We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“i wish i could love this hotel, i so want to love this hotel, alas”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Luxx XL

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luxx XL
Ranked #366 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
la
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“i wish i could love this hotel, i so want to love this hotel, alas”
Reviewed 24 August 2009

the luxx xl should be everything i love in a hotel, cool modern design, large rooms with huge windows, free wireless, nice neighborhood close to mass transit but not too close, but somehow, it just doesn't work. the staff is terribly inexperienced and it really impacted my stay. when i checked in, i was shown to a room where they were using full strength turpentine on for some repairs on the walls. the scent was overpowering and toxic and i requested another room. they were fine with that, but the room wasn't ready, so i told them i'd go out for a massage and come back in a couple of hours. on my way back, it started to rain, i mean a huge downpour with marble sized raindrops and by the time i got to the lobby, i was soaked to the bone, dripping in huge puddles on the floor. the front desk clerk was giving directions to another customer, who suggested he help the poor wet shivering girl, me, but he shook his head no and turned back to her and her map. turpentine, gaff number one. leaving a shivering girl dripping in the lobby, gaff number two. i finally insisted he get my key, which was, by the way, sitting an arm's length from where he was standing and i sloshed up to my room. it was big, with wraparound windows, a big bed, all the bells and whistles including a fridge and an electric teapot, plenty of thick towels, etc. there are design problems, like the shower tucked under a rainy day showerhead just doesn't work. good idea, bad execution. the light switches are hard to figure out, in fact, i went to bed with some lights on because i just couldn't figure out how to turn them off. also, the pillows are rock hard. i generally roll with the punches, but i'm talking six inch thick bricks that left me with a neck ache in the morning. then there was the problem with the ants. night two had me slapping and itching. in the morning i woke to discover lots of little reddish ants crawling on the bedside table and on me. and they bit. i found an email address online and sent a note to someone in pr at the hotel, who told me he'd have it taken care of, but when i came back after my room had been cleaned, the ants had multiplied and we even in my computer. (not on, in) i found a housekeeper who swept them on to the floor then swept them up then sprayed. a few hours later, someone from the front desk called to tell me i'd be upgraded to a suite for my troubles. great. the suite was amazing. way more windows and on a higher floor so there was a view. the clerk also handed me a form to fill out for breakfast. i'd not paid for breakfast with my booking, but i assumed it was a small token given as an apology, so i filled it out and handed it in. oops, when i returned after my evening massage, my phone rang and the girl at the other end told me there had been a mistake and i was not to receive breakfast after all. what?

so, did i like the luxx? in theory, yes. but the reality is staying here is a rough ride. (ants in my new room as well, i think they hitched a ride in my computer.) will they fix things? dunno.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrnlmkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    132
    65
    17
    13
See reviews for
30
124
47
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hongkong
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2009

This is our third time in Bangkok and we decided to try Luxx XL seeing its beautiful ad from the magazine. We booked for the studio L room for 4 nights, which is the second category of room, through its website, which was easy and we mentioned in the note that we are a honeymoon couple. Once checked in, we were upgraded to the suite room, which is a pleasant surprise and unexpected. There were also special treats, such as the small cake and some flower decoration on bed, it is not much, but it is already perfect for us.

The hotel is still in soft opening stage and there were still some guys working here and there and the fresh paint smell was not appreciated though it is understandable and it did not really bother us much. We LOVE the use of materials and its decoration. The big entrance door is impressive and the lobby is modern and beautiful. Luxx XL style and character is on par with hotels that easily charge triples Luxx’s prices (hope the rates stay low during the full operation).

There were selections of DVDs and guidebooks to borrow from the lobby. The DVDs selections are toward the art and gay related, which is nice as some of them were kind of hard to find and it does fit well with the arty style of the property.

As mentioned from other reviewers, possibly the weak point of Luxx XL is the lack of staffs. There are not many of them, unlike other 5 stars property. All of the staffs also seem to be young and possibly does not have much experience. But we realize that we did not pay the 5 stars price (THB 3600 per night for studio L and free upgrade to suite) and the hotel is at the soft-opening stage. Maybe our expectation is not that high, we found our receptionist to be eager, nice and be able to speak sufficient English.

Apart from the style and decoration, the strong points of Luxx XL is its location. It is at the middle of Bangkok and just a few minutes walk from the central park. There are many quality restaurants and bars walking distance from the place. There are many local spa and Thai massage places around, we did a session of Thai massage which is very comfortable at only Usd 8 per hour! The night market is just 15 mins away. But be warned though that as the hotel is not located by the main street, you have to really notice the sign as it is also small. Do not miss the small entrance as the road is one-way and you have to go around big time in order to find its entrance again.

I wish Luxx XL’s rates stay at this level at its full operation. It will be a true good value designed property in Bangkok and we will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chen_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We have just arrived back from Thailand, inc 3 nights at the Luxx XL - one at the beginning of our holiday and 2 at the end. The location and style of the hotel was perfect for us, being first timers in Bangkok - it was very near all of the main points of interest (only 15 mins walk to the night market) and 10 mins walk to the nearest Skytrain station.
As the hotel is so new, make sure to print out a map and the full address to bring with you, as none of the taxi drivers know where it is yet, and it is set off the main road down a little lane. As other reviewers have mentioned, the staff are still finding their feet a bit - all of them seemed very young and there were one or two misunderstandings (such as a mix up with our breakfast order on the last day, however it was rectified quickly, and they can be forgiven as it was only 6am!) - but nothing major to complain about. They don't speak much English, but seem sweet and eager to please.
The decor is really stunning - this is the type of boutique hotel you would pay at least £200 a night for in London or Paris - and we paid only approx £40 per night inc breakfast and mini bar items. Breakfast was made to order, and we usually had cereal with yoghurt, bananas or pineapple, toast, croissant or French toast (the best I've ever tasted!), and eggs with sausage and bacon. The coffee and cappucino was also excellent.
All in all, we were very impressed, and would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlebear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taiwan
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2009

Luxx XL is new. There is not many people swashing around the lobby nor other areas, lot of space and privacy - at this new period only I would guess.

The road entrance that lead to the property is quite small with even smaller signage, so you should study your way in detail otherwise you will sure missing it.

Once inside the hotel main gate, it is a whole different world. Surrounded by tall fence, the parking lot was also intended to serve as Japanese rock garden. The entrance and lobby areas looks modern but with the warm of wood. The entrance door is gigantic - made of wood - beautiful and want one back home! There are small selection of DVD and Bangkok guidebooks you can loan from - also a nice touch.

Our studio room size is decent and bigger than average at the cost we paid. Though it is at the soft-opening period now and we are not sure if the price will increase much or not.

We have to fill in the breakfast form the night before, there was limited selection and this was no buffet breakfast. Though the portion was right and it was serve efficiently at the exact time we requested for. Apart from the branded taste eggs and toast, the capuccino was tasty and the espresso was strong.

The bar and restuarant are not under operation yet, a shame as the space look nice and cozy, but it was planned for operation possibly a few months later.

Staffs were limited, not seeing many of them around much at the period we stay. The receptions were nice and willing to help.

A true hideaway secret place in the middle of Chaotic Bangkok. At the promotional price right now - highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidkan89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

We spent the night at Luxx XL, we stayed at Studio room.
Since the hotel is still in soft opening stage so we paid only 2400 THB for studio room ( we booked through hotel directly but cross check with Agoda and found the same rate as well).We like the use of wood as the main theme for decoration. The room was clean and very new ( you can smell it). There is a proper security around the property.
The location is awesome because just a few steps and you will be on lang suan road which has many decent dinning and drinking places. There was no breakfast was serve at the resteruant (30 min after order). The selection and quantity was large but the taste was average.

There is one comment that we think the hotel need to improve
The hot water system is very inconsistent, can't find the right temperature! It either super hot or super cold!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank proudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

The hotel is new, so the service we have received were not perfect. Yet, the guy tried to help us in all information needed.
I actually love the room, and had a good relaxing time after my long shopping day, the location is close to shopping center and not too far from the skytrain. I like the privacy when using the swiming pool, may be it's new, so the place was very peaceful.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sitala_toom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HKG
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

I have been in BKK lately and stayed in Luxx XL. The hotel is hidden in the small road. I found it's modern look. People there are nice and helpful though the hotel is just opened for the operation. I like the pool and like to take a jog in the morning in the park nearby. The breakfast is nice but we still look for the room service when we need to have something to eat at night. The location is excellent for me to shop in BKK.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buranee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Centre Point Hotel Chidlom
#91 of 852 in Bangkok
617 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#136 of 852 in Bangkok
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tenface Bangkok
#192 of 852 in Bangkok
706 reviews
Bliston Suwan Park View
#219 of 852 in Bangkok
587 reviews
Chateau de Bangkok
#149 of 852 in Bangkok
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxx XL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxx XL

Property: Luxx XL
Address: 82/8 Langsuan Road | Lumphinee, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#217 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxx XL 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LUXX XL is the Xtra Large version of the original, small boutique hotel LUXX. All LUXX XL’s guests can be certain of privacy and exclusivity, unlike those other high rise buildings, LUXX XL comprises of just 34 studio rooms and 16 suites matched with facilities such as pool by the garden and a breakfast serving restaurant. There are ample of spaces to breathe in since the common and garden area accounts more than half of the total plot of land in the property. LUXX XL offers some of the most spacious and larger hotel rooms that can usually be found in the upscale properties only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Luxx XL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxx Xl Hotel Bangkok
Luxx Xl Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing