We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's a reason On8 is a Traveller's Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
On8 Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality
Ranked #196 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Viana do Castelo, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“There's a reason On8 is a Traveller's Choice”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Stayed for 5 days in late July, 2012 in Premier room 301. Travelers' photos don't lie, it is nice as it looks and a bargain for the price range. For its location in Bangkok, it's a bargain. Nearly everything about this small (40 rooms?) hotel shines, from the staff to the clean rooms to the comfortable beds to the great Western oriented breakfast buffet and egg dishes to order. Located right beside the Nana BTS station, nearly every area of Bangkok a tourist would visit is easily accessible, especially with the underground MRT now in service. Have stayed in quite a few small hotels and areas around Bangkok and this is a winner. It is on Sukhumvit so outside is frenetic, though you hardly notice this in the hotel.

We snooped around a bit and here is some advice on room locations - have attached a photo of a floor plan. All rooms are on the 2-5 floors. The front of the hotel faces a quiet dead-end soi, so no traffic. Two Premier rooms on each floor face the soi and have a wall of frosted glass. No view, but it would not be that great anyway since the hotel is only 5 stories high, and the privacy is nice. Facing the hotel from the soi, the left side of the hotel faces a currently empty lot. Deluxe rooms 3-5 on each floor have a small frosted window that faces this side, so there is natural filtered light. The rooms mentioned so far, are all on the same level as the elevator.

The remaining rooms on each floor are down a small flight of stairs in the hallway. Still on the side with the empty lot, as the hotel nears the large avenue called Sukhumvit that it backs up on, there is a small 3-story building beside On8. Room 6, at least for the lower floors, "faces" this area so there is maybe no natural light. The next two rooms at the end of the corridor on each floor are 7 and 8 and face Sukhumvit. Seven is a larger Premier room with a frosted glass wall by the looks of the outside. Eight is a smaller Deluxe room. Deluxe rooms 9 and 10 are on the other side of the hallway. This side of the hotel butts right up against a building so these rooms probably do not have natural light but would probably be very quiet except for any hall noise.

As mentioned in other reviews, none of the room windows open but considering the average heat, humidity and pollution around central Bangkok this is probably no loss for many. The build of the rooms as to noise abatement seems standard. We could hear folks above if they dragged a chair or dropped something on the floor. The Premier rooms have connecting doors so like any hotel room set up this way it could be a little noisier depending on what goes on. The hall doors seemed no different than most hotels in this price range. Outside our room was a laundry closet with staff working sometimes in the area and we heard nothing. We are not heavy sleepers but slept well at On8 so it seems quiet enough.

Final notes - nowhere is perfect and we even had a day where a very busy staff forgot to clean our room but the management responded appropriately. Bedside room lighting, at least in 301 could be stronger for reading at night. Wifi was excellent on the 3 floor. Neighborhood was typical for this area of Sukhumvit. Mixture of restaurants, hotels, convenience stores, malls and apartment buildings. Well lit. Want some greenery? Checkout Chuvit Park, a short walk down Sukhumvit at Soi 10. A big plus if staying awhile in this area.

Nice place and would stay here again when in this part of Bangkok.

Room Tip: See review and floor plan picture for rooms breakdown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RheaGray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aermporn, Hotel Manager at On8 Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear RheaGray R
Batu Ferringhi, Malaysia
Senior Contributor

Thank you so much for taking the time to share us your remarkable stay experience at On8 Bangkok, during your recent visit. While we strive to maintain the highest customer satisfaction standards, monitoring our effectiveness can be a challenge at times. We welcome suggestions such as yours as they indicate the areas where we can further improve.
We appreciate the generously worded comments. In our communications with our associates, we always focus on the importance of being a customer driven hotel by putting the customer first. Our service culture emphasizes caring, courteous, warm, friendly, polite, and consistent attitude at every interaction with our customer. I do hope that you have received this on numerous occasions you have stayed with us.
We have noted your observations and recommendations for improvements to On8. We will continue in our improvement efforts to provide excellent service and products to our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

Warm Regards

Aermporn Menthong, Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    413
    105
    28
    13
See reviews for
101
360
271
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I stayed at On8 Sukhumvit last August. As a solo traveler new to Bangkok, I wanted a hotel that was easily accessible to public transportation, which this was. Each time I entered the hotel, it was through the café on the main road. I stayed at this hotel for a few days both before and after a guided tour of Thailand. I liked that I was able to safely store some luggage and souvenirs at On8 during this trip between my two stays at the hotel. The rooms I had were impeccably clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. While the rooms were small and only had frosted windows, the trendy room style and decoration made the small space work well. Perhaps the best part of this hotel was the staff, one gentleman in particular whose name I unfortunately can't remember. He was always polite, very helpful, and even greeted me by name when I returned to the hotel after two weeks! I would highly recommend this hotel to a solo traveler or a couple visiting Bangkok.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aermporn, Hotel Manager at On8 Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear stephgreen
New York

We certainly appreciate the time you have taken to provide such detailed feedback on your stay with us. We are delighted that you were able to enjoy the indigenous and exceptional experience that my team provides at ON8 Sukhumvit, Bangkok.
We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a regular guest. If you have plan to Thailand or Bangkok , please put On8 in to your list.
Lastly, we would like to be able to welcome you again and again and have another opportunity to serve your better. Once again, thank you for your staying with us.

Best Regards,

Aermporn Menthong, Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Our taxi driver had a bit of difficulty finding the hotel - it is straight off Soi 8, so no need to drive further down the soi. The staff were very helpful and lovely. The rooms tidy and clean. A very good little find in Sukhumvit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojointheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aermporn, Hotel Manager at On8 Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear jojointheworld

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at On8 Sukhumvit, Bangkok. We also thank you for taking your value time to provide us with your feedback on TripAdvisor.
Your valued compliments with our staff will definitely be shared among our team and will definitely help us to move forward and keep us to stay in the list of hotels in Bangkok. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With Kind Regards,

Aermporn Menthong, Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I have just left ON8 and would recommend it to everyone. I have just read other reviews and they have said its down a scary alley. I went to a friends hotel, and the alley that there hotel was on, not even I wouild have walked down. I found the area safe, and locals friendly, and happy to assist you in finding your hotel for the first.

Now to the hotel, This hotel has been open for about 3 years, and while I was there, I couldn't find anything to fault them over. Seriously, Its that good. From the moment you arrive, untill the time you leave, everyone is thoughful and happy to see you, not to mention they will go out of there way to help you find places, give you the best options on how to get there and travel times. Even the Management are very approachable and easy to talk too, and will take the time to talk to you if you have any concerns.

This in my opinion is a First class Boutique hotel that i would recommend to anyone. Its easy to get too, skytrain less them 5 min walk away(taking your time) the rooms are very clean/modern/facilities are excellent.

If your going to Bangkok for a night or longer, then this is the place to stay. I will be going back.

Room Tip: Not a lot of opening windows, so don't get hung up on a view. 4th floor very quiet. Room 403 jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DethVeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aermporn, Hotel Manager at On8 Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear DethVeggie,
Australia
Contributor

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at On8 Sukhumvit, Hotel on your most recent visit to Bangkok.

We highly appreciate your detailed review and kind words and hope that this will be helpful for future guests.

It is certainly a highlight for hoteliers to welcome returning guests like yourself
and we are delighted to know that we are able to deliver a memorable experience each time you visit.

I look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future.

With Kind Regards,

Best Regards,

Aermporn Menthong, Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzon, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I stayed in ON8 Sukhumvit last 15th until 20th and I had some problems with the staff and how they act towards the costumers. The place is nice and the staff were nice at the first time. I reserved a room using my fiance's credit card because my debit card is not working in Thailand and it wasn't a smooth transaction at all. I was having trouble explaining that my fiance is in Sweden and he can't be here but he gave you the number that you'll be needing and such then after a while they asked me to give a 3000 baht deposit and I gave them. The guy from the reception helped me with my luggage and brought me to my room, he was nice. By the morning, I took a shower and when I went out of the shower the bathroom floor was wet because the shower door doesn't have any lock. It would have been nice if there's a lock because no one wants to have an accident. Before the day I left, I asked the receptionist if it is okay to charge my phone bill to my fiance's card because my card is not working and he said it's possible and I asked him to do it on that time and he said just do it tomorrow before you leave, it won't take so much time, only 5 minutes and I said, okay.

My last day. I asked the receptionist to charge my phone bill to my fiance's card and he said they cannot do that. The hell?! It wasn't a good conversation at all, I ended up paying them by cash. I am not having problem with cash, it is just that the guy said that it's possible then by the morning it's not possible anymore. And while having a conversation about what's happening he kept talking to the lady in Thai language and for me, it's disrespectful. I know that you're in your country but hey! that is not good, specially that you are doing it in front of the guess. After all, I paid them and ready to leave. I asked for taxi the day before I left but there was no taxi waiting for me and none of them helped me with my luggages.

I like the place but if the staff would be always like that then I'd rather to say in a cheap-not-so good place but courteous people than to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrueReviewsONLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aermporn, Hotel Manager at On8 Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear TrueReviewsONLY
Luzon, Philippines
Reviewer


First and foremost, thank you for choosing to stay at On8 Sukhumvit, Bangkok on your most recent visit to Thailand.

I was very concerned to learn of the unacceptable level of service which you experienced on your recent stay with us. Certainly your first stay experience reflects our normal level of service which we try to deliver in a personalized and attentive manner. I have called for a full investigation on all the points you have raised and a series of actions and retraining has been put in place to ensure that such inconsistencies do not reoccur.

When you made a reservation the record show, accommodation will be paid by your fiancé credit card, which in actual fact should have a authorization approval via email or on a standard form for the bank to verify and as such this was not given from the start of reservation and normally the hotel will collect cash for the period of stay and extras and upon check out will be refunded if not used, as being the normal practice.

Please for your future booking and plans to Bangkok kindly write to me personally : manager@on8bangkok.com and I will ensure all will be taken care. We welcome you and your fiancé to our Hotel and we will have your stay a very memorable one.

Once again Thank you and looking forward to welcome both you soon and give us another opportunity to serve you both better.


With Kind regards,

Aermporn Menthong, Ms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Having stay here several times over the past few years great location and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Stay in a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aermporn, Hotel Manager at On8 Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Gerry091,
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking your time to write your feedback on Tripadvisor and returning to On8 Sukhumvit, Bangkok. .

We appreciate your loyalty and support for our hotel.

It is certainly a highlight for hoteliers to welcome returning guests like yourself and we are delighted to know that we are able to deliver a memorable experience each time you visit.

We hope to be able to welcome you again and have another opportunity to serve your better.

With Kind Regards,

Aermporn Menthong, Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Well educated biter of reindeer from Finland
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Once again, great reviews @ TA, and big disappointment.

This small hostei is located at back of small, dark and scary sidealley of Sukhumvith soi 8. Lobby area looks niceand stylish.

But their rooms are another story. We stayed one night before our morning flight to europe in one of their "premier" rooms. WHAT NO WINDOWS? IN PREMIER ROOM? Just one wall made of stained glass, letting in some light. The hotel have apparently been running for some years now, because typical Thai "erosion" had started. The room have obviously been very nice once. Now it was just neclected. Worn out, ill fitting bathroom doors, malfunctioning shower.

The real climax of our stay, was after about 10 pm. when a very loud verbal fight (including screaming children) started next room. Only thing the hotel staff did for that was to add some more doorslamming and shouting to the show. An it did continue, and continue and continue.... until nearly 3 am. We finally were able to get some sleep. Until 4.30 when we had to get up and head to airport.

Luckily our coach seats got miraculously upgaraded to bussiness at gate, and we did get some well needed sleep during our flight.

I will never again use services of this establishment an do strongly recommend others to avoid it. It may be cheap and reasonably clean place to spend a night if everything goes well. But they have no intention at all to solve any inconvenience that may arise. @ Sukhumvith area there are dozens of better budget hotels in same price range and much better service attitude than this WINDOWLESS hostel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kumiankka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aermporn, Hotel Manager at On8 Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear kumiankka
Well educated biter of reindeer from Finland

With all respect we at the Hotel take all reviews be it negative or positive seriously. As per your email response you sound very bitter but as a established property we do have the right to say or write what is right and wrong and any all reviews has been so far taken and we have fixed the issues so it does not repeat, for every single guest is our most honored and valuable guest. Just to say with all the comments written, kindly see below:

Windows are frosted double glazed and this a fact established since our opening taking into consideration it was designed from one the best interior designers(we opted for frosted glass as the view outside isn’t inviting)

Run down – we have checked all rooms and do room maintenance every week to ensure that the rooms are the same ambience since our opening and we have many repeated guest who written to us saying this, you can email us directly what you felt was not at par.

Ill Fitting bathroom doors | Malfunction Shower – Our HSKP log book has records and they do check this every time when they do the rooms and anything that does not work is immediately fixed by our engineers whereby a MR log book also verifies – TQ for letting us know.

Shouting | Screaming – We investigated with our night shift| security guard and CCTV and yes we found that the next door guest a family with 3 children staying were in and out especially the children were running in and out slamming the door as there was no staff from the hotel sad to say the reception was not called or informed and our security would have responded immediately, however we take your review very seriously.

Anyway, please give us a chance to be able to serve you better.

With Kind regards,

Aermporn Menthong, Ms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Grand Swiss Sukhumvit 11 by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
CityPoint Hotel
CityPoint Hotel
#84 of 866 in Bangkok
1,227 reviews
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
#56 of 866 in Bangkok
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok
Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok
#156 of 866 in Bangkok
1,004 reviews
Sukhumvit
Citrus Sukhumvit 11 by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Hotel Icon Bangkok
Hotel Icon Bangkok
#113 of 866 in Bangkok
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On8 Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On8 Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality

Property: On8 Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality
Address: 162 Sukhumvit Road, Soi Sukhumvit Soi 8 | Nana BTS, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#101 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#118 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#123 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — On8 Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On8 Sukhumvit Nana Bangkok Hotel is Bangkok's latest chic hotel located right in the center of it all. It offers hip and yet avant-garde designs for modern day travelers.Conveniently located next to the Nana BTS Skytrain Station along Sukhumvit Road, in an area considered one of the most vibrant, colourful and touristy part of Bangkok. Here, shopping, dining and entertainment options abound, offering exciting choices well-suited to a variety of lifestyles. A cosy hotel with only 40 rooms to choose from. Each hip in style with faux leather accents, timber designed ceramic flooring and the latest in-room technology including wireless Internet access and a 32" LCD TV.The entire hotel is Wi-Fi enabled for the guest's convenience. Hotel facilities include the trendy On8 Cafe, in-room dining and Internet stations. This is a 100% non-smoking property. Intimate in size and rich in details, On8 combines simplicity with an attitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your On8 Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On8 Sukhumvit Bangkok
On8 Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing