We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and perfect”
Review of SilQ Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SilQ Bangkok
Ranked #181 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Small and perfect”
Reviewed 15 January 2010

I stayed there for 3 nights in the superior room. The room itself was awesome and the receptionists were friendly and very helpful. The location is very convenient as the bts station were within walking distance and there are spa/massage parlors all along the street which proved to be very useful after a day's shopping/sight seeing.

One thing we did notice though was that the air conditioning was very strong and noisy in our room, but other than that, our stay was great.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rbok002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    389
    86
    21
    14
See reviews for
102
513
142
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

I am currently writing this review from the room on my last night and I don't have anything but good words for SilQ.

The location is great. It's only a few minutes walk to both BTS and MRT. Silom and Siam areas are easily within reach. Having the hotel within walking distance from the stations is especially great when you've just come back from an exhausting expedition into Bangkok's amazing shopping hotspots.

The superior room I stayed in was very clean, comfortable and cozy. It's stylish without being pretentious. The bed was extremely sleep-worthy with snug pillows and linen. Curtains totally block the light which make getting out of bed really hard in the morning. The bathroom has modern fixtures and a good shower with strong running water. The orchid is a nice touch, as well as the nice "flower" origami they make on the tissue box. The amenities are adequate but like what someone mentioned, it's a bit hard to squeeze the bottles.

The service is also topnotch. The staff is always ready with a smile and willing to help. I arrived at 4AM and they were able to provide me with an extremely early check-in. I was in my room in no time. Requests were also attended to swiftly. I never had to wait for anything.

The breakfast is no-frills. The selection is just right with cereals, juices and cooked meals.

And when it comes to value for money, SilQ would be a runaway winner. I took the long stay package which was a real steal. The package included a 1000 Baht credit for the hotel's food and beverage, which allowed me to save on dinner (although it would be a crime not to eat along Bangkok's sois). I got to try some of the hotel's fare (pasta, pad thai and tom khaa) and they were surprisingly delicious.

Overall, my stay at SilQ was a most pleasurable one. This is how a boutique hotel should be.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brickello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

We found this to be a little gem. A new boutique hotel, with GREAT rooms, great décor great staff, great prices, great location. They are always full for a reason! It’s a great value for your money. If you don’t need the gym and other 4 star hotel amenities this is a great hotel to stay. Nice rooms, very comfortable (the smaller room is very small without a desk, go for the 2nd size for only $6 extras!). VERY comfortable bed and linens, good shower and amenities. Around $50 for a great room with free internet and breakfast. GREAT value.

There is a bar at the lobby and a restaurant with a couple of computers to check internet for free. Just 2 blocks away from the Skytrain AND the metro.

We tried to extend our stay and they were full...no wonder why! It's a great value

Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank morochaargentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holy Island, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

This is the only hotel I have ever found through trip advisor that didn't have a single bad report, so I felt duty bound to try it out. I wasn't disappointed !
The location is excellent, the rooms are spotless and the service is superb. It's a 2 minute walk from Sukhumvit Rd and Asok station, so handy for getting to anywhere in the city.
This is a little gem of a hotel, just off the main road. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Banksyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Pakistan
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2009

In a prime location, rubbing shoulders with giants Westin and Sheraton, is a diminutive and spanking new hotel picturesquely named Silq. My wife and I spent 3 nights there. We were given a room on the 8th floor which offered an excellent view of the city. The room, though compact, is spotlessly clean, has a flat screen TV with a large selection of channels and a very modern bathroom.

The buffet breakfast offers a reasonably good array of Thai and western dishes including the customary cereals, juices and fresh fruits.

The staff is very courteous, well trained and attentive to your needs. Its location is ideal - it is thankfully positioned in one of the sois (side lanes) just away from the hustle and bustle of main Sukhumvit, and yet just a few minutes walk from the sky train, subway station and shopping centres.

Additionally, there are two 77/11s, a number of massage parlours and a Robinsons' departmental store nearby.

And, as most gourmets advise, the best places to eat are where the locals eat - so don't miss out on the food stalls and carts just outside the hotel that offer fresh and delicious local cuisine.

Special treats offered by Silq include free internet service in the lobby and four bottles of mineral water delivered free of charge daily to your room. And, a surprise treat - the owner of the hotel, Ravi Sehgal, also owns the tailoring establishment of the same name located next to the hotel.

One of the items on my shopping list was custom-made suits and shirts and, on our flight to Bangkok, I made a note of tailoring shops advertised on the in-flight magazine that offered a package of 2 suits, shirts and trousers for a ridiculous price ranging from USD 150 - 175. And on checking them out, I discovered that that's exactly what they were: "ridiculous". Each one had a catch. One said the price only reflected the fabric cost, tailoring was separate; another said that the price was for ready-made suits and not custom made; and yet another told us that the price was only for certain fabrics not the more expensive ranges. So, after this survey, I decided to drop into Mr. Ravi Sehgal's shop which was on our way, and I was pleasantly surprised. Not only did I find Mr Sehgal to be extremely knowledgeable and reasonably priced but he offered an excellent selection of Italian cashmere wool fabrics for the suits and high-end, 100% cotton fabrics for the shirts. With three fittings in three days, the items were delivered perfectly styled and on schedule in a handy, carry-on suiter.

So, if you are looking for comfort and excellent value, you can't get any smoother than Silq!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veer2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2009

This perfect little hotel has everyting you can ask for. It is located close to the BTS train and several restaurants as well as two 7-11 and several massage places.
The hotel is brand new and very clean. Rooms are fairly small, but has comfortable beds and nice bathrooms. Breakfast is not included in the price, but for a small amount of money, this can be added. Great french toast and fresh fruit.
The restaurant serves both western and thai food and is great for a quick meal. Not very cosy though so if you are looking for a romantic dinner, head elsewere.
Service is also great and I will not even consider another hotel on my next visit to Bangkok.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loves-to-travel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2009

+ Warm and friendly staff
+ Sparkling clean room
+ All basics provided
+ Complimentary wifi is high plus point
+ Convenient location, close proximity to Asok BTS station
+ Porters were extremely friendly and helpful, didn't rip us off with the cabby; the attentiveness far exceeded our expectation when the porter ran out of the hotel to the roadside where we stood with a map, just so that he could perhaps offer some help with direction.
+ On the last night of our stay, a team of 3-4 hotel staff knocked at our room door, and surprised us with birthday singing and a complimentary cake. I wasn't even the principal guest registered with them, and that goes to show the extra mile they took to leave guests with a great impression

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quirkymeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sacha's Hotel Uno
Sacha's Hotel Uno
#249 of 863 in Bangkok
1,126 reviews
Sukhumvit
The Key Bangkok Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Arte Hotel
Arte Hotel
#185 of 863 in Bangkok
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
S Sukhumvit Suites
S Sukhumvit Suites
#196 of 863 in Bangkok
867 reviews
Sukhumvit
CityPoint Hotel
CityPoint Hotel
#83 of 863 in Bangkok
1,224 reviews
Sukhumvit
S15 Sukhumvit Hotel
S15 Sukhumvit Hotel
#261 of 863 in Bangkok
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SilQ Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SilQ Bangkok

Property: SilQ Bangkok
Address: 54 Sukhumvit Soi 19 | Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#110 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#115 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#124 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#146 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — SilQ Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SilQ is 40 room boutique hotel located in the heart of shopping and the entertainment district of Sukhumvit on Soi 19, SilQ Bangkok provides elegant accommodation in the city center. The hotel is within walking distance 150 meters to Asoke BTS station and from 175 meter to Sukhumvit MRT, and a stone's throw away from Shopping center, Terminal 21, Robinson and the Queen Sirikit National Convention Center. The Suvarnabhumi Airport is 20 km away. All guest rooms are elegantly decorated with soothing colors. Each is equipped with a flat-screen TV and personal safe. The on-site restaurant features a great selection of Thai in cool setting and the Lobby Lounge offers an inviting ambiance for sipping cocktails at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SilQ Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silq Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing