We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location - Hidden Gem of a hotel - with unrivaled staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Luxx XL

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luxx XL
Ranked #366 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Ireland
Level Contributor
465 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
“Great Location - Hidden Gem of a hotel - with unrivaled staff”
Reviewed 27 September 2010

I am just back from a nine week trip to Thailand - Mainly business - but some vacation time also.

The trip started off in late July and I stayed at Luxx Xl on Langsuan at the start of my trip for 5 days.

The location is great - its off road - so nice and quiet - The hotel itself is stylish, trendy, modern and surprising!

I loved the room layouts - we had a one bedroom suite - with a large bathroom, dining area - work desk, sitting and TV area and large comfortable bed.

A window that was floor to ceiling and went the full length of the room - must have been a 30 foot uninterrupted view of bangkok.

The rooms are fantastic and the amenities are excellent. Also breakfast was served in bed without paying a supplement - I love these little attentions to detail.

The staff here are second to none - always smiling, knowledgeable, helpful, and eager to make your stay as good as is possible.

I loved the 5 days I spent here and plan to return on my next trip!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin_One_Man_Show
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    132
    65
    17
    13
See reviews for
30
124
47
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

I recently visited LUXX XL Bangkok, is good the website provide instruction for Thai taxi driver cause not many of them know about this hotel. So bring along the piece of instruction with you. We took a cab from airport there is no train service on weekend. Paid around 400 TBH. When we walk in there is a huge door to the reception which is very nice. Lobby is small but cosy and simple. Lift is small. Room is not very big again is cosy, bed is a bit hard but still comfortable. When shower using the shower head water will spill on both side of floor. Pool is not very big the surrounding not very well up keep. Nearby the hotel there is this Spirit Massage having a 50% discount which is very good for 1200TBH for 1 1/2 hour. Hardly see any other guests around. The hotel is not full so they let us check out late. If they is no promotion price for the rooms I think they are too expensive for boutique hotel like this. With almost same among of money can go for Metropolitan or Siam@Siam Design hotel which I intended to stay on my next trip to Bangkok

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilikeocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2010

This place is fine if you are looking for a two bedroom apartment away from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok. The rooms were very spacious, didn't have any issues with the bathrooms, infact all in all very nice. The pool was lovely and set at the back of the hotel. The down side is that there is no room service, the breakfast was minimal and cold, taxi drivers have never heard of the place so every time we went out we had to take a map to show the driver on our return. The area is quiet with very few shops, but a few restaurants. The restaurant at the end of the driveway on the right was wonderful and certainly very upmarket. The staff were very helpful and couldnt do enough for us, but as I say this place is great if you want to get away from it all but I dont think that's what you go to Bangkok for. Next time we will stay closer to the shopping area.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki&George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2010

LUXX XL
The small B&B Luxx grows medium size at a slightly difference location, Luxx Xl. The Lumphinee neighborhood is quite new to me, though it is considering at middle of the city. Walking distance to the park is a plus, walking to the skytrain station can be a pain, though taxi is plenty. The overall impression of Luxx xl is exclusive, minimal Scandinavian style and function with Asian touches through out.



The room size is good, even for the studio, floor to ceiling window help bring light and it can be opened, so we can enjoy small balcony space for the smoker. Fitting and finishing is brand new, and create the same warm – at home atmosphere as its sister property does.



Pros:

Free wifi works well, there are many access points to choose from, and you will need to connect the strongest one in order to realize that the signal is good otherwise the signal will be cut off occasionally

Pool by the garden is quiet, tranquilly, resort-like with real bird and squirrel singing. Not many people around using the pool which help boosting extra privacy, definitely a sacrificed for xl to provide space like this

The hotel also caters for long-term stay, ask for long-term rates, which is much cheaper if staying for a week or longer

Good location, though hard to find at first, but surrounded by premium restaurants and bars within walking distance. Close to the major shopping malls including the famous night bazaars



Cons:

Breakfast provides more choices to choose compare to the American breakfast at Luxx, but quality and variety are not as satisfactory

Limited numbers of TV channels, but many DVDs to choose from

Some services such as bar and restaurant are not under operation, a shame as the bar and restaurant occupied the best view towards the pool and the garden



Luxx XI is using the same ingredients as its original Luxx. Design and privacy is the gem of this brand. Service is not five stars (and probably is not their goal). Though again given the pricing is right, the current offer is same price as its original property despite marginally bigger room and facilities. Luxx xl is good value however only recommended for those who appreciate difference style not for those of five-star properties fans

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zhaolang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Following recommendations from friends who stayed in the original Luxx we thought we'd try out the new Luxx property to kick off our return to Bangkok.

Though we used a print-out of the map Luxx provides of their location - the directions are written in Thai for the benefit of the taxi driver - it still took a concerted effort by the driver to find the entryway.

But what a striking and grand entrance: two imposing 3.5 meter wooden doors greet you upon alighting from the taxi in an off street secluded drive hemmed in by tall walls and trees. The added flourish of an antique push bike parked in front creates an almost cinematographic ambiance.

Unfortunately that " Luxx moment" was to be as good as it would get for the balance of our stay.

Cleanliness: The front desk was in a disheveled state: the remains of a front desk employee's half-eaten lunch was strewn across the counter; assorted paperwork, folders, and binders lay haphazardly elsewhere; the appearance of the two employees themselves look like they had just awoke.

One nice feature that of this property as featured on its website photos is the generous use of windows affording plenty of natural light. What is not evident is how filthy dirty those windows really are throughout the property. Has anybody ever heard of Windex?
The windows in our first assigned room (poolside) were so dirty, and the peeling paint on the pool verandah roof outside our (dirty) window led us to request a room change.

And as previously referenced in reviews of this property they evidently still have a problem with ANTS ! By the time we were set to leave the following day ants were visible everywhere in the room.

The carpet leading from the elevators to the rooms is worn and drab and maids cleaning supplies are often left sitting in piles near the elevator.

Finally, in back of the pool but clearly visible to all looks like an abandoned wing, or extension, to the hotel that was not rehabilitated with the rest of the property. Worse though is that piles of discarded equipment, furniture, and rubbish is piled very visibly adjacent to the pool and is in fact what one sees when seated on the opposite side.

Location: The property itself is shoehorned in between an apartment building, an old multi-story tenant building, an abandoned extension (see above) and an office complex separated by trees. While the floor-to-ceiling windows are nice as they allow plenty of natural light (dirty notwithstanding) the views from these windows is generally very disappointing; it is after all a city hotel. However, the location within the city is great as there are many restaurants, cafes, shops within easy walking distance.

Rooms:

Positives: wooden floors are a great touch; bathrooms are generous as are the vanity kits they provide; TV channels are limited; beds are comfortable, especially when compared to most in Bangkok. Floor to ceiling windows.

Negative: Wi-fi is TERRIBLE. Though free it is very unreliable and consistently drops which after the umpteenth time grows very wearisome to log back on. Ants (as previously mentioned) by the second day were everywhere; awkward lighting set-up; and filthy floor to ceiling windows that almost makes one want to close the curtains.

Service: A lot of apathy, and nary a soul to be found; we must of had a trainee because staff was very unfamiliar with the most basic requests and service related functions; language communication (English) awkward; there doesn't appear to be any on site manager to oversee operations which results in undisciplined and inconsistent service levels.

Value: Given the choices of similar properties that abound in Bangkok, Luxx XL unfortunately affords very little value. And while breakfast is included the quality is very low, service again very inconsistent, and ambiance of room in which its served quite dismal as one is surrounded by sunlight pouring in through FILTHY windows.

Sleep Quality: Average. Little street noise is heard and bed is comfortable.

In summary, the most vexing issue for us was that many of these problems have been repeatedly cited in previous reviews and no one seems to either care, or have the motivation to affect change. When we complained about the Wi-fi connections the front desk staff told us it was "unusual" and inferred it was a "one off glitch" when we informed them that we had read reviews on-line citing many such instances of similar problems they had no explanation. So it seems they know what the problems/criticisms are but a lame management effort lacks the wherewithal to remedy what otherwise could be a great property.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mackay33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2010

Went for a short weekend stay and am most satisfied with the service, food and overall experience. The place is well furnished and has all the comforts you need from a boutique hotel. The boss, Dusadee is a wonderful hands on fella and when he heard that I loved his music collection, he actually got a music cd for me. Talk about a personal touch to business! I would definitely stay there again when I go back to Bangkok!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank totomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2010

I stayed at the original Luxx in Silom before and was very impressed with its boutique hotel charm. I enjoyed the wooden bath tub and the breakfast in bed concept. We wanted to try its bigger sister hotel in the Langsuan area coz it's a neighborhood that we liked and are familiar with. Here are the pros and cons of staying here:

+ BTS stations are not walkable so take a cab (easy to get one on Langsuan) but you can walk to Lumphini Park for a morning run. Spas and great restos all around though. Try Home Kitchen for great Thai food and Nilada Spa for excellent and reasonable massage.
+ Architecture is very Scandinavian/sauna-like with Asian accents. The common areas and the room was very hot though so you have to turn on the airconditioner at once. Air con at the common areas was turned off though.
+ Service was great. The staff were helpful and even fixed my bag's broken zipper. Really appreciated this one.
+ Lots of magazines and DVDs for you to borrow at the lobby (similar to Silom branch)
+ Breakfast was so-so. Liked the spicy fried rice though. I enjoyed the breakfast in bed i had before in Luxx Silom though.
+ Loved the pool. It was relaxing to swim in the morning with the birds chirping. Made me feel that i was in the jungle and not in an urban one.
+ The bed was a bit hard though but the pillows were okay.
+ No more wooden tub but liked the rain shower head.
+ Liked that the rooms had DVD and an iPod dock.

Overall, a great experience. Food and the heat could be tweaked for an even better experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cargog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Centre Point Hotel Chidlom
#91 of 852 in Bangkok
617 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#136 of 852 in Bangkok
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tenface Bangkok
#192 of 852 in Bangkok
706 reviews
Bliston Suwan Park View
#219 of 852 in Bangkok
587 reviews
Chateau de Bangkok
#149 of 852 in Bangkok
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxx XL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxx XL

Property: Luxx XL
Address: 82/8 Langsuan Road | Lumphinee, Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#217 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxx XL 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LUXX XL is the Xtra Large version of the original, small boutique hotel LUXX. All LUXX XL’s guests can be certain of privacy and exclusivity, unlike those other high rise buildings, LUXX XL comprises of just 34 studio rooms and 16 suites matched with facilities such as pool by the garden and a breakfast serving restaurant. There are ample of spaces to breathe in since the common and garden area accounts more than half of the total plot of land in the property. LUXX XL offers some of the most spacious and larger hotel rooms that can usually be found in the upscale properties only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Luxx XL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxx Xl Hotel Bangkok
Luxx Xl Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing