We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basics not done”
Review of Royal View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal View Resort
Ranked #99 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Basics not done”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend in Feb 2014. On arrival I was told to sit down. They brought over a couple of glasses of chilled lemon drink which was very nice. I was then told that they had charged my card with the full amount of the stay and if I didnt want to pay by card they would refund the amount and it should turn up in my account in two weeks. This is totally UNACCEPTABLE as they had no permission to do this. The card details were given to hold the room only! In the evening a member of staff knocked on the door and gave us 2 apples and a note about how they value customers. The following day we were out all day and returned at 9pm to find our room had not been cleaned, floors not mopped, bins not emptied, new bottles water not left, towels not changed. Two more apples had appeared though! The hotel should focus on the basics and ensuring the room is cleaned and not charging the customer's card without permission! As regards the room the bedroom was nice but the bathroom was not of the same standard. Kind if sumned up the stay really!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panthep C, Manager at Royal View Resort, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Valued Customer

There might be misunderstood regarding the charge thru your credit card
but the hotel did pre authorized your credit card for the full amount of your accomodation
On arrival all hotel guests who we had been pre authorized their credit card will get informed to let them know that their credit card has been pre authorized if they wish to pay by the same credit card then the hotel will use the same approve code for offline sale but if the guest prefer to pay by cash or other credit card the credit card that has been pre authorized will automaticly release within 7 working days up to 14 days depend on each credit card type

We do apologized which what happened during your stay that your room has not been clean, after investigate with house keeping department on each day during February guest room that's not been clean only when they hang "Do not Disturb" sign at the door and house keeping will try to call each guest room to ask their permission to clean the room

But in your case I not quite sure in the situation but I blamed on our staff that forgot to make up your room
The toilet issue is something quite major that we try to work on it to get it done in the proper way as mention

Once again thank you for your kind comment which we will work on it and use it to implement our services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    450
    131
    17
    5
See reviews for
78
179
60
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore River, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

the reception received was fabulous! the reception crews were very friendly and efficient. you were requested to be seated and served with a welcome drink before they came to you to confirm your stay and details. thumbs up!

it was close to the bts station but you need to make the correct turn from the main road and then turn into the soi. nearby, are the king power duty free and the shopping center. along the way to the hotel, there are restaurants, road side eateries and massage shops so very convenient. the hotel has a bar and massage shop as well.

room was nice and clean with safety box and many tv channels. free wifi and rate includes breakfast that is simple and sufficient. limited tables so depend on the crowd.

overall, only stayed for a night, would recommend to budget and family travellers. service was impressive. would definitely be back next time to bkk. cheers.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gecko_cheeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

When we got there, it was wonderful. It was the first time that we were invited to sit down and had a welcome drink. They did not rush us to check-in like the other hotels did. The staffs are friendly and they acknowledged us all the time we were there. Even the concierge is very nice. The room is comfortable, big and clean. We were lucky to have a stunning view of BaiYoke building from our balcony. The bathroom is also big and comes with a bath tub. We love their lemongrass-smell of soap, shampoo and body lotion so much. Breakfast was also very good. There were plenty of choices; both Western and Thai food. They looked tasty and they were tasty!!! We stayed there only one night during our transit but wish to have stayed much longer.
We would really recommend this small lovely hotel to everyone who would like a calm place in the middle of busy Bkk city.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kessarin41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

The staff makes this hotel great. Without exception, from the maids to the waiters to the front desk and the incredible manager, I was treated extremely well and even a difficulty with my Visa was fixed by the very helpful staff who do not hesitate to fulfill a guests requests. The hotel is also in a great location close to everything you need and right across from a lovely park. The rooms are kept clean and are comfortable, but it is the staff and management that makes Royal View Great!

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Folkartforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a great pick. Excellent value for money. Staff is friendly, rooms are large and clean. It is close to key attractions,transport and a peaceful park.
The only additional thing it could really do with - if u fancy having a lazy day - is a swimming pool.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank vale999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Upon arrival the staff were helpful and friendly - provided us with delicious drinks.
We stayed the night before the planned protests in Bangkok (13/01/14) and they enquired as to how we were getting around the next day and offered advice about how to manage. They seemed genuinely concerned about our welfare.
The staff working during the night when we came in drunk were very friendly despite the time.
The rooms (eighth floor) were great, great beds and the air con was quick to cool the rooms down and at £22 a room were a bargain.
Location was good, very close to Victory Monument, Skytrain station and 3 Macdonalds!
Only slight issue at breakfast when the tea was cold. The check out process was slower than I would have liked, we ended up missing a train.
Overall, very good!

Room Tip: Eighth floor has all smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

The rooms are big and clean. The staff is very friendly and always ready to help you. You can book several tours in this hotel and you have also a massage center. Nice breakfast with a lot of options. I enjoyed the location of this hotel since the neighbourhood is quiet. We had a great and pleasant stay here.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LLiana_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Phayathai
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
Picnic Hotel Bangkok
#356 of 867 in Bangkok
58 reviews
Hotel de Bangkok
#248 of 867 in Bangkok
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#81 of 867 in Bangkok
921 reviews
Silom
Silom City Hotel
Silom City Hotel
#109 of 867 in Bangkok
749 reviews
Phayathai
True Siam Phayathai Hotel
True Siam Phayathai Hotel
#330 of 867 in Bangkok
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal View Resort

Property: Royal View Resort
Address: 27/3 Soi Chaisamorpoom RangnamRoad | Payathai Ratchatevi, Bangkok, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#132 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#159 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal View Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing