We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing... huge work to do in matter of cleaning and training...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
On8 Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality
Ranked #194 of 867 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Asia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Disappointing... huge work to do in matter of cleaning and training...”
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Due to the last political events in Bangkok and passing by the Thai capital I had to change of hotel as my favorite one was closed. As per their website I had decided to stay in this hotel as it looks trendy and a bit different as an hotel can be in a so beautiful country as Thailand.
We stayed only one night and it was more of enough. Occupancy was less of 20% as per the reception and we had to face several challenges since our arrival there:

- no Thai greetings at arrival or even a smile (can be a fake one at least) but Thailand is famous for beeing the Land of Smiles... no????
- I asked for a higher floor and non smoking room, the room number was changed manually on the registration card from 504 to 404 before our arrival and when I mentioned it at the check in the receptionist (female) replied to me that the 5th and top floor of the hotel was under renovation. Not true at all as this floor was closed for saving energy. We checked ourselves and did not see any renovation works on this floor and can understand it as this hotel is open since less of 2 years... Not really nice to lie in this way to a client.
- ceiling in the lobby has a very ugly black moist stain near the air con fan and it does not like nice at all and especially hygienic.
- the room given was quite small, especially the bathroom, the space between the wash basin and the shower and the door is ridiculous and well the toilet bowl and the shower partition.
- shower door was leacking and as a result the bath mat was wet as well the floor in the bathroom before I finish my shower.
- no body lotion.
- no make up mirror.
- TV channels list were not matching with the TV list provided on the bedside table (no French channel on the TV but mentioned on the list as an example...
- Frames in the room and in the bathroom were full of dust and not a dust from one week or one month.
- minibar drinks outrageously expensive 80 THB for a soft drink as Coca Cola is simply ridiculous when you have a convenient store at less of 2 minutes from this hotel and you can get the same for less of 20 THB.
- Breakfast was ok, no buffet due to the low occupancy and I can understand it. However no music in the restaurant around 8am and the two TV there were both on CNN...
- Check out was slow, not really courteous and without smile at all.

I have to admit that as professional hotelier myself since more of 15 years I had required to meet the Manager of this place as I was quite upset by all these details, she offers us a plate of fruits and a correct discount on the room rate. However I keep still disappointed by this place and will not stay again as I find quite ridiculous their attitude especially in matter of cleaning when the hotel is at less of 20% of occupancy.
I will pass on the fact that the staff was talking in Thai when I was with my partner (Thai national) and not talking in English as international business and tourism language and mostly Thai people especially working in tourism, hospitality and hotel industry are speaking English. Quite rude and not professional.

There are plenty of great places and hotels in this area and in Bangko, for sure it was the first and the last time there.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrisinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walailuk_C, Manager at On8 Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 4 June 2010
Dear Chrisinasia 21 contributions
Asia

Thank you so much for taking the time to share us of your stay experience at On8 Bangkok, as a well travelled guest and a keen Hotelier, your comments are valuable in helping us to maintain a high level of service and ensure that your expectations are met.
On this occasion, your comments and feedbacks on our accommodation, breakfast, staffs and other issues, ensured that it will be done.
Kindly see reply of your comments. Taking this opportunity we would like to sincerely thank you and apologize for all the inconvenience caused while your one night stay with us.

We are not able to post all the replies individually as trip advisor return reply as such we will send them via your email.

Sincerely Yours,


Khun Walailuk C
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    414
    105
    28
    13
See reviews for
101
361
271
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

We stayed at On8 Hotel for 3 days and I am so glad we did. We stayed in a saffron room (which is a better size) during the recent troubles in Bangkok. The staff bent over backwards to keep us safe, we received an update under our door each day telling us exactly where is NOT safe. Breakfast is good, there is a choice from a small menu for english breakfast, then buffet style pastries and toast etc. Yoghurts, fruit and juices on offer too. We preferred chicken sausages and they actually had them! Pong and the manageress were especially kind to us. Whilst we were there they had to deal with a western customer who tried to leave without paying. They dealt with it extremely well and remained calm even though he was accusing them of everything you can think of, including assaulting him in the street. Anyone who knows Thai people know they will do anything to avoid these kind of confrontations especially with customers in their hotel. After all his screaming and shouting he still ended up paying! On8 is literally outside Nana station (skytrain closed at present due to unrest). The hotel is right on Fantastic Sukhumvit market. The rooms are clean and modern and have everything (including tea and coffe, hair dryer, slippers and robes to boot). The shower is the best I've had in Bangkok, Its excellent. There ARE, windows however the glass has been opaqued out as the view and noise would be awful. You can still see the natural light coming through the glass but that is it. It really didn't bother us as the Saffron room was so so nice. TIP: Go to Foodland supermarket (Took Lae Dee restaurant inside - you won't be disappointed) . I requested an iron at the desk and by the time I got to my room it was there!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smilehightravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walailuk_C, Manager at On8 Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 30 May 2010
Dear Sir and Madam,


Thank you very much for your compliment. Your heartfelt words and special mention of Mr. Pong who is our Senior Bellman and ON8 members will be shared with our team.

Your compliments inspire us to continually provide and improve the level of service that guests have come to expect.

Once again, thank you for making us one of your preferred accommodation choices. We look forward to welcoming you again at ON8 Sukhumvit.


Yours sincerely



Walailuk C
Hotel Manager
ON8 Sukhumvit Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2010

booked this hotel from its reviews on tripadvisor. and we wernt let down. when we arrived at the airport and got a taxi, he did not have a clue where it was. best thing is to have the phone number of the hotel and the taxi guy will ring.
the location is good. right next to sky train, 2/3 stops from the massive fab siam paragon shopping centre. you must visit the food court at the place.
the hotel is very clean, modern, great shower and good breakfast in the morning. one little thing would be to have a window in the room. but with all the hectic outside life of bangkok outside, maybe its best. some do have windows etc.
the hotels main entrance is down a little dead end road. so its quite chilled.
must do river cruise, go emrald budha, and koh san road. also go sky view bar, at the banyan tree. arrive by tuktuk, its so fuuny, as you pull up outside a 5 start hotel in a tuktuk. no one gives a dam. and go patpong road to see the dirty side of thailand, my wife didnt like it, but you have to see it for yourself.
i would recomend this hotel, good location, clean, good value.


have fun. hope this helps

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank japes02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walailuk_C, Manager at On8 Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 10 May 2010
Dear japes02 5 contributions
surrey
Thank you very much for your posting on Trip Advisor. We are so glad you and your wife had a good time staying with us and enjoy experiences in Bangkok especially night life.
Thank you again for your time in posting this review and we hope to see you soon!

Warm regards,

Walailuk C.
Hotel Manager
On8 Sukhumvit Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2010

Great Hotel and freindly staff , stayed here for 20 nights in April with a back drop
of Volcano ash and Riots this place is a sanctury away from the maddening crowds.
I have travelled extensively and stayed in some of the world best Hotels.
I would reccomend this Hotel to anyone you wants to be sure their room is clean
sheets are clean , leaving valuables in your room on display such as iphones and
Apple laptops are safe. Security is very good.
I would like to say a big thankyou to Ping our waitress in the morning who always
went the extra mile for us and really enjoyed her job what an asset to this Hotel
and Pong I cannot give them nothing but praise.
I come from a catering background having spent 25 years as a catering manager
and I notice the small details.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derk652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walailuk_C, Manager at On8 Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 10 May 2010
Dear derk652 5 contributions
Grimsby
Thank you very much for your compliment. Your heartfelt words and special mention of Ms. Pang Café On8 Waitress and Mr. Pong Senior Bell Man will be shared with our Management of On8 Sukhumvit and our team member.
Your compliments inspire us to continually provide and improve the level of service that guests have come to expect.
Once again, thank you for making us one of your preferred accommodation choices. We look forward to welcoming you again at On8 Sukhumvit.

Warm regards,

Walailuk C.
ON8 Sukhumvit Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Very nice boutique hotel. Stayed at the On8 in BKK for 3 nights, arrival was lovely with welcome drink and cold towel. We used the hotel transfer but it was double the price of the taxi's at the airport. Do not spend more than 500thb however make sure you get a map as the taxi driver will need it to find the hotel. Don't be put off by main entrance which is down an alleyway, on entering the hotel it is cool and lush!

We changed rooms due to the noise of the construction going on next to the hotel although this finished early evening and starts around ten in the morning. Moved to a room with no windows but absolute silence made for a good sleep.

Good Points:
Good sized rooms and bathrooms with nice amenities
Clean and very safe
Excellent Location next to the BTS which is highly recommended
Free wifi
Very nice mannered staff willing to help

Bad Points
Slightly overpriced due no swimming pool (snuck into the sheraton next door....lovely)
Breakfast was a bit basic but adequate

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cloudsurfer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provo, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2010

My wife and I stayed with this wonderful hotel for 9 nights i March 2010. We found the hotel to be delightful and it exceeded our expectations. This new hotel was designed with every amenity thoughtfully available. We were greeted with an ice cold wash cloth and a cold beverage. The staff were friendly and eager to be helpful with travel advice, destinations to consider and directions. Every request was handled promptly and with courtesy. They quickly delivered, with a smile,a few extra hangers we requested.

The rooms are very quiet but small, yet have every feature needed. The beds are king size and come equipped with 4 large pillows. The TV is a wall mounted flat screen with a wide range of cable channels available. A writing desk and chair are available and plenty of closet space. Light switches are with in reach of the bed. The rooms come with robes, slippers, refrigerator , electronic wall safe and two 630 ML bottles of drinking water delivered daily. Each room has its own air conditioner which is individually controlled and very comfortable. The shower was large enough for two and comes with an adjustable high shower head.

A hot cooked breakfast is provided each morning. there are cold cereals, fruit,yoghurt, juices rolls and toast. The eggs can be prepared 6 different ways and come with a choice of ham, bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes, and potatoes. The dining area is a full service restaurant and is staffed with delightfully friendly employees.

They have wi-fi service and two computers for use by guests. The elevator is key card secure for extra comfort. The hotel lobby is in the rear of the property and the restaurant faces Sukhumvit road. Directions for the Taxi driver would be to enter 8 Soi from Sukhumvit road and turn right 50 feet Sukhumvit road. The hotel is 60 feet to the end of that drive way. The hotel is very convenient to a travel agent on one side and a money exchange on the other. There are over 50 restaurants within a short walking distance. Plenty of shopping and city excitement. The is also the best tailor in Bangkok close by. This tailors name if RAJA's fashions.

The very best thing about this hotel is its convenient location to the Sky Train. The NANA BTS stop is just outside the front door of the restaurant. The escalator is just 6 feet from the front door. We plan a family trip to Bangkok and will bring our family to stay in this great hotel. Why stay anywhere else when you can have the best at a very reasonable price. (This review is a correction to one written and posted on March 24, 2010.)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpkcak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Stayed here with friends.
Great location!
Great Price!
Great Rooms
IMPOSSIBLE TO FIND!!!!! Even for locals!
The picture of the hotel is actually the back of the hotel so you wont be able to find it by looking for this picture. The phone number listed on this site is wrong so dont bother calling. And the numbers included in addresses in Thailand refer to the original lot numbers assigned when the city was developed A LONG TIME AGO and no one knows what the numbers mean. What you need to know to tell the cab driver is that the hotel is located at Sukhumvit and Soi 8(soi is Thai for street) It is about three buildings in from the corner. Make the driver drive down Soi 8 about 20 feet to the alley and turn right into the dead end alley. The hotel is at the end of the alley on the right.
If you enter the hotel from the Sukhmvit side, you will walk through a cafe. If you arrive after the cafe is closed, you will see a map on the front door that will guide you to walk to the left to Soi8 and enter through the back(the picture listed)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Grand Swiss Sukhumvit 11 by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
CityPoint Hotel
CityPoint Hotel
#87 of 867 in Bangkok
1,227 reviews
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
#54 of 867 in Bangkok
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok
Red Planet Asoke, Bangkok
#157 of 867 in Bangkok
1,005 reviews
Sukhumvit
Citrus Sukhumvit 11 by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Hotel Icon Bangkok
Hotel Icon Bangkok
#111 of 867 in Bangkok
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On8 Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On8 Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality

Property: On8 Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality
Address: 162 Sukhumvit Road, Soi Sukhumvit Soi 8 | Nana BTS, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#101 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#118 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#123 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — On8 Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On8 Sukhumvit Nana Bangkok Hotel is Bangkok's latest chic hotel located right in the center of it all. It offers hip and yet avant-garde designs for modern day travelers.Conveniently located next to the Nana BTS Skytrain Station along Sukhumvit Road, in an area considered one of the most vibrant, colourful and touristy part of Bangkok. Here, shopping, dining and entertainment options abound, offering exciting choices well-suited to a variety of lifestyles. A cosy hotel with only 40 rooms to choose from. Each hip in style with faux leather accents, timber designed ceramic flooring and the latest in-room technology including wireless Internet access and a 32" LCD TV.The entire hotel is Wi-Fi enabled for the guest's convenience. Hotel facilities include the trendy On8 Cafe, in-room dining and Internet stations. This is a 100% non-smoking property. Intimate in size and rich in details, On8 combines simplicity with an attitude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your On8 Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On8 Sukhumvit Bangkok
On8 Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing