centric Place Hotel (its new name) for a couple of nights just to check it out. The room is spacious, comfortable and clean. I like the sliding door to the area where the closet is and the bathroom. There is also a small balcony where the split-type aircon sits but the hot air from the aircon can be a handy drier for a blouse or shirt you hand-washed. WIFI is fast and free and the room comes with free breakfast. The staff are pleasant and helpful too. Its proximity to Pra Ram 9 mrt station, Fortune Town and Central
Plaza 9 make Centric Ratchada appealing. I hope the management will continue to maintain its cleanliness and modern facilities -- reception area, fast elevator, corridors and restaurant.

However, here are the bigger issues:
1) Hotel would not take a credit card guarantee and requires advance cash payment up front as you check in. They will allow you some time to change your money to Thai baht but don't ever forget to pay right away because the hotel reception will call you in the middle of the night and demand that you go down to reception to pay your hotel bill.

2) As Centric Ratchada is a relatively new hotel, it is not known to the taxi drivers at the Suvarnabhumi Airport. We took an airport limousine and I gave the driver the address and phone number which I had printed out before the trip. The driver called the hotel for directions.

3) The hotel is on a narrow, nearly one-lane soi (street) and there's a lot of small business on the roadside that the taxis refuse to go there. We wanted to take a taxi several times and when we gave them the hotel business card, the driver just shook their heads.

4) Thus, to get a taxi to take us to the airport, we took the hotel's golf cart which took us to the Asoke-Dindaeng Road, got off, and flagged a taxi on the roadside. Definitely not a good way to get to the airport. On a rainy day, this will be a major problem as the luggage will get wet.

If you're looking for a budget hotel, look elsewhere, unless you are prepared to struggle to get a taxi to the airport or anywhere.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mme1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I stayed there for few days and I was very pleased. The location ws perfect for what I was looking for (easy acess to bts or mrt, 5min walk). The room is big, comfortable, bright... as shown on the pictures. staff nice enough... Internet free in the room and quite good.
the only negative thing I can think about was that there were ants in the room and I asked staff to spray it... so not a big deal.

Room Tip: if you are on holidays, the street it is not the nicest.. but so handy to go everywhere. I think is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pinyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The room was the real highlight, lots of space, clean, good layout, nice bathroom, good Air con and great cable channels. Clean bed linen and towels, soft pillows - as in most places in Thailand - hard bed.

Cleaning staff was great, always give you fresh towels and rooms are spotless.
Wifi worked very well from the room and it's totally free of charge as advertised. Breakfast was also good with Lots of fruit!! Staff at reception was lovely, very friendly and ready to help.

You can walk for 5 minutes in safe streets and reach the subway (MRT) that will connect to BTS sky train or take you most places.

Nearby the hotel you hav great massage places for very good price, try a foot massage at Yukko... Just Wonderful!!!!

Overall GREAT value, for only $30AUD you can't do better in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MimaBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Separate bathroom like suit room.

Big bed of twin room( 3 foot and 5 foot size) so you can stay for 3 person

Can walk only 5 minute to subway

Close with big mall fortune and central mall

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cobainlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 7 nights. The room that we were in was huge and only cost £18 per night. It was very clean and the beds really comfortable. If it had a pool I would book in again in an instant!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank engravement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This hotel is nice but the location is bit away from nightlife and most of the taxu driver even find it hard to find this place unless you have a map. Even the tour people will not come to pick you from hotel as they say the area is full of traffic. The room which I had was a standard room and it was clean and the room is quite big and the toilet was also clean but the only worst part was the toilet curtain was not clean and it had stain at the bottom, but overall it was a clean hotel and it has a free WIFI with computers at the lobby free to use.

The hotel doesnt have any free shuttle as mentioend in hotel website.

The staff is also good however a chinese looking thai female staff needs some training as she gets irritated for nothing.

Room Tip: If you want to stay here then get a map of the area as its very difficult to explain this area to ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BIG-Y123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Din
Tanatawey Places
Tanatawey Places
#515 of 891 in Bangkok
26 reviews
Hi Residence
#703 of 891 in Bangkok
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Witchuwan Apartel
#724 of 891 in Bangkok
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centric Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centric Place Hotel

Address: 502/29 Soi Yucharoen, Asoke-Dindaeng Rd., Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly The Centric Ratchada)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Din
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #490 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £19 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Centric Place Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Centric Place Hotel” is located in the heart of Bangkok, an elegance & comfortable hotel with 126 rooms. A simple perfection for guests who love a great service from our friendly staffs , clean , safe, and cozy bed room with affordable price. Our hotel is a great place where you can relax and enjoy your vacation or your business. We still provides you 24 hrs. Reception ,Quality breakfast , Cable TV , Free luggage storage, Safety Box , Hair dryer , CCTV, and Key card access to ensure your safety. Our charming lobby is a lovely space where you can read your favorite book, relax and meet new friends from all over the world. You can also enjoy free internet terminals in lobby and Wi-Fi access throughout the Hotel.Shopping malls and other tourist attractions are easy and convenient to reach by foot or public transports. Only 5 minutes walk to MRT (“Phra Ram 9” Metro Station) and 15 minutes to Suvarnabhumi Airport by Airport Rail Link or 30 minutes by car.Come and enjoy the perfect location and welcoming atmosphere to stay like a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Centric Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Centric Ratchada Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing