We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent”
Review of Luxx XL

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luxx XL
Ranked #393 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Was slightly disappointed with LUXX XL, but overall a decent stay. Interesting room decor but was old and could tell it was worn over the years. The rooms definitely needed a facelift! Internet was spotty but available within the room and all common areas, which was very helpful. Location was alright for the price. Was a 10 min walk to the nearest BTS station which is one stop away from SIam station.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ltc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 142 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013

Nice hotel, located convinently near both metro and skyline, this hotel offers clean rooms with comfy beds. Breakfast buffet is really nice and (most of) the staff is very helpful - altho some of them don't speak/understand English very well.
The cons: The pool didn't look inviting at all, but rather dirty - no one used it for the four days we were there. So, if you are coming for the pool, choose another hotel. Also, there is very little water pressure in the shower.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the entrance/parking as the rubbish bins are emptied every evening around mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elephant E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

A friend and I stayed at this place twice last month, as we stopped in Bangkok on our way to and from Myanmar. Although it's a little quirky, we really loved it. The rooms are spotless, there's a decent breakfast buffet, and the common area is filled with books, dvd's, and other things to help pass the time. There's a really nice pool in the back, where we spent the heat of the day. It's shaded and almost feels like a little spa. In fact, with a plethora of massage and pedicure places down the block, we did turn one day into a Bangkok Spa Day without ever leaving the neighborhood (which is fantastic, by the way).

The staff is really helpful, though we did encounter one or 2 folks at the front desk whose English was pretty limited. We had a late night departure and we were trying to extend our room til 8 pm, which the hotel will do at 2/3 the cost of a room, but one of the front desk guys wasn't sure how to do it and it ended up taking a long time to figure it out. But it all worked out in the end, and the staff is truly great.

Two minor complaints:
The beds in the twin rooms are next to each other, which can be a little uncomfortable if you're sharing with someone you aren't all that comfy with.

There's no public computer, though the wifi is solid throughout the entire facility (including the pool area). When my friend and I wanted to print out our boarding passes, they let us use the computer behind the desk to do that, but if you're traveling without a device with wifi, it can be a hassle.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jae1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Check-in was smooth & speedy. Staff were warm & friendly throughout our nine nights there. We were shown to our 1st room – 429 a corner studio and were impressed with its layout and facilities but soon realised it wasn’t quite all it once was. Without looking too far we found many things that need attention.
The bed in room 429 was the main and most mentionable problem. It was ridiculously hard even with a mattress topper & three (thin) mattress protectors. Don’t get us wrong. We like a firm bed but this was something else. In the end, after three nights of some pretty ordinary sleep (each day asking to add another mattress protector) we gave in and asked to change rooms. Bell, the receptionist showed us two rooms. One was the same as the original (studio) and the other a corner suite. Both beds were much better and we decided to take the larger corner suite – Room 423 for an extra charge that didn’t break the bank.
Other notable room issues:
Loose wall power sockets, curtains with holes that weren’t hung properly in room 423 letting in bright morning sunlight, deep scratches in the woodwork all around both rooms, missing door handles on the cupboards, loose toilet seats, loose bathroom taps, in room 429 the bath had pebbles surrounding it for the shower overflow which were missing in room 423 exposing the bare concrete beneath, no ceiling fan in the bathrooms so everything fogged up after showering, no handle on the heavy sliding doors to access the balconies, balconies not clean, unreliable Wi-Fi reception in both rooms (had to retrieve emails in the hallway outside the room), light bulbs out/not replaced and the borrowed iron and (broken) ironing board were way past their prime.
Without being completely down on the rooms, we liked: how quiet they were, good entertainment system, good pillows, huge mirrors, plenty of storage in the bathrooms, 24hr room service and the air-conditioning ran quietly.
Good and bad around the hotel:
Odd breakfast ordering system but appreciated the 11am finish. For your order you need to fill in a form and submit to reception before midnight the night before. The food selection was limited but good and the ladies running breakfast were more than happy to accommodate as best they could any special requests.
The ugly set of purple floral luggage for sale by the front door - really?
The pool area was nice and gets plenty of sun but there’s only enough room for 6 to 8 people.
Tiles around the pool were either missing or cracked and the water was a bit over chlorinated.
You can borrow from their extensive DVD selection situated in the lobby. Handy for the quiet nights.
We chose the Luxx XL mainly for its proximity to the lovely Lumpini Park which is a 5 minute walk away but to get anywhere else a taxi is advisable to avoid the heat.
We wish we first stayed at this hotel a few years ago when it would’ve been a lot more as you would expect for this price range but sadly it’s now well below par.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 44holden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

This hotel is a small "boutique" style hotel and hip to be square.
Form is more important than function over here, both as its build and in the service. The breakfast is ok but a little strange to fill in a form and a breakfast time but if you arrive everything has to start from that moment, They can ask you as well but keep the form filling away, client friendlier I would say.

The stairwell “unfindable” and you have to do everything with one small elevator with suicide-doors, carefull with little children.

The location is excellent (on Lang Suan road and close to Lumphini park) and the atmosphere is relaxed. The beds are great if you like a hard mattress. The pool is small and they have six beds to lay on, if they are free.

WiFi is unpredictable and one time working the next nothing at all….

It is excellent value-for-money in this part of town.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeeEst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The Luxx is a small "boutique" style hotel that is friendly, but has its quirks. Form can rule over function here, both physically and in the service. The hot water is unreliable. The fittings in the rooms are deteriorating. The stairwell is filled with laundry and cleaning supplies, which isn't good safety practcie. The staff are nice, but a little disorganised. The location is excellent (on Lang Suan and close to Lumpini park), and the atmosphere is relaxed. The beds are great if you like a hard mattress. The pool is very pleasant, and there is a small new sushi joint downstairs. It is excellent value in this part of town. Luxx XL has its faults, but we keep going back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlistairM696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

A very pleasant boutique hotel, elegantly designed in a simple, remotely Japanese style with beautiful wood and stone. Well-located and quiet, with truly helpful staff and accomodating management We arrived a day too late and weren't billed for the missed night! A welcome bonus is the lovely little swimming pool, hidden away under blooming trees. Great value for the money!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlzimmermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#142 of 891 in Bangkok
1,655 reviews
Sukhumvit
Aspen Suites Sukhumvit 2 by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Howard Hotel
#527 of 891 in Bangkok
99 reviews
Paragon Inn
#330 of 891 in Bangkok
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxx XL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxx XL

Address: 82/8 Langsuan Road | Lumphinee, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#227 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £40 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxx XL 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LUXX XL is the Xtra Large version of the original, small boutique hotel LUXX. All LUXX XL’s guests can be certain of privacy and exclusivity, unlike those other high rise buildings, LUXX XL comprises of just 34 studio rooms and 16 suites matched with facilities such as pool by the garden and a breakfast serving restaurant. There are ample of spaces to breathe in since the common and garden area accounts more than half of the total plot of land in the property. LUXX XL offers some of the most spacious and larger hotel rooms that can usually be found in the upscale properties only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Luxx XL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxx Xl Hotel Bangkok
Luxx Xl Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing